We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Best Choice in Mendocino” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brewery Gulch Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best Choice in Mendocino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We just returned from Crab Fest Weekend (Jan 20/21) in Mendocino and specifically chose this Inn because of the great reviews. The staff is superb and so are the accommodations. We chose to stay in the Osprey room because of windows on 3 sides and a good view of Smugglers Cove. I would definitely pick this room again. We contemplated staying other places and we’re enticed by deals on Groupon, but we just don't like room decor that looks like your Great Grandma's house and smells like it too. We have stayed at luxury collection resorts around the world and BGI was a great find. If you want to do it right and have the best overall experience than stay here you won’t be disappointed. Note- There is no cell service for some carriers in the greater Mendocino area (Verizon does), but the Inn does have free local/long distance calling. To go back to the food again, Chef Rick does a truly amazing job with breakfast and food and wine hour (which is more like dinner as other reviewers mention).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriipWatch101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    77
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
791
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We came in mid week and since there were not many guests our room was upgraded without even asking. The place, rooms, service, hospitality are all superb. What makes it a better value than the quoted price is the dinner and cakes and fruit. One expects to have breakfast at a B&B, but not dinner. The chef is really good, and the staff was extremely friendly, especially Sara, Mina and Jo Ann.

Are we planning to be back? You betcha!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tetrisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for the first time ever this January. It was absolutely beautiful there. The weather was perfect the days that we were there. The room was beautiful and cozy. The beds were extremely comfortable. It was extremely nice that their king bed could be turned into two twin beds. The tv in our room had brilliant color to it. It was very nice to just be able to relax at night to a movie. The free tea and coffee was great too. I loved their cute mugs. The breakfast was absolutely to die for. It was SOOOOO delicious! So was the dinner. I've never liked many vegetables but the way the chef prepared them made me just want to eat them all the time! The lovely porch outside of where the dining area is, was a great place to just relax and drink some tea. Each time we came back at night we saw some deer in the little grassy area outside the hotel, it was awesome. The stars there were so bright, it was so beautiful. The staff was soooooo friendly. The owner is such a nice man, he was so helpful and so extremely kind. It was so nice being able to stay there. Overall this place is gorgeous. The staff is great, the food is wonderful, and the rooms are so cozy. I will definitely come back in the future! Thank you all for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maranda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We had a lovely room with fireplace (not a real one) and private patio overlooking the woods with a glimpse of the ocean. Service couldn't be better - friendly, helpful. Delicious breakfasts.
Wine and food hour in the evening turned out to be a whole dinner! We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I don't know how many times we have visited BGI, but we keep coming back for more. The staff, the food, the amenities, the awesome rooms, need we say more? This place is worth every penny that you spend, especially since the "light dinner buffet" turns into more of a great food and drink spread, that more times than not, you will cancel your dinner reservations. The owners Guy and Sarah are very hands on and make sure all the details are taken care of and that their staff are providing 5 Star stellar service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamaicabitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
1.5 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.5 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
5.9 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.6 km away
Sea Rock Inn
Sea Rock Inn
#2 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.8 km away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 24 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Property: Brewery Gulch Inn
Address: 9401 N Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460-9529
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): $423 - $685
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1, our contemporary Arts & Crafts-style inn commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated in 2008/2009, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, and iPod docks. Included with each guest's stay are cooked-to-order breakfasts and a sumptuous buffet dinner featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing