We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveller rating
744
573
139
35
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
744
573
139
35
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking venice beach santa monica make your own waffles holiday inn express small pool waffle maker breakfast room yogurt free breakfast hot tub fire pit stay there again ping pong king suite abbot kinney busy street
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Definitely a good place to stay with bags more personality than the chains.

The decor was great, really fun. We had a lovely, big room with comfortable beds and pillows, which was cleaned very well. The courtyard area was also a hit - small but perfectly formed with a small pool, jacuzzi (both heated), sunloungers, ping pong tables and a sofa area with fire pit.

Location was great - bit of a walk, but definitely accessible to Venice Beach. It's worth hiring the bikes from The Kinney - the rate is the same as all the places closer to the beach but their bikes are definitely newer than the beach places. The only reason we didn't hire was because they didn't have kids bikes.

The breakfast was basic, but completely fine. The kids loved making their own waffles.

On the whole, the staff were really friendly and helpful.

The only downside was our room was on the road, which was noisy. We had earplugs so managed fine - but it's worth asking for a room the other side if this will bother you.

Plus we had a strange conversation at check in regarding parking. We had parked on the street outside the hotel, had read the sign and just wanted assurance that the car would be fine following a long flight with two kids and a nightmare wait of 3 hours getting out of the airport and getting our hire car. The lady at reception wouldn't say if it was okay??!! I don't know whether they were trying to push their valet parking, which is expensive at $25 a day. Surely the hotel would know of the parking regulations outside their own hotel?!

For those that want to avoid the cost of valet parking, we street parked for free for 5 days with no problem. Right next to the hotel was free all day - you just need to move the car on the morning of the street cleaning (as per the sign) and, for non- Americans, don't park where the curb is painted red. The opposite side of the street is 2 hour parking from 9am, which is fine for overnight as long as you move the car by 11am.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Munchkin208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Perfect location, a stone's throw away from Venice Beach. Lovely rooms and decor. Beautiful and polite service all around. The only slight downside is the breakfast selection which is slightly limited but still perfectly good.
All in all, a perfect boutique hotel for both business travellers and getaway seekers.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MiltosS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

My two teenage boys and I just stayed here for 4 days. It was great! We all loved the "hipster" decor, but most important was the service. All was wonderful starting with the free breakfasts, to the valets, to the front desk and other employees. Everyone was friendly, very helpful etc. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

This is a nice place to stay if you are looking for no frills. Quaint rooms, free breakfast and a nice staff. My only complaint is the $25 a day valet fee. We loved the bike rentals but $25/day seems a bit off price point to me as well. Overall nice experience and a short ride down to the beach.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank ldsummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Stayed here one night on business. Great location, a mile from Venice Beach, easy 20-minute walk. Doesn't look like much from outside, but it's clearly been renovated recently inside in a modern style. Room was very good. Comfortable bed, good towels and high quality shampoo/conditioner/body wash from C.O. Bigelow. Free wifi. Didn't get up early enough for breakfast, but there was good free coffee in the lobby. Good Chinese restaurant one minute walk away. Rubi at the front desk seemed to really like her job and was happy to be there. Noon checkout was great. Not a bargain, but good value for the price considering how expensive this city can be. It would be "excellent" instead of "very good" had it been just a little cheaper, but I hate spending money so maybe that's a bit unfair.... Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JustSayNoToSpiritAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R, Manager at The Kinney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Dear ekadvisor,

Thank you for taking your time in sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor - we value your feedback, as it allows us to help make your next stay as comfortable as possible!

Rubi will be happy to hear that she made a difference during your stay.

We appreciate the 4 stars, and hope to have the opportunity to earn the 5th on your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Carlos Torres
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews