We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great community museum”

Mariposa Museum and History Center
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Mariposa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great community museum”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Our group consisted of two adults and two boys, aged 12 and 8. Everyone enjoyed this museum. It is full of great history, terrific stories, and tons of interesting items to discover.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    41
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is a WOW!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

On our way to Yosemite, we drove around the cute town of Mariposa looking for some lunch and saw this museum. It is open everyday from 10-4 and kids are free. I am so glad that we stopped as it has just an amazingly vast collection of items depicting life in early California. It is very well organized and documented. Someone has put a lot of work into this place. It also has a terrific collection of local history type books about gold mining and such. And as an added bonus, Sal's Taco Truck was parked across the street in the shopping center parking lot and we had some very yummy mexican food there!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agen, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I'm so glad we didn't miss this. It's an Aladdin's Cave - a treasure trove of artefacts relating to local history, much of it centred around the gold rush era. Very welcoming and knowledgeable staff - at the time of our visit there was a group of schoolchildren being given a tour by a lady in period costume - we wished afterwards that we'd tagged along. This lady clearly knew her stuff and had these kids enthralled as she brought all the history alive. It was great to see. We spent probably 90 minutes here but could easily have spent quite a bit longer. At just four dollars to enter this place is great value.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LRM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I would recommend this muesum to visitors. Very nice staff. It would be nice to allow picture taking. Native American section was very interesting. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

VP, Hollister,CA

Helpful?
2 Thank Salinan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Bob - one of the museum's volunteers gave us a tour and we were very impressed, because we learnt so much about American history. A very valuable experience for our kids too as they were allowed to touch some of the historical exhibits.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mariposa Museum and History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing