We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
185
143
35
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
143
35
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the airport quiet location great holiday clam beach free weights front desk staff short drive cinnamon rolls redwoods national park stayed here for two nights booked this hotel fridge and microwave bagels clean hotel room rate excellent stay complimentary breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

My husband and I stayed here three nights in August and really enjoyed our stay. This hotel is very nice and quiet. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming and don’t hesitate to give help if needed. Our room was quiet and clean, the beds and pillows were very comfortable; the air conditioner was quiet also. We didn’t eat the breakfast that was offered but it looked like the regular Holiday Inn Express fare. The only thing we have to say bad about the hotel is they had plastic toilet seats. These were not very sturdy at all. It’s hard for me to understand how a hotel that charges way over $200 a night won’t put on wooden toilet seats. Also, a ceiling fan would be nice. Other than this I heartily recommend this hotel.

Room tip: We were in room 222 and I would recommend it.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simralin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina S, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Simralin, thank you for staying with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed so many things about your stay. We appreciate your feedback on how we can make your stay that much better. We hope you get to come back and stay with us again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Have stayed here numerous times over the years. Always a clean and quiet stop (well the airport is just up the road, but it's small). Anyway this trip things were obviously more "frayed" from the desk clerks rush up the hall to see if a room was clean to a somewhat less clean environment overall. Breakfast....well we've all gotten used to marginal "free" breakfasts. Nothing new there. But not having the room cleaned after our first day was just not acceptable. Especially when we were told we 'must have left the do not disturb' magnet on the door and nothing could be done because the cleaning staff had all gone home. In fact, we explicitly did not leave the 'do not disturb' sign out, it was still inside the room. One gets the hint that management at this site is decidedly slipping and attitudes and cleanliness with it. Add that to the new price of $200 a night for a standard motel room. We won't be back soon.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catskinnerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina S, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Jim, thank you for staying with us. We want to sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your most recent stay. We promise that we are always striving for superior service and cleanliness. We sure will be using your feedback to further train and develop our team. We hope you could consider coming back to stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Considering the lack of a view or anything really special, I'm not sure why this hotel was so expensive. The laundry room was filthy, tiny, and in need of serious maintenance. The first room I got had pathetic AC, but the friendly staff moved me to a better one about a mile from the elevator. There are no available power outlets on the nightstand, so I had to unplug the clock.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank CCR1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina S, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

CCR1138, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are extremely sorry for the areas of your stay that were less than perfect. We are currently addressing our dryer issues and apologized that they broke during your stay. We hope to be given another chance and that you will come back to stay with us again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel was decent, staff was accommodating. My problem was the dirty laundry room. Trash overflowing onto the already filthy floor. Only 2 washers and 2 dryers. For the 5 nights my family stayed 1 of the dryers was out of order. I had to wait 2 hours after washing to get to the dryer. A line ahead of me and someone had left their clothes just sitting in the dryer. I took it upon myself to remove their clothes because nobody else wanted to touch their stuff. Staff said “unfortunately there are no rules and we can’t post a sign in the laundry area for guest to remove clothes once they are done drying”. Hotel was busy. They could have easily taken the money from our 5 nights (which was not cheap) to buy a new dryer if they couldn’t fix the old one!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank devmartin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina S, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Devmartin27, thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are so sorry that you experienced a wait time in our guest laundry room. The cleanliness issue should not have been there when you were using the facility. We are working hard to repair the dryer that was out of order. We truly apologize for the excessive wait. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in our area. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Nice room, good front desk service and in a safe location. Buffet breakfast with omeletes, bacon, cereal, biscuits, juice, coffee, yogurt etc. Quiet stay and comfortable bed. Would stay again for sure

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank travelagentreplies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina S, General Manager at Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Travelagentreplies, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We always love to hear our guest rave about our complimentary express start breakfast. We look forwrd to the next time you get to stay with us. Until then, take care! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews