We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place. Highly recommend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Cottage Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Menlo Park
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place. Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel is a small, clean, well maintained two-story hotel with cheerful, modern rooms. The beds were comfortable; the bathroom had a large tile shower; a mini fridge & microwave are included; and there is a nice and quiet outdoor pool area. The continental breakfast was simple but adequate and the staff was helpful and friendly. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    69
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
44
40
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

My son and I stayed here while he was attending a camp at Stanford. I was concerned that it would be too much like a motel, but I was very pleasantly surprised! The place was charming, the rooms were extremely clean, appliances looked like they were new, and we had a little fenced back patio that was private and comfortable. There was a nice selection of breakfast items that were complementary (yogurt, fruit, pastries, etc.), as well as cookies, hot chocolate, etc. throughout the day (a nice treat!). It was set far back from the street, so we never heard any noise (in fact, we never heard any neighboring guests either, even though the place was fully booked while we were there). And it was very conveniently located in what felt/looked like a very safe area. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

My mother was in the hospital 3 weeks - this was the third hotel I tried and the last - called Red Cottage first when she had a return hospital visit. While there a few hotels closer to the hospital it was still very close and it was MUCH quieter than the others I had tried as its lots is further off El Camino and didn't have the tight parking. Great one cup coffee maker in room (supplies for multiple cups) and the room is very comfortable and really clean. Simple but adequate breakfast and all the staff I encountered were very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

So we shall. Although it is certainly well located for business travelers, the Red Cottage Inn is not in walking distance of either Menlo Park or Redwood City. In addition, the stretch along El Camino Real has no shoulder. But for those attending graduation, business meetings, or wanting a means to relax, this is certainly a solid choice.

There are indeed the sounds of the railroad nearby, but they never intrude. Because the motel is set back from the highway, much of the traffic noise is unobtusive. Parking is very simple and there is even space for handicapped guests. Included in the price of the room is an "expanded continental breakfast," according to one automobile guide. And here is one of the areas in need of improvement. With the exception of some fruit and hardboiled eggs, most of the offerings are poured from cartons or wrapped in cellphane. There are three types of dry cereal--all corn based and virtually without fiber or protein. The rolls, muffins, danishes, are infested with excess sugar. To its credit, the motel provides yoghurt, orange juice, and some fruit. But clearly breakfast is more of a footnote instead of a highlight.

I would also call attention to the pricing. At $159 and $164--including auto club discount--I expect more value. Perhaps being the first of June when high school graduation events bring many guests the management feels justified charging these fares. But with other recommended properties charging 25% less, perhaps a reassessment of fees is in order.

But the real reason for selecting any establishment is security and comfort of bed. Yes. Red Cottage Inn provides small but comfortable rooms with very nice beds. There are free wi-fi and local calls, all trademarks of lower classified lodgings (the higher the classification, the fewer the included amenities).

My wife likes the private patio area outside and the shower in the bathroom ( watch for squirting jet streams of water!). She'll gladly bring her own cereal and muffin. That says it all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Great place to stay. Very clean, quiet, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable rooms. Nice, relaxing pool and patio. Convenient location. This is the only place we will stay in the Menlo Park / Palo Alto area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.7 km away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#2 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
6.8 km away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Palo Alto Menlo Park
8.6 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cottage Inn

Property: Red Cottage Inn
Address: 1704 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94027-4127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Menlo Park
#3 Family Hotel in Menlo Park
Price range (per night): $171 - $369
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cottage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Red Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Cottage Hotel Menlo Park
Red Cottage Menlo Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing