We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
362
201
50
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
201
50
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas station mini mart mini sausages free cookies convenience store bagels room was clean fresh blueberries bottled water monterey bay boiled eggs great place to stay continental breakfast stay there again microwave and fridge place to sleep checking in
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Nice enough hotel for the price, but two glaring problems that really make it difficult to enjoy.

1) It's co-located with a gas station. Even with the windows closed, you're going to hear people's loud truck engines and such, and if you try to have your windows open, you're going to smell fumes.

2) Hard floors and poor sound dampening. I love that they have hard floors rather than carpet, much more confident in things being clean. Unfortunately I'm guessing that they added the hard floors in a renovation, because the structure clearly isn't up to the job of keeping things quiet. If you're on the first floor, you're not just going to hear footsteps above you, your bed is going to shake.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Joshua L
Are am sorry that your stay with us was not pleasant for you. We installed the hard floors because "I love that they have hard floors rather than carpet, much more confident in things being clean". We installed all new beds and have an excellent housekeeping team to keep the rooms clean and fresh. Again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We had a great stay at Howard Johnson. Staff was very helpful specially Sanjeet the owner I believe was great guy.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mohammad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Mohammad F
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have an excellent team that provides the home away from home feeling. A fresh deluxe continental breakfast is provided complimentary daily. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Helped us find restaurants and attractions in the area. Very attentive and cared about our needs.
Room was very clean and well furnished. Would definitely go back. A very good option close to Monterey (5min to downtown).

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Cedric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Cedric G
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sarah and her team provide the home away from home experience. Large rooms kept clean and fresh by our excellent housekeeping team. A complementary deluxe continental breakfast to get your day started. Then of course all of the great Monterey Bay sites either North or South are all close for touring. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Basic motel type accommodation, but clean and generally quiet. Very helpful, pleasant reception team in evening and morning. Best motel breakfast we have had on this trip - boiled eggs, little sausages, choice of cereals, breads and bagels. Plus fresh blueberries.
Good choice if you don't want to pay over the odds to stay in Monterey, but you want to be close.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Miss Morna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Miss Morna G
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in the beautiful Monterey Bay area. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We offer large rooms kept clean and fresh by our excellent housekeeping team. We try to give our traveling guests the home away from home experience with a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served daily to get their day started to see all of the sights. Thank you for staying with us at our Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Wanted two beds. Dude said one bed with sleeper sofa. The sleeper was horrible. No mattress. They gave us extra blankets but it did not help. Do not stay here unless you have enough beds for everyone. Breakfast sucked also. Eat down the street at Coffee Mia. Get a canoli with your breakfast. Best coffee/cafe around.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Darrin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry B, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Marina at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Darrin F
I am sorry that we did not have any rooms with double queens left to accommodate you. The sofa beds are typically used for kids not adults. We do have rollaways but it sounds like we did not communicate well enough. Again I am sorry that your experience with us did not go well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews