We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memories to Last a Lifetime”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Marshall, Marin County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VSmith57
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“Memories to Last a Lifetime”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My husband and I traveled with 3 other couples to the Straus Home Ranch for Labor Day weekend. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for something very special. The house has been beautifully and comfortably done and felt very spacious - even for 8 adults. Everything about it felt homey yet there has been no skimping on making he experience "elevated". The furnishings, the linens (the linens!), the gorgeous hand-made dining room table that easily seats 12, seating for breakfast outdoors - are simple but elegant. Views from the rooms are of the old red barn and lovely trees on the property or the bay. Only beautiful and restful things to look at.They have a Steinway piano in the living room. One of our group is a musician and we sang right into the wee hours one night with wine we had picked up in Sonoma - about an hour away. Point Reyes has some wonderful shopping opportunities and there is no end to the places you can hike. Kayaking is an option as well. There are plenty of restaurants close by. We had a beautiful view at Nick's Cove for dinner but if you happen to stay there on a Friday night - be sure to eat at Tony's - great seafood and friendly service. But come early. Its the local hangout and people retire by 7:00. After 3 days, none of us were ready to leave and we are already planning our next trip there. It feels like home and we'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling so fully at home
Liked least: I had to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Valri, it was so great to have you, Bob, and the whole group. We're thrilled the piano was used so well and by such talent too. Hope to see you soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLewis888
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Top Notch Opportunity On Tomales Bay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house is beautiful, the scenery around it spectacular, and the surrounding area is second-to-none nationwide. If you're looking for a place to kick back and relax in West Marin, this is the spot. The home is historic, but don't conjure up images of worn down and funky. In truth, the furnishings are modern and well appointed, the beds are new and extraordinarily comfortable, and the kitchen is top notch and has everything you'll need to prepare a meal for 2-12 people. I was exhausted and in need of a quiet and tranquil setting to get away for a few days. This rental more than fit the bill, and was beyond my expectations. We ate great food, saw amazing stars, kayaked on the bay, slept in late, and enjoyed our stay immensely! A perfect location for a perfect vacation!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Glad you had a relaxing vacation, and hope to see you again soon! / Michael Straus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
“Beautiful house on the coast, comfortable”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had our wedding here and the small group (30) had a great time. Really comfortable house with everything you need, nice kitchen and four upstairs bedrooms. The hosts were easy to deal with and accommodating. Great place for a weekend getaway.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
It was really lovely and an honor to host your wedding ... thank you!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mes130
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Can't wait to visit again!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Beautiful, well-kept rooms and picturesque grounds. The hosts thought of all the little extras that made our stay comfortable and memorable. We especially enjoyed the tranquil views of the bay and the cows in the fields. The home is clean, well-appointed and spacious. With kayaking, hiking and beaches at our doorstep, our vacation was perfectly relaxing and rejuvenating. We will definitely be making a trip back to spend more time with friends and family around the hand-hewn redwood table!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So comfortable, well-appointed and relaxing.
Liked least: Wish we could have stayed longer!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thanks for staying with us - we love Tomales Bay, too! :) // Michael Straus and the Straus family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klaven
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Best House You'll Find in Tomales Bay!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wow...what a house and experience! It was an absolutely perfect stay for our group of 9 friends celebrating my fiancé's birthday. I would highly recommend the location if you want a getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Michael was the best host I've ever come across, which is a high compliment. He gave us an historical tour of the farm, the fields, the beach, the barns, and a great overview of the Straus Family Creamery history in the organic movement/land preservation of Marin County. Really amazing if you're into that sort of thing (which we are). So much history in Tomales Bay!

He then let us be to enjoy the property...which had everything. The kitchen is huge and fully stocked with all the oils, spices, condiments, specialty utensils (shucker!), kitchen gadgets (rice cooker), cast iron pans, gas grill, and even a nice care basket of Straus Creamery items. We bought 2 bags of hog island oysters to shuck in the afternoon, had fish tacos in the evening with all the sides, and a big farm breakfast the next morning. For dinner, we loved the huge table setting...with some day trippers coming up, 12 people fit around the table for dinner pretty comfortably.

The bedrooms...wow! All four of them are upstairs and are gorgeous. Lots of natural light, brand new beds, tasteful decor, and each had views of the bay or farm. The upstairs has such a cool wrap around deck that some friends hung out to play music on and some of us enjoyed star gazing after dark, such a cool feature. We had people go to bed at different times and the noise from downstairs didn't bother anyone trying to sleep earlier.

There was also a TV room (which we didn't use much, except for the 9th person who used the comfy pull out couch). We did use the piano and sitting room, with a baby grand that was used a lot :) Comfy, stylish couches-chairs and floor rugs that when we moved into that area. We also loved the big 1st floor wrap around porch, but spent most of the afternoon in the front yard and the patio area shucking/eating oysters, drinking wine, and enjoying a perfect sunny day. We also really enjoyed taking a stroll the nearby beach across highway 1 after dinner...I only wish we would have brought some firewood to enjoy the cool evening at the beach longer. Also a plus, no mobile phone service :) but great wifi for hooking up to spotify and posting your favorite pics instantly, ha.

I can't recommend the Straus Ranch enough...just go!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large kitchen and dining table
Liked least: Not having another night to stay :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind words - it was a pleasure to host you and your group!! /// Michael Straus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;