We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, unforgettable, one of a kind!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweetwater Inn and Spa
Ranked #14 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed in the sweetwater tower, and would recommend only this room, as the perks of this room make my review positive. The room itself, although clean, was old and ugly. It looked like an estate sale vomited in there. The bed was the most comfortable thing ive ever laid on though, and the remote control fireplace was perfect. At night, we had the jacuzzi, sauna, and outdoor shower to ourselves. beautiful gardens, stars above, and perfect weather made this a night we will never forget. Romantic, sexy, secluded, and quiet. I wouldolnt recommend a lengthy stay though, as the bathroom is shared during the day. Staff was incredible, rate was reasonable, and this inn is unique and must be tried at least once if youre a couple!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szag82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Sweetwater Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed at one of the Sweetwater houses not far from the spa. The upstairs has been turned into two units for guests. We stayed in the unit that had the deck with ocean view. It was a lovely place. Loved the fireplace, the soundsystem throughout the entire unit...bedroom, bathroom livingroom. Very short walk to grocery store and Mendocino Village. Because we stayed during the week and not weekend, it was $100 off and the price was extremely reasonable for staying right in town in Mendocino. I don't really like B&B's, so we usually get a cabin or house, and we'd definitely stay here again. It was nice not having to drive after dinner and a night out so you could enjoy a beverage or two (or three!).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stace40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I've stayed at the Sweetwater a few times and after this last visit, I will no longer stay there. Our fireplace upstairs (and only source of heat) was broken the first night and the next day they had repairmen in and out of the room all day fixing it. Not very convienent. The kitchen sink leaked tons of water all over the counter every time you turned it on and one of the bedroom windows started leaking after it rained all night. Add on the extremely uncomfortable mattress in the bedroom and the spotty house cleaning (we found a huge collection of old wigs in our bathroom cabinet. gross.) and our stay was less than fantastic. For $250 a night, there are plenty of better places to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibbiex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The glorious Mendocino coast is the back drop for the many accomodations available through the Sweetwater Spa and Inn. My wife, who has been coming to Mendocino since she was 18, and I stayed at the bucolic Ohana House. A lovely stand alone house with garden and hot tub, our stay couldn't have been more relaxing and comfortable. A full kitchen allowed us to cook great meals and the fireplace and comfortable furnishings made those foggy nights more than perfect. Thank you Sweetwater!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkellysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

My boyfriend and I just stayed at Sweetwater in the Bay View room located in Little River. We were there friday Oct 9 thru the 11 2009. We really enjoyed our selves the bed was very comfortable the room was clean and cozy. That water pressure in the shower sucked but that was the only thing that needs improvement. This was our first trip to a clothing optional spa. Their website says absolutely nothing about it but when you arrive they will give you a flyer telling you about the spa and it is clothing optional. We had never experienced anything like this before. We had a wonderful first time experience in the spa, we went at night where there wasnt too many people so we didnt feel so awkward, we ran in to a couple at the spa who was very nice and we talked to them and had no problems with talking nude. We will definately make another trip to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.4 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.3 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
626 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.8 km away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
478 reviews
0.0 km away
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
Didjeridoo Dreamtime Inn
#11 of 25 in Mendocino
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Inn and Spa

Address: 44840 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $198 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Inn and Spa is a beautiful escape in the village of Mendocino, CA offering pet-friendly cottages and cozy ocean view suites at friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sweetwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing