We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Peaceful Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanford Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
241 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I visited here for a long weekend with our dogs. All members of the staff were friendly and the atmosphere was peaceful and inviting. The restaurant served mostly natural and organic food which was delicious. We even signed up for a special healthy and nutrition clinic at the inn which was very informative. The Inn is just south of the main town area of Mendocino, maybe a two or three minute drive, so very convenient. The grounds of the inn were well kept and we even went kayaking in the nearby river that feeds into the ocean. It was relaxing to sit out on the deck with our dogs, take in the view, and sip a nice glass of wine. The fireplace also kept the room cozy at night. A very nice place to stay, we'll certainly go back for another nice weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    77
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
97
244
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Stanford Inn by the Sea in Mendocino County was full of pleasant surprises. It's very pet-friendly; well behaved pups are even allowed in one part of the dining area. Our four-legged companions quickly became accustomed to the routine of having breakfast with us next to the crackling fireplace. The restaurant was vegan, not just vegetarian, and the food was creatively prepared and artfully presented. Breakfast was included in the room price, and I highly recommend the pancakes or French toast. We also had a few dinners there. Being a vegetarian, my only wish is that there were more veggies, nuts and fruits in the dishes - they were very heavy on grains.

Our room was cozy with a wood-burning fireplace which was restocked each day - nice! All rooms have small decks which overlook the lush garden, which is expansive, well-tended and lovely to stroll. Our room was small; it would've been tight even without our two small dog crates. The bathroom was also tiny and chilly. Perhaps they would've supplied an electric heater had we asked. As in the pics, the rooms have wood paneling, which imparts a rustic feel; our room had five different types of paneling which made it feel a little unfinished. Our bed was also small, being a full size and not a queen.

Oh, let me not forget the LARGE, immaculately clean, heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi and dry sauna – it was heavenly after a day exploring the cool, misty coastline. Not to be missed!

Directly adjacent to the hotel grounds is the Catch a Canoe and Bicycles Too operation. We rented an outrigger and explored the Big River along with our two little terriers. On our fun afternoon excursion, we saw eagles, herons, and otters - the otters really caught the dogs’ attention. We also visited the Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens, which is extensive in its depth, breadth and beauty – easily worth a two hour visit.

Mendocino County is a naturalist’s treasure, with a rugged unspoiled coastline, healthy rivers and towering redwood forests. The humans have also made valuable contributions with organic farms and wineries. Though Mendocino is way off the beaten path, it’s a trip well worth the effort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUZN3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stanford Inn by the Sea radiates an ambience apart from the tourism of Mendocino by way of thoughtful service, presentation in dining and quality of accommodations.
Without pretense Stanford Inn demonstrates cullinary expertise in league with San Francisco's Millenium restaurant and reaps a substantial harvest from its on-site gardens. Guests are encouraged to enjoy being on holiday with their pets as well. Dogs are a common sight at the hearths in the lodge and in a pet-friendly dining area adjacent to the main dining room.
Indoor "atrium" pool, jaccuzzi, dry sauna and common showers are well maintained amid a tropical atmoshpere.
Staff are attentive in general and the wait staff & nutritionist in particular accommodate guests' needs without a second thought.
Nearby Big River is accessible for kayaking and canoeing as well as being home to otters. Whales are spotted breaching off shore during migration.

Room Tip: If none of the lodge rooms are available consider the cottage and loft with wood burning stove a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUBOCE_PARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We ran away here in a rainy April a couple of years ago...and I've not forgotten it since. From the luscious grounds to rooms perfectly comfortable for cuddling up next to the fireplace, I find myself unable to consider going any other place except back to here for our next vacation! Fantastic treat!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is a unique haven in a magical landscape. Mendecino is incredibly beautiful and had plenty of blooms even in February. The rooms are comfy and the restaurant is fabulous whether you are vegetarian or not. The food is beautiful, delicious and healthy, it just happens to not use animal products. The owners are wonderful, enlightened souls who make the world a better place by their efforts. We had a wonderful stay and are going back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: They are all in tranquil, wonderful surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilbertthomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
1.0 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.9 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.8 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.9 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.9 km away
Sea Rock Inn
Sea Rock Inn
#2 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Inn by the Sea

Property: Stanford Inn by the Sea
Address: Highway 1 & Comptche Ukiah Road, PO Box 487, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): $429 - $508
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside, the exquisite Stanford Inn sits atop a meadow overlooking Mendocino Bay. Embodying the best of the rugged Mendocino Coast, the Inn is a haven. The rambling lobby, guest rooms, and suites are paneled in pine and redwood. Every detail is attended to, from wood-burning fireplaces set and ready to light to the sumptuous organic breakfasts. Inspired by the Stanford's Certified Organic gardens, The Ravens' restaurant is outstanding and nationally acclaimed for its vegetarian cuisine. Guests are indulged at the Inn's Massage in the Forest and private yoga sessions. Canoeing and kayaking on Big River, California's new State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Stanford Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanford Inn By The Sea Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing