We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellow Victorian B&B-perfect Village Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yellow Victorian B&B-perfect Village Location!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Headlands Inn is a gem a very relaxing and quiet spot. A special period home, decorated with lovely antiques, wonderful featherbeds and special touches. Afternoon tea and Mitch's fresh baked cookies are served in the 2nd floor parlor and plenty of games, books ,magazines etc available for your pleasure. The Inn is just on the edge of the Mendocino Village. You can walk everywhere with ease. We stayed in the Bessie Strauss 2nd floor room with the bay window. A dreamy kingsize feather bed with a zillion pillows, a wonderful fireplace, great sitting area and the special baywindow to view the ocean. Each morning a fabulous breakfast is delivered to your door. I am used to B&B's having a dining room for guests so was not sure how this would compare. What a treat! You dont have to be dressed for breakfast --on your breakfast tray is a fabulous gourmet delight. Coffee, tea, juice, muffins or mini bread loaves, a fruit course, unique hot dish, linens, fresh flowers etc. The food is delicious and the presentation is exquisite. Each day a different surprise. Denise and Mitch are special hosts! Its a hard place to leave, everything was so special.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luv2travelwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    53
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
375
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had a great time here with friends we were with on a trip to the coast. I would recommend the second and third floor rooms that have a view of the coast. However, all rooms are nice and include breakfast brought to your room! Jenny was a great host and gave us great tips for our interests.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke_in_vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Headlands Inn in Mendocino, California is a welcoming, comfortable, gracious place to stay. It offers a most accommodating staff, beautifully decorated rooms, half with ocean views, bountiful breakfasts, each with a different variation on egg dishes plus fruit and very good coffee, and afternoon tea, homemade cookies and sherry. And the best part, everything in the town is within walking distance. I highly recommend a reservation if you wish to take advantage of this special hostelry.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon in 1983, and this was our first time back to Mendocino since. We thought it would be fun to stay in the same place, and after reading the reviews on TA, I happily booked us. I got a great off-season deal (three nights for the price of two), but the prices are pretty competitive all the time.

Best things, in order:
(1) The breakfasts are AMAZING. Delicious & beautifully presented. Imagine having breakfast in the fanciest hotel restaurant you can think of. Now imagine it sitting at your own little table at a bay window looking out over the ocean. That's our experience.

(2) The location is perfect. You don't even need to move your car.

(3) The service and hospitality are topnotch, everything you would want and then some. Besides the breakfast, there's tea, cookies, nuts, and such in the afternoon (homebaked cookies!), sherry in the parlor, cold drinks in a common fridge, etc. All the thoughtful little touches. In our room we had a nice fire laid everyday, a mini-fridge, and excellent WiFi (no TV, though).

A couple of notes: You can ask for coffee to brought a bit earlier if you can't wait until 9:00 when breakfast is come. They deliver a coffee service along with the SF Chronicle. If even that's not enough, there's an excellent coffee bar that opens at 6 a.m. a short block away.

If waiting for breakfast is a problem for you, just bring along a few granola bars or get some yogurt to put in the fridge. But don't eat too much because the breakfast is absolutely worth the wait.

We were in the Bessie Strauss room, and we agree with others that the sloping bed took some getting used to. We managed, but I think they will remove the feather bed mattress cover on request if you're fussy about the bed.

This is really a wonderful place, and all the other rave reviews in TA were spot-on.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leftydana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We celebrated our 20th Anniversary by staying in the Switzer Room at the Headlands Inn. It is worth the walk to the third floor for the 2 window seats and great views plus a king size bed that is like a cloud. Denise and Mitch always make sure we have a wonderful time with great breakfasts and amenities. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.3 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): $204 - $383
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing