We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complete nightmare - this place needs to be shut down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
America's Best Inn Modesto
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Can't even begin to explain why you shouldn't stay here, or why this place could/should be shut down by the consumer bureau, the local/state police, the sanitation department, and any local community member or organization. Even for those with the lowest possible standards for living would find this place a nightmare. Not only is it crusty as all crusty gets (blood, urine, alcohol, dirt, or other unknown soiling on every fabric), or is the staff completely clueless yet somehow still deceptive and shaaaaady, but there's blatantly obvious illegal ish happening all over the place . . . crack/meth being smoked in the parking lot, prostitutes and johns all over the place, and straight up ripping people off in whatever way they can. Honestly a nightmare. This place for real needs to be shut down.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfour431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Motel like from a horror movie !!! Run by people Hindu nationalities. Room, which pretend to be the lobby was small and cluttered trinkets not cleaned probably years!. Creepy mood was completed by a big black, dirty bird cage with apathetic, indifferent parrot. After seeing the rooms and backyard, we came back to demand refund- motel was frightening! They refused, claiming that if we do not like it, we can find other motel. But we do not get the money back. It was late evening,we were tired after all day driving- and probably only because (making a big mistake) we decided to stay. There are no words to describe the horrorss! Worn, biten, outdated, ill maintained, filthy, you name it. It was not a surprise to us that there was no fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toiletries and towels. (For two people was one hand towel, one fingertip towel and one small soap.) A clogged sink and a broken lamp and haltingly door completed the picture.
Horror did not end in the rooms. Outside, we could see the whole disgusting surroundings. Broken chairs, dirty curtains hanging, garbage everywhere, crooked AC units. Swimming pool, dirty and battered, without water with how ironic in this situation notice: swimsuit required. Destroyed, broken, battered ice machine, with threatened information: you- yes, you! are being watched by security camera- take only small amount of ice!.
By reading other reviews of this "motel" I'm surprised that the city authorities and health services have not yet closed the motel. Maybe they never read these reviews? Maybe they never do an inspection? And the people of Modesto do not care about the good name of their city? Maybe all of them is convenient to pretend that the problem does not exist? How is it possible that these people still run this motel ?
In our trip we were 6 people.
We booked 3 rooms.
This disgusting “paradise” cost us $87 per room

Room Tip: Run away! never book this motel! better to sleep in the car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szafirek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the motel get away for couple days me and my fiance. The staff was friendly. The room was very outdated . i asked for a non smoking room. I used my out of state id cause i know alot motels put out state travelers in nicer rooms. This place is a dump. Ac/ heat bottons look like someone glue on. Carpet was stain. I layed down went sleep was awoken by a sharp sting on my leg. Pulled cover off saw a huge bed bug. I freaked out. I pulled back sheet on mattress omg i saw dark spots all over and alot bugs. I grabbed my things went to office showed owner wear i was bleeding and pictures of bed. He did not refund me told me to leave. I went to hospital for the bite that night was given cream.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jovani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Currently staying here they gave my family of 4 a room originally with 1 bed and threw a second bed in. Can't use heater window is messed up so it's cold. Cockroaches water beetles. No housekeeping this is my 3rd night and I one has one to clean. Towels are dirty trash is full. Bad service. Think I will end my stay soon.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tammi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

NO STARS- DO NOT STAY HERE!!! My first clue should've been the nasty parrot in the lobby with bird crap all over the cage- the husband and wife were extremely rude- the room was filthy, dirt everywhere, no knobs on the AC, even the lock was busted!!! They refused to refund my money as I did not stay, but thankfully the online booking company I went through refunded it. The place screamed bed bugs and filth- come to find out, there was a murder at that hotel recently too!!! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank bnlmbrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modesto hotels
1.3 km away
Motel 6 Modesto Downtown
Motel 6 Modesto Downtown
#13 of 20 in Modesto
45 reviews
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#16 of 20 in Modesto
101 reviews
1.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
7.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
2.0 km away
Best Western Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Inn Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn Modesto

Address: 722 Kansas Ave, Modesto, CA 95351-1606
Region: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Price Range: $96 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inn Modesto 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional two-story motel off Hwy 99 - 10 min from Modesto Airport - Near restaurants, Art Gallery, Museums and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your America's Best Inn Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modesto Travel Lodge
Modesto Travelodge
Travelodge Modesto
Travel Lodge Modesto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing