We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unpleasant experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Modesto B&B and Inns
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very unpleasant experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

it is horrible , I got there the receptionist checking her email while she is making the reservation , of course that made her took for ever to finish it , the room door is damaged from inside and you are lucky if you open it from the first time , inside the room no hangers , no iron , no remote for the TV , you have to ask for everything to get it except the iron ( They don't have one ) , even the remote for the TV you need to ask for it . IT SEEMS THE OWNER DECIDED TO GO Green haaaaaaaaaaaa.
Do not stay there , spend 10 dollars more sty in respected Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salehabdelbaqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    0
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
2
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

The clerk kept me outside in the cold while checking me in and didn't listen or really care that I was even there. It took at least 15 minutes and he tried to charge me twice! The room was NOT clean at all...trash left on the bed and floors... toilet seat was dirty, only one towel, and think there was drugs being sold outside at night. Other people screaming and cursing at night. When I told the manager about what had happened she didn't seem to care at all and smiled as if she was happy about it. Don't spend your hard earned money here, it's definitely not worth any amount of money, no matter how cheap it is!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler7777La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Modesto hotels

NY
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

Advantages- cheap, convenient. Basics were OK-- shower, toilet, bed.

Disadvantages-- non smoking room smelled badly of old smoke and mildew. Carpet very dirty, wifi very slow.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlecrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

This is an older motel that has been somewhat updated. The room was clean enough for most people, for the price. Our king room had only two bath towels and one hand towel. The front desk said they don't use wash clothes, so they gave us extra hand towels. The furniture was fine and the mattress was very good. The Continental Breakfast was almost nothing, so don't plan on eating breakfast there. The outside of the motel is not neat appearing and the walkways were quit dirty, etc. The AAA rate was $40.00 a night for a king room for 2 people, so I guess you can't expect expect anymore for the price.

  • Liked — The mattress
  • Disliked — No wash cloths
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skikingCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

Thank you for reading this, I'm not one to usually take the time to complain, but for this I'm making an exception. I arrived at the Knights Inn Modesto and found it to be a very old, run down looking building. The lobby has cob webs hanging from the ceiling and a musty smell that is very noticeable. The lady at the front Mrs. Patel was very nice. We checked into the room and the rooms were shockingly nice. They appeared clean and looked nothing like the outside of the facility. On the surface that was... We had two light bulbs that did not work, I replaced them myself. The beds when pulled down had hair in them. When I went out to the pool, there was trash that had blown into it floating all around, no big deal, I removed it and placed it into the trash, but then I noticed the bottom of the pool. There were cigarette butts, Band-Aids, corn, rocks and a lot of other debris that could have easily been cleaned up if the staff cared. The next morning, I found several bites on my body and after further looking into the bed, I found 3 ticks... I think they were ticks, could have been bed bugs. When I took one of the ticks to the front office to show Mrs.Patel, her only response to my very upset presentation to her was "I will have it checked out" I did not even get an apology. I will never stay at a Knights Inn Again, anywhere.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Bugs in the bed and very dirty pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CARLE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modesto hotels
1.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
4.6 km away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#3 of 20 in Modesto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.8 km away
Days Inn Modesto
Days Inn Modesto
#5 of 20 in Modesto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Motel 6 Modesto Downtown
Motel 6 Modesto Downtown
#13 of 20 in Modesto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Palm Court Inn
1.8 km away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#16 of 20 in Modesto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 115 Downey Avenue, Modesto, CA 95354 (Formerly Knights Inn Modesto)
Region: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Modesto
Price range (per night): $76 - $85
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modesto Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing