We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
177
17
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
17
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game room with pool no cell phone service workout equipment host mike an hour pantry woods hummingbirds drive park yosemite refrigerator gps miles bear
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April to explore Yosemite. The hospitality we were offered during our stay was possibly the best of any B&B I've stayed in. There were always snacks and drinks available, breakfast was great and we were just made to feel at home from the moment we arrived.
The accommodation was very comfortable and the house and grounds just beautiful. The valley was about an hours drive but we didn't find this a problem, after all, the drive there is pretty spectacular in itself!
The town of Mariposa is only a 15min drive away and offers enough restaurants and diners to give you some choice (have a milkshake in the Happy Burger Diner if you get a chance, they're gooooood!)

A big THANK YOU to Mike, Lizzie and Nora for a great stay and such welcoming hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigggDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed in the Morning Dove room, very similar in size and decor of the Spring Creek room. These two rooms are much smaller than the Forest Room. This home is older and does show it's age, but still comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are spacious but dated, except for the Forest room, it's been updated. This is a no frills B & B. No fancy folded towels or chocolates on your pillow but shampoo etc provided. They do the basics very well. Mike (the owner ) and Lizzie couldn't be more personable and helpful. Mike knows all about Yosemite, the area and trails. He has books and maps available for you. Breakfast was not " gourmet" but delicious and plentiful. Oh and great coffee. They provided tea, coffee, snacks etc around the clock, even had baggies for snacks to take along for the day which was appreciated. The ENTIRE home and yard is open to you. The game room has everything, including a pool table to use. It really is an hour drive to the valley in Yosemite from this house. I think the Mariposa Groves was a little closer.

Room Tip: If you can afford it and like a larger room and bed choose the Forest Rm. There is not table or chair in the Morning Dove.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have always enjoyed staying at B&Bs in Vermont. Yosemite was a bit apprehensive as I had no idea about what to expect by way of B&Bs in California. Turns out that Trip Advisor reviews of this wonderful gem was a blessing. Most B&Bs require a 2 night minimum and they have a cancellation penalty. I knew I was on the right track when I talked to Mike a few weeks before our trip and he assured me that not only did I not have to worry about the minimum stay but he would not even charge my card until our check-out day. Now, who does that!!! We stayed 3 nights here and enjoyed every moment of our stay. We literally had the run of the well kept house. Mike was way too generous in offering us free access to the delicious trail-mix, nuts and cookies (boy, were they good). We brought back some amazing memories of our stay at Highland House and our trip to Yosemite. If I return I don't have to look anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank taurus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during the first week of August. It was the last stop on our honeymoon and it was absolutely great! Beautiful remote location, wonderful accommodations, great breakfast and the owner and his assistant were just amazing people. Very generous with the house, especially the kitchen--whatever food was there was available to us all day long. it was great! The town of Mariposa was very neat and had a few good restaurants and it was a reasonable drive to Yosemite State Park. We had a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

When we planned our trip to Yosemite we thought it might be nice to stay at a B&B on the last night to make sure we had a good night's rest before driving back to AZ. We booked the Highland House in advance, not knowing anything about it. We were extremely pleased by what we found! We had the Forest Retreat room - it was spectacular! Roomy, comfortable, clean as could be, and it had a terrific bathroom. Had a great night! Mike was very nice and very helpful and the other guests were so friendly. We've stayed at a number of B&B's over the last few years and the Highland House has to rank with the best! The only mistake we made was staying only one night!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt23_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews