We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Choice in Mendocino”
Review of Brewery Gulch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brewery Gulch Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We just returned from Crab Fest Weekend (Jan 20/21) in Mendocino and specifically chose this Inn because of the great reviews. The staff is superb and so are the accommodations. We chose to stay in the Osprey room because of windows on 3 sides and a good view of Smugglers Cove. I would definitely pick this room again. We contemplated staying other places and we’re enticed by deals on Groupon, but we just don't like room decor that looks like your Great Grandma's house and smells like it too. We have stayed at luxury collection resorts around the world and BGI was a great find. If you want to do it right and have the best overall experience than stay here you won’t be disappointed. Note- There is no cell service for some carriers in the greater Mendocino area (Verizon does), but the Inn does have free local/long distance calling. To go back to the food again, Chef Rick does a truly amazing job with breakfast and food and wine hour (which is more like dinner as other reviewers mention).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriipWatch101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 615 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We came in mid week and since there were not many guests our room was upgraded without even asking. The place, rooms, service, hospitality are all superb. What makes it a better value than the quoted price is the dinner and cakes and fruit. One expects to have breakfast at a B&B, but not dinner. The chef is really good, and the staff was extremely friendly, especially Sara, Mina and Jo Ann.

Are we planning to be back? You betcha!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tetrisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for the first time ever this January. It was absolutely beautiful there. The weather was perfect the days that we were there. The room was beautiful and cozy. The beds were extremely comfortable. It was extremely nice that their king bed could be turned into two twin beds. The tv in our room had brilliant color to it. It was very nice to just be able to relax at night to a movie. The free tea and coffee was great too. I loved their cute mugs. The breakfast was absolutely to die for. It was SOOOOO delicious! So was the dinner. I've never liked many vegetables but the way the chef prepared them made me just want to eat them all the time! The lovely porch outside of where the dining area is, was a great place to just relax and drink some tea. Each time we came back at night we saw some deer in the little grassy area outside the hotel, it was awesome. The stars there were so bright, it was so beautiful. The staff was soooooo friendly. The owner is such a nice man, he was so helpful and so extremely kind. It was so nice being able to stay there. Overall this place is gorgeous. The staff is great, the food is wonderful, and the rooms are so cozy. I will definitely come back in the future! Thank you all for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maranda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We had a lovely room with fireplace (not a real one) and private patio overlooking the woods with a glimpse of the ocean. Service couldn't be better - friendly, helpful. Delicious breakfasts.
Wine and food hour in the evening turned out to be a whole dinner! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I don't know how many times we have visited BGI, but we keep coming back for more. The staff, the food, the amenities, the awesome rooms, need we say more? This place is worth every penny that you spend, especially since the "light dinner buffet" turns into more of a great food and drink spread, that more times than not, you will cancel your dinner reservations. The owners Guy and Sarah are very hands on and make sure all the details are taken care of and that their staff are providing 5 Star stellar service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamaicabitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
1.5 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
634 reviews
1.5 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
15.2 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
488 reviews
2.4 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
740 reviews
5.8 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Gulch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Gulch Inn

Address: 9401 N Highway 1, Mendocino, CA 95460-9529
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $432 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brewery Gulch Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel + Leisure and Conde Nast magazines as one of the top 100 hotels in the world, our Arts & Crafts-style inn is perched on a bluff top on the east side of Highway 1 and commands sweeping views of Smuggler's Cove and the Pacific Ocean. Built of eco-salvaged redwood pulled from the nearby Big River in 2001 and updated continuously since, Brewery Gulch features 10 ocean-view rooms with decks, gas fireplaces, DVD-equipped flat-panel televisions, recharging stations and Bluetooth speakers. Included with each guest's stay are both a cooked-to-order breakfast AND a delicious light dinner buffet featuring area wines and local craft beers, all prepared by the Inn's acclaimed in-house chef. Come see why TripAdvisor ranked the Brewery Gulch Inn as one of the "Top 10 Bed and Breakfasts and Inns To-Die-For" worldwide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Brewery Gulch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brewery Gulch Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing