We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
237
50
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
50
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount shasta claw foot tub decorated differently breakfast downstairs candy shop general store turn of the century friday george room quilting retreat common room modern amenities great view of mt small kitchen no elevator miller suite the ground floor bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

You can tell that the Mercantile Hotel is a labor of love for the owners, Kevin and Darlene. The work they have done to renovate this building is beyond impressive. On top of that, they are gracious and accommodating.

Each room has a character of its own. We stayed in the Arts and Crafts room. It is huge, spotlessly clean, and beautifully appointed. The windows face the back of the building with a lovely view of the trees. Rooms across the hall face the main street. This room is right off the common area (microwave, coffee, fridge, table, couches, games, small library). We liked that because it was convenient, but there is little sound proofing, so if you like it to be very quiet, then I would suggest asking for a room at the other end of the hall.

Things you may want to know:
There is no elevator and I did not find a hair dryer or iron. Wifi in the room is intermittent, but seems to work well in the common area. For the size of this room, storage was lacking. There was one small dresser and the antique armor did not quite cut it as a closet. There were no hooks and only one towel bar in the bathroom, and no shelving in the shower. For one night, this would not be an issue, but we stayed for five nights, so the lack of storage was kind of inconvenient. On the other hand, the decor, the double sink, and the amazingly comfortable claw foot tub made up for the missing amenities (and Kevin and Darlene said they would add hooks and a better closet).

The McCloud Mercantile Hotel is charming and so is McCloud. There is so much to do in the area or you can do nothing at all, sit on the porch, and watch the tiny world of McCloud go by. We loved this Hotel and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morris3445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed in the "1940's Room". Perfect for 2 friends to share. Huge bathroom due to ADA requirements. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the beds was squeaky, but we told them in the morning and it seemed like they will try to fix it.
Overall, very pleasant. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwck8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed in the wintu room. Very spacious clean great jacuzzi bath tub. Very friendly owners breakfast was fabulous in the cafe next door. We received a $20 credit each morning to purchase our meal. Close to the mcCloud Waterfalls . A must see! Close to Mt Shasta. Recommend Wayside grill great food and beautiful views

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paganness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at the McCloud Mercantile Hotel. The owners and staff are very friendly and accomodating. I stayed in GG's (Great Grandmother's) Attic room, which is not in the attic at all. All of the rooms here are on the second floor, including GG's Attic. This room has two beds and is spacious. The room was very clean. I loved the Essential Elements bath products. The room could be made more comfortable with a place to sit besides the antique wooden theatre seats. My room came with a $10 credit at the coffee shop downstairs where the food was divine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salesmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Town of Mac cloud is like stepping back in time.
To a time where there is no traffic , the people are nice, the corner diner is in full swing. Everybody knows each other , and at the center of all that is the Mc Cloud Mercantile inn, with its charming rooms, and many other old charming nooks , like a candy store or a coffee shop. and also new amenities like wifi and all.
Darlene and Kevin, the owners are most accommodating and nice.
I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Each room has a personality of its own, each most charming in its own way
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firoozeh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews