We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Mariposa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here 3 years ago for 3 nights. 2 days in Yosemite wasn't enough and we had to return. We did return; this time to spend 4 days in the park. We stayed at Highland House again; this time for 5 nights.

On both occasions the experience has been exactly the same, a magical house in the middle of nowhere that is like a home from home. The same people - Michael, Lizzie and Nora - have been looking after the place for some years now and you really, really couldn't wish for a nicer bunch to be looking after you.

The B&B is only three rooms and whoever is staying have a communal breakfast in the morning - it's a great time to share Yosemite stories and get to know the people you are sharing the house with - assuming they are staying for more than 1 night!

Michael knows a lot about Yosemite and can offer lots of really useful tips for visiting Yosemite and finding really good hikes.

The B&B is about an hour outside the main Yosemite valley, which is maybe too much for some people, but it was fine for us, even tho we did a couple of really long hikes whilst we were there.

Mariposa is an amply equipped local town with restaurants and a supermarket. We cooked at the B&B in the evenings.

The house is beautiful and you will be greeted at breakfast by humming birds and, if you are lucky, maybe a few deer at the window. One evening we even saw a wild turkey outside!

The rooms are big and the bathrooms and very nice. There is a laundry room if you need to wash clothes, a games room with a big TV and an American pool table. There are more than enough books and maps of Yosemite to keep you busy.

Ultimately it is the way Michael, Lizzie and Nora treat the guests and make you feel at home that makes this place unique and makes it a hard place to leave.

Maybe it's time to start planning a third visit...

Room Tip: The Forest Retreat is the bigger of the three rooms as is reflected in the increased price, but it r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April to explore Yosemite. The hospitality we were offered during our stay was possibly the best of any B&B I've stayed in. There were always snacks and drinks available, breakfast was great and we were just made to feel at home from the moment we arrived.
The accommodation was very comfortable and the house and grounds just beautiful. The valley was about an hours drive but we didn't find this a problem, after all, the drive there is pretty spectacular in itself!
The town of Mariposa is only a 15min drive away and offers enough restaurants and diners to give you some choice (have a milkshake in the Happy Burger Diner if you get a chance, they're gooooood!)

A big THANK YOU to Mike, Lizzie and Nora for a great stay and such welcoming hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigggDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed in the Morning Dove room, very similar in size and decor of the Spring Creek room. These two rooms are much smaller than the Forest Room. This home is older and does show it's age, but still comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are spacious but dated, except for the Forest room, it's been updated. This is a no frills B & B. No fancy folded towels or chocolates on your pillow but shampoo etc provided. They do the basics very well. Mike (the owner ) and Lizzie couldn't be more personable and helpful. Mike knows all about Yosemite, the area and trails. He has books and maps available for you. Breakfast was not " gourmet" but delicious and plentiful. Oh and great coffee. They provided tea, coffee, snacks etc around the clock, even had baggies for snacks to take along for the day which was appreciated. The ENTIRE home and yard is open to you. The game room has everything, including a pool table to use. It really is an hour drive to the valley in Yosemite from this house. I think the Mariposa Groves was a little closer.

Room Tip: If you can afford it and like a larger room and bed choose the Forest Rm. There is not table or chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have always enjoyed staying at B&Bs in Vermont. Yosemite was a bit apprehensive as I had no idea about what to expect by way of B&Bs in California. Turns out that Trip Advisor reviews of this wonderful gem was a blessing. Most B&Bs require a 2 night minimum and they have a cancellation penalty. I knew I was on the right track when I talked to Mike a few weeks before our trip and he assured me that not only did I not have to worry about the minimum stay but he would not even charge my card until our check-out day. Now, who does that!!! We stayed 3 nights here and enjoyed every moment of our stay. We literally had the run of the well kept house. Mike was way too generous in offering us free access to the delicious trail-mix, nuts and cookies (boy, were they good). We brought back some amazing memories of our stay at Highland House and our trip to Yosemite. If I return I don't have to look anywhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank taurus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during the first week of August. It was the last stop on our honeymoon and it was absolutely great! Beautiful remote location, wonderful accommodations, great breakfast and the owner and his assistant were just amazing people. Very generous with the house, especially the kitchen--whatever food was there was available to us all day long. it was great! The town of Mariposa was very neat and had a few good restaurants and it was a reasonable drive to Yosemite State Park. We had a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Verucak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
37.6 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
30.6 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,956 reviews
32.3 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
570 reviews
13.7 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,223 reviews
16.7 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3125 Wild Dove Ln, (outside of Yosemite National Park), Mariposa, CA 95338-9037
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mariposa
Price Range: $191 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover beauty and seclusion in the High Sierra of Mariposa County just minutes from Yosemite National Park and other local highlights. Select one of three luxurious guest rooms for a good night's rest. Enjoy a game of pool or watch a movie from our video collection. When you awake you'll enjoy a bountiful and unforgettable breakfast before setting off for your day of relaxation or adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Highland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing