We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
237
50
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
50
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount shasta claw foot tub decorated differently breakfast downstairs candy shop general store turn of the century friday george room quilting retreat common room modern amenities great view of mt small kitchen no elevator miller suite the ground floor bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We booked 2 nights to stay at the Hot & Tot room. It is one of their cheapest rooms and yet, it's one of the best we've stayed in so far. It's large, beautifully decorated with a personal touch without being kitsch as it happens way too often to my taste in B&Bs and spotless. The only thing is that the bed made a noise each time we turned around. Nevertheless, the hotel is still a favorite. The building is splendid inside and out and is located in a very cute town.

We had a $20 coupon to use at the cafe downstairs. Since we only took a huge omelet for the both of us with a bowl of fruits, a coffee and orange juice, we just had to tip the waitress. Great deal! It was really good and we were full for a while.

I had emailed the hotel for a few questions, Kevin answered me promptly. We arrived at around 7pm, the keys were waiting for us in an enveloppe with a map of the area. Some restaurants are noted on the map. We were there on a Monday, almost everything was closed from Dunmuir, to Mount Shasta to McCloud. Bummer.

We had booked 2 nights because we stopped at McCloud for a short break 3 years ago and fell in love. Unfortunately, because of the fires, the sky was very smoky (we were looking for Mount Shasta and barely noticed him on our way) and the air just smelled like a gigantic barbecue. Very very sad. My husband being asthmatic and coming from Santiago de Chile where we're leaving right now, we were looking for fresh air… Therefore we decided to cancel the second night. Kevin and his wife were nice enough to get us some money back although they didn't have to because of the late cancellation and we weren't expecting it. We really appreciated it.

There are beautiful stores at the first floor, clothes, candies, espresso... Lovely!

I would give 5 if it wasn't for the bed who bothered me a little during the night. I almost feel like 4 is unfair since we fell in love. We hope we'll be visiting Shasta and McCloud again in the future, McCloud Mercantile Hotel will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica4wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Unique room in a great renovated building. The small town, family atmosphere in this historic building was incredible, combined with the modern amenities that were worked into the room without compromising the rustic feeling of the room made this a unique stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph_Blow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The McCloud Mercantile B&B is a very interesting place. It consists of a number of rooms in the upper level of an old building. The room we stayed in was a handicapped accessible room with two double beds, It is called the "1940's room". We wanted a single king size bed but the hotel was booked solid and we were lucky to get the room.

This is one of those B&Bs that are very nicely converted. The room was huge. We paced the area of our suite and calculated it to be around 1000 sq feet! The room is clean and simple. No overstuffed furniture or hanging drapes and curtains or kitschy bric-a-brac. Very nice and free from excessive dust so no allergy problems.

The bathroom was also huge with twin sinks a huge tub, separate toilet and separate walk-in shower. It was remarkably quiet and at night it was nice and dark. They have a shared area outside the rooms which is also very large. There is furniture to lounge in, a dining table and chairs, a coffee machine, coffee, microwave and a small (too small) refrigerator. They also have china and silverware in a cabinet.

On the negative side, there was no closet space in our room and only a small armoire and a small chest of drawers. With such a big area, one would think that making a walk-in closet would be a no brainer, but that's the way it's made. It's a friendly, comfortable place and the staff was helpful and cheerful.

They also give you $20 credit ($10/guest) to use at either of the two cafe's in the building. If they had a small fridge in the room, better storage, and better WIFI, I would give it 5 stars.

The town is very small and if you need stuff, better get it early. They roll up the sidewalks at 8 pm! We did not find much in the way of restaurants, even when going to Mt Shasta which is a much larger town. The countryside is fabulous, the falls of the McClud river are really neat to see, and if you are adventurous, you can jump/dive off the cliffs into the river at the falls! A bit of a longer drive gets you to Burney Falls which are absolutely beautiful.

Lots of hiking opportunities exist. You can see wildlife and enjoy the beauty of nature. At night you can actually see the stars! It's breathtaking. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2Atlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

You can tell that the Mercantile Hotel is a labor of love for the owners, Kevin and Darlene. The work they have done to renovate this building is beyond impressive. On top of that, they are gracious and accommodating.

Each room has a character of its own. We stayed in the Arts and Crafts room. It is huge, spotlessly clean, and beautifully appointed. The windows face the back of the building with a lovely view of the trees. Rooms across the hall face the main street. This room is right off the common area (microwave, coffee, fridge, table, couches, games, small library). We liked that because it was convenient, but there is little sound proofing, so if you like it to be very quiet, then I would suggest asking for a room at the other end of the hall.

Things you may want to know:
There is no elevator and I did not find a hair dryer or iron. Wifi in the room is intermittent, but seems to work well in the common area. For the size of this room, storage was lacking. There was one small dresser and the antique armor did not quite cut it as a closet. There were no hooks and only one towel bar in the bathroom, and no shelving in the shower. For one night, this would not be an issue, but we stayed for five nights, so the lack of storage was kind of inconvenient. On the other hand, the decor, the double sink, and the amazingly comfortable claw foot tub made up for the missing amenities (and Kevin and Darlene said they would add hooks and a better closet).

The McCloud Mercantile Hotel is charming and so is McCloud. There is so much to do in the area or you can do nothing at all, sit on the porch, and watch the tiny world of McCloud go by. We loved this Hotel and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morris3445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed in the "1940's Room". Perfect for 2 friends to share. Huge bathroom due to ADA requirements. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the beds was squeaky, but we told them in the morning and it seemed like they will try to fix it.
Overall, very pleasant. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwck8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews