We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Point Cabrillo Light Station State Historic Park
Open today: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Review Highlights
Love my lighthouses.

Enjoyed the visit. The gentleman in the gift shop was great. Still need to go to do the lens tour... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Scotia S
Great stop

Loved this small state park and the walk to the lighthouse. If you can, take the foot path to the... read more

Reviewed 6 October 2023
Smt106
,
Massachusetts
via mobile
Read all 709 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
427
230
46
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
427
230
46
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop parking lot half mile walk fresnel lens nice walk keeper's house point cabrillo long walk handicap parking an aquarium small museum beautiful area assistant homes views coast volunteers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2023 via mobile

Loved this small state park and the walk to the lighthouse. If you can, take the foot path to the ocean’s edge and not the paved road (which is hot and boring). The views along the way are beautiful, the lighthouse is cute and the museum/gift shop are a bonus.

Date of experience: October 2023
1  Thank Smt106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

Loved this lighthouse. January 2023, a storm brought tall waves into the lighthouse and damaged the gift shop and took much of the merchandise into the sea. They are in the process of painting the lighthouse and replacing windows.

The assistant keepers house is open to walk through, the keepers house is a B&B. Jo-Ann, the docent, at the assistant keepers house is lovely and so knowledgeable about the lighthouse and the area.

The parking lot is .5 miles away an you need to walk down a hill to get to the lighthouse and keepers houses. Handicap parking is located closer to the lighthouse.

Beautiful walk and lovely

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank Jolacabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

Take the hike!! It's so worth it! And the gift shop in the lighthouse is so full of goodies. We saw lots of critters, and the lighthouse keepers houses are VRBO's! I'm definitely going to stay there!
Take water or snacks. It's maybe a 2.5 mile hike one way. It's free. And there's a museum perfect for kids education about sea life. I even learned things!

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank SpiritLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2023

A long walk from the parking lot (unless you have a handicap plaque), but well worth it. An interesting and scenic place with incredible cliffs and ocean views. It is a functioning lighthouse and you can NOT go up into the second story. The museum is on the lower level.

Other buildings are on the historical property too.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank 1947-FORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2023

It's almost a mile walk from the parking lot to the cliffs and lighthouse, but worth it. I happened to go on a day where a marine layer made it foggy and chilly, so bring a jacket or wear a sweatshirt. The dirt trail is narrow, unimproved, and tight with low branches, so i recommend using the paved road.

Date of experience: July 2023
1  Thank JoeFRocklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews