We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If breakfast is at 8:45, then we need a TV”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
571 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“If breakfast is at 8:45, then we need a TV”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Nov 7-9, 2011
We stayed two nights in a lovely double (John Barry room) with a view of the water and a woodburning fireplace. The room was generously spacious and spotless. It as well as the other rooms and public areas were decorated in a chintzy, country style. Even the ceiling was wallpapered. The innkeepers, Denise and Mitch, were attentive and informative.
As said before, the breakfasts are amazing and worth the tariff. We had superb entrees each morning--a quiche with a cream cheese filling and a French toast unlike any before. The full breakfasts arrived at 8:45 sharp although the coffee arrived 30 minutes earlier. The only problem with this schedule--and this may pertain to only a small minority of guests--is that we waited so long until breakfast arrives. I awake early about 5:00. At 6:00 I go across the street to Moody's for a cup of strong coffee. Usually after breakfast, we are ready to go out and follow our day's itinerary about 8:30. The period from waking up to breakfast can be very long and unproductive for some vacationers.
If this is not a problem, then this place is the best--best breakfast, eg, fresh-squeezed OJ, best Mendocino location, best hosts, and best, ie, competitive, pricing for an upscale property.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    53
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
375
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

In October, I stayed at Headlands Inn Mendocino in Annie's Room. Dear friends of mine had generously made the booking for me and themselves, and so this not-so-positive review is made with reluctance, my fearing of appearing somewhat ungrateful. However, something must be said so that both the owner and other travelers can be well advised. This room, with its odd, almost public bathroom placement outside the keyed occupied area, is well appointed with an abundance of "cute" pillows and a comfortable enough bed, but the bathroom situation is substandard, its shower unable to be turned off completely, dripping all night, and its sink unstable and moist at its pedestal base, hinting at some leakage problem. It would be easy to overlook these wastes of water by housekeeping in its in-and-out mode, but to wait until someone like me points out the issues is to give the impression that the rooms are not routinely inspected. Furthermore, that when the guest is absent from the room, the bathroom is open enough to be a publicly used one fosters a sense of insecurity. All personal items need removal from the bathroom area before taking a tour of the town. Keying the room's bathroom from the main hall would solve the guest's problem, but absent the keying hints at an actual desire of management to have the restroom available on the floor to more than just the paying guest. Attitude is a major part of bed and breakfast lodgings, and not reviewing or securing the room is part of attitude, in my opinion. Couple these issues with breakfast is served to the room but at the cook's convenience, and one can see why I could reach a conclusion that the management at Headlands Inn Mendocino does not recognize what a vacation means to the traveler. To eat breakfast sometime after 9 AM whenever it is ready after then is really too loose for travelers who, like me, arise early ready to eat and then exit to see the sea and shops. At check-in no other options were given us to eat otherwise any kind of included breakfast. Perhaps if management would alert all in their bookings of breakfast options and when the hot breakfast is otherwise likely served, then wise choices can be comfortably made, but my booking party was not given this information about breakfast (9AM and after) until we checked in, where upon we asked if we could be served earliest together, no later than 9 AM, with a perfunctory "Yes, 9 or perhaps 8:45" answered and note made. Breakfast was good enough but not served until after 9, and not concurrently to our two rooms. We knew nothing about other onsite breakfast options. To me these are all easy enough problems for management to solve in recognition that the paying guests deserve excellent accommodation, not only roomwise but needswise. It is after all their vacation, not management's. Hopefully this review will guide all parties not to rationalize but solve issues related to this lodging

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nthnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetdreamsMendocino, Owner at Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
We’re sorry that this guest was not given a choice of room! But I’m not sure if a different room would have made much difference to someone who found only wrong with their stay! It sounds like they liked our breakfasts? But they had a problem with when it was served? Note: Without repeating myself, please read the owner response to a review below, with explanation of our breakfast schedule. Side note: Just today while checking-in guests, I informed them that we start serving breakfast between 8:45-9:00 am – they said “perfect”! Which is generally the response from most guests who take the idea of a vacation getaway seriously! Now in response to Annie’s bathroom comments: We’re not sure what the guests problem was with the whole bathroom door thing, because there are two privacy doors between the hall and bathroom – a door that enters the room area and another door to the bathroom itself. Annie’s Room is the only room located at the end of a hall where no one but Annie’s guests are allowed. In fact, I’ve had a guest comment that Annie’s Room felt like a private mini suite. And the problem with the drippy sink -- after breakfast the guest came in and notified us that there was water dripping from behind the sink – but didn’t say anything about a drippy shower! – which we assume was not turned off tightly, because it hasn’t dripped since! Well, when one of our staff checked out the sink, he saw that the pedestal sink was loose from the wall and a piece of the ceramic was on the floor. Some how the sink was moved, which broke the mount to the wall, which broke the pipe to the drain. We have very capable and informative housekeepers, and nothing was reported to us prior to the guests arrival regarding sink damage, or a water leak in Annie’s bathroom. Of course, we assumed the current guest broke it, but we just fixed it without blame. We’ve come to the conclusion a long time ago – sorry, but some people just are not B&B people! And we’re so thankful for those that are, and who are so appreciative to what we have to offer! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The Headlands Inn is a "magical" place. My husband took me to Mendocino in 1996 and it had been my first time there. Mendocino is a spectacular place and offers incredible vistas, excellent quality air, and beauty beyond one's imagination. The Headlands Inn offers unforgettable hospitality, organic and delicious breakfast at your door in the comforts of your own room, and sweet little touches that peak the senses - such as a cozy reading room with afternoon sherry, cookies, nuts etc. We've stayed at the Headlands Inn four times as of last weekend and I'm already thinking about going back. Enjoy.. you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Any room works - beds are all incredibly comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

In the middle of October, we reserved two ground-floor rooms: Annie's Room and the Patricia Stofle Room, both with charming fixtures and impeccably clean (rare for a Mendocino Inn!). Strolling the grounds is much like becoming familiar with the flora of Mendocino, as this changes with the passing seasons. We rang the bell and were admitted by a gentleman who did not provide his name and shown to our rooms, after a lengthy explanation on how to work the lock by the front door. We were assured that tea and cookies would be available on the second floor after 4. We did not hesitate. Six cookie jars awaited us and several teas were available to choose from. The gentleman who checked us in asked us if we needed dinner reservations, but we declined as the Mendocino Cafe a block away does not take reservations (early Sunday evening is a good time to arrive).
While we were checking in, our breakfast orders were announced and we were told that they would be delivered at 9 AM. As we are somewhat early risers and had a full agenda ahead of us the following day, we asked if there was any way to be served a bit earlier. "I can try to accommodate you at 8:45," and he wrote the time on our breakfast slip. Breakfast arrived the following morning at 9:15. I asked my wife to write her thoughts on this.
"There is no reason for breakfast to be served so late except for the convenience of
the innkeepers. Breakfast should be available between 8 and 9. We would stay here again if the present policy was changed."
I should mention that breakfast was indeed substantial but not worth the wait, especially at 9:15.

(We were traveling with a friend who also preferred breakfast at an earlier time.)

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine. Check the inn's website for excellent photos and descriptions. If you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetdreamsMendocino, Owner at Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for your comments! But wow, I'm a little confused! Breakfast served so late to our groundfloor rooms? Let me explain how our breakfast works -- Because we serve a hot, oven baked, full breakfast to the privacy of our guest rooms, our schedule is to bake all the breakfasts at the same time. We start serving trays to the rooms between 8:45 - 9:00 am, starting first with our two groundfloor rooms! (see why I'm confused?) Serving at this time is not for the convenience of the innkeepers, but to allow our guests the pleasure of enjoying their breakfast leisurely at a time when we're not disturbing their morning prep time for their day, or sometimes even their sleep! . . .and then there are those guests who enjoy a morning walk before breakfast. Also, upon request - because we know there are some who need their coffee earlier than when breakfast is served - no problem, we can schedule an earlier coffee delivery to the room. Bonus: Breakfast is accompained by a San Francisco newspaper. If we have guests who must depart early, we offer a "to go" breakfast which includes juice, choice of fruit, and home baked muffins or breads. Also hot coffee or tea if they catch us in the kitchen before their departure. Be real - the shops and galleries won't be open until 10-11 am - so what's the hurry? -- you're in Mendocino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed at the Headlands Inn B&B for a couple of days in the middle of October during a two-week California trip.. We stayed in a room on the top floor with a view of the gardens and water. From the minute we got there, Kelly shepharded us around, making us feel most welcome, getting us settled in and orienting us to walking paths, shops and restaurants. It was also nice to see the owners, Mitch and Denise, on-site and taking an active role in the running of the Inn. Our room was very clean and cozy, with a corner fireplace, window seat and a bottle of wine to help us celebrate our anniversary. We both slept very well, and enjoyed possibly the most scrumptious breakfasts we've every eaten in a B&B. They were delivered on a tray with flowers, and included fruit, juices, coffee, rolls/butter and a delicious hot item, and held us for much of the day. Our best dinner was at 955 Ukiah, a short walk from the Inn, with attentive staff and a great meal. I wish we could have stayed another day or two to enjoy Kelly's hospitality and the wonderful charm of the inn.

Room Tip: For privacy and coziness, choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs58ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.3 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
Joshua Grindle Inn
Joshua Grindle Inn
#7 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price range (per night): $206 - $386
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Hotel Mendocino
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing