We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Always Extra Special!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always Extra Special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We celebrated our 20th Anniversary by staying in the Switzer Room at the Headlands Inn. It is worth the walk to the third floor for the 2 window seats and great views plus a king size bed that is like a cloud. Denise and Mitch always make sure we have a wonderful time with great breakfasts and amenities. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    51
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
359
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed one night in the Wilson room, and are longing to go back!

We were greeted by a talkative and charming hostess upon our arrival Saturday afternoon, and to my delight the house was decorated with a few frogs (I am an avid collector). It only went uphill from there. We had a deal which included a complimentary bottle of wine, which we enjoyed by the fireplace in our room. There were also a lot of other complimentary goodies, including afternoon tea and cookies (4-7 pm) sherry (all night long) and breakfast (served to your room around nine). The wifi was also complimentary, but didn't work very well. Cell phone reception is also a hit-or-miss here, but this wasn't a big problem for us.

I really felt at home during our entire stay, the Inn was so cozy, comfortable and relaxed.
This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast, but with our experiences there, it was not the last.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ymseduria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We just got back from a two night stay and had a marvelous time. Mitch and Denise just knocked themselves out - the place is so clean, cozy, friendly and well-run. They are excellent cooks and really top-notch hosts. We were on the first floor next to the kitchen, and I would periodically wander in and visit with them while they were baking cookies or whatever. Super friendly people. I'm glad they served breakfast after 9:00 because we woke up at about 9 each morning! And the breakfast carried us straight through to dinner. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay in Mendocino.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are a little more noisy due to people walking overhead. The P. Stoefel room h...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank M_traveler483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I have stayed at the Headlands Inn many times on business and personal visits to Mendocino, and I keep coming back for more. Mitch and Denise are super friendly hosts, the rooms are darling, and the location in Mendocino village couldn't be better. I love listening to the ocean at night in the feather beds that are like royal thrones. The hot breakfast delivered to your door is delicious, and I always hate to leave. I highly recommend this inn. Actually I'm afraid too many people will discover it and there won't be a room when I come back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
465 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Nov 7-9, 2011
We stayed two nights in a lovely double (John Barry room) with a view of the water and a woodburning fireplace. The room was generously spacious and spotless. It as well as the other rooms and public areas were decorated in a chintzy, country style. Even the ceiling was wallpapered. The innkeepers, Denise and Mitch, were attentive and informative.
As said before, the breakfasts are amazing and worth the tariff. We had superb entrees each morning--a quiche with a cream cheese filling and a French toast unlike any before. The full breakfasts arrived at 8:45 sharp although the coffee arrived 30 minutes earlier. The only problem with this schedule--and this may pertain to only a small minority of guests--is that we waited so long until breakfast arrives. I awake early about 5:00. At 6:00 I go across the street to Moody's for a cup of strong coffee. Usually after breakfast, we are ready to go out and follow our day's itinerary about 8:30. The period from waking up to breakfast can be very long and unproductive for some vacationers.
If this is not a problem, then this place is the best--best breakfast, eg, fresh-squeezed OJ, best Mendocino location, best hosts, and best, ie, competitive, pricing for an upscale property.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.3 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.1 km away
Sea Rock Inn
Sea Rock Inn
#2 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.0 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): $205 - $385
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast
Headlands Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing