We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coziest of cozy!”
Review of La Petite Maison

La Petite Maison
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Petite Maison
Reviewed 18 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three days and nights on our road trip through the area. It was the only rental we stayed in so I can tell you - it was so much better than a B&B. We loved this little cabin set back in the woods - it was so comfortable and cozy (although quite spacious for two people) and it seemed like every detail and every possible need a guest might have had been considered. (I won't spoil the surprise by listing them all.) We really enjoyed the wonderful cozy living room where we could hang out and plan our day in the morning or relax while making dinner in the evening. And we loved the skylight and the windows looking out to the woods. The location is great, too - not too far from town for all the amenities it offered, but tucked away like a little hideaway. Our trip was in November, but I can image how lovely it would be to visit in the warmer weather, too, when you could spend some time enjoying the beautiful gardens. But I also wouldn't have minded a rainy day that we could just have spent hanging out inside reading on the couches! Basically, we just didn't stay long enough! Above of all we really enjoyed our hosts and wanted to spend more time with them! Mary and Peter are interesting, funny, and gracious and their place is perfect as a jumping off point for seeing the area or a place to just relax and take it easy. You should go! I hope we can return soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for La Petite Maison
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here towards the end of July and the place was awesome! Very clean, quiet and relaxing! Mary is the sweetest and made us feel at home! The weather could not have been better! We are from the bay area where the summers can get pretty hot and the weather here was just absoluely perfect! This is a wonderful place to stay and is the perfect size for 2 people. The grounds are very well kept, with fresh flowers in the house when we arrived. We were able to eat our meals at the cottage (big plus having a propane bbq there) as well as go to downtown Mendocino since it's very close by. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Super appearance, completely relaxing, Gorgeous decor and graceful deer too )

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen49201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My husband and I just returned from three lovely days at La Petite Maison in Mendocino. This is a very beautiful cottage set in the woods not more than 10 minutes from Mendocino. The house is surrounded by beautiful gardens all tended by the owner Mary, who is a magician in the garden, among other things. The cottage was filled with beautiful objects, all of which gave us a feeling of serenity. The bed was extremely comfortable and the kitchen fully stocked with everything you would need for cooking a meal. Of course, there are wonderful restaurants in Mendocino just minutes away. Mary is a delightful host - the kind of person you would want for a friend, and she and Peter have furnished the cabin with special care - you can tell how much they love the place. We will be thrilled to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhiker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed 10Sep to 12Sep 2010, and truly enjoyed the cottage and its peaceful garden surroundings. It is worth mentioning that the entire 2-story cottage shown in the pic is at one's disposal. The Zamas' are kind and gentle proprietors who are devoted to ensuring the highest quality stay of their guests, but also know to give their guests privacy.
The cottage has everything you could want to ensure a luxurious stay; cable TV, lots of towels, soaps, shampoo, well appointed kitchen. They were kind enough to stock the fridge with a bottle of chardonnay for our stay. The cozy dining table had on it fresh-cut flowers set in a small vase along with a fresh fruit tray. The garden surrounding features a little fishpond, and several lounge chairs....you get the idea. I don't want to give everything away...discovering the unexpected charms of a place is part of the fun. Suffice it to say that you would have to try pretty hard to not be satisfied with such a charming cottage and its charming proprietors. Finally, the location is pretty hard to beat in terms of convenience for further coastal and/or forest explorations. This review is also cross-posted at VRBO. Upon our departure back to Oakland, Peter Zama recommended GoldenEye Winery for a tasting and snack. We ended up on Goldeneye's back deck, and it was phenomenal! Imagine sitting under an umbrella sipping 8 different local wines while snacking on some local nuts, dried cherries and cheese, directly looking over sunny lush acreage of Sonoma valley Pinot vines, heavy with fruit. What more can you ask for? Nothing! Thank you Peter and Mary! We look forward to our next stay at La Petit Maison.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanyBoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
3.4 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
3.3 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
14.3 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
2.4 km away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
479 reviews
3.2 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Maison

Address: 43430 Olson Lane, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mendocino
Price Range: $218 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing