We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Reviewed 20 October 2011

If you want 5star go to a GrandHotel,the Comfort inn was exactly what we wanted at the price we wanted to pay.The rooms are clean,water hot,breakfast(free) is ok,parking s free and it's only a short drive through stunning vistas to Yosemite.To eat go to Savouries for choice the Miners fr price,and the local store the Pioneer supermarket was as good as any big town store it's behind Burger King ,you have to look for it

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grandadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 297 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

Well well, another Comfort inn, following the one we just had a night before (in Merced).
This time we are almost next to the heart of Yosemite national which automatically "pumps
up" the price rom 80 to some 145 US$. and what do you get for is:
Nice staff at the front desk, quiet quiet rooms,nice breakfast and a clean room that "whispered me" that it had better days......but lets say simply its OK....(By the way the room in Merced was in a better condition).
Ok, you are close to Yosemite (25 miles) and you are in walking distance to a great Pizzeria which name I forgot but you can't miss.
Beware, if you want to stay here make a prior reservation....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jul1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed 1 night at the Comfort Inn. The Front Desk Staff person, both when I checked in and when I checked out, were polite and friendly.

I did not like the bed, or, I should say, my back did not like the mattress. I don't think I've stayed anywhere else and had such a poor night's sleep. It was a good thing I knew that there was a Peet's Coffee in the Pioneer Market a few blocks away to keep me going the next day.

Second, the wall paper in the bathroom is peeling away. Stevie Wonder would be able to see the paper coming away from the wall. It's at the corner of the bathtub, about 4 inches in length. This tells me that there may be a water leak because it is on the same side as the tub fixtures. And, more importantly, this tells me the owners and management are not sweating the details when it comes to this property.

If anyone decided to open a Marriott in Mariposa, or a hotel with good mattresses and up to date furnishings, they would own the market. There is a Marriott in Merced, but didn't stay there because I wanted to get into Yosemite early.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Compared to other places in Mariposa this place is alright but that doesn't say much. Once you get over hauling your case up 3 flights past a man in his boxers and sone cleaners smoking you might wonder what lies ahead. Large beds. Hideous burgundy throws, dark carpets. Air con is good. Wallpaper peeling in the bathroom. Asked the receptionist about the area who looked at me like I was mad and said 'there is nothing to do here' and kept staring. Continental breakfast was ok if you Luke high calorie nasties and coffee. I dislike both. I did find an overly polished no doubt chemically unsound apple. Pool is nice as is the hottub. Both a welcomed escape from the 1980s room and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abster_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The first room was not acceptable so they gave us another room. It was very late and thats the ONLY reason we stayed one night. Room was NOT clean or kept up to date. The door wouldn't shut all the way but would lock. Planned a three night stay but went elsewhere.

Room Tip: If your visiting Yosemite then you need to check on the East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BarBar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariposa
21.9 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,204 reviews
32.5 km away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.4 km away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mariposa
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 km away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
37.3 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
555 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway

Address: 4994 Bullion Street, Mariposa, CA 95338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mariposa
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mariposa
Price Range: $108 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting Yosemite National Park? Stay on a quiet mountainside above California's historic gold mining town of Mariposa, 32 miles West of Yosemite. Wake up to a deluxe hot breakfast buffet, swim in the seasonal pool and spa, and enjoy free WiFi in all guest rooms. Walk to nearby restaurants, gift shops, wine tasting, brew pubs and art galleries. Open all year, Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway offers reasonable rates and convenience, clean rooms and suites with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway Hotel Mariposa
Comfort Inn Mariposa
Mariposa Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing