We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would stay here again”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Malibu Island Pool House Entrance to Pool House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Malibu Island Pool House
Entrance to Pool House
Barbque deck area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Malibu, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicole051...
Hamburg, Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We couldn't stay at the house. There were a lot of ants in the kitchen. Moreover we were shocked about this jungle feeling. It doesn't seems so in the internet. Moreover it smells unpleasent and after 30 minutes we were sure that we can't relax at this place.

Sure, the pool looks very nice but we payed nearly $1000 and we think it is unacceptet to have ants in the house and the warning before coyotes, snakes and other dangerous animals. For us this is no place to have a great time.

In the middle of the night we had to take a hotel and I wrote an email to chantal in the same night to tell her the mistakes in the house. After 3 days she answered and she assumed that we sleeped in the bed and use the bathroom. We only use the toilet after our long trip and ONE towel and only sit at the bed. Chantal sayed there are no ants. This is a lie and it was so disrespectful that she makes jokes about us that we had a bad feeling about the jungle animals.

We didn't stay longer than 30 minutes at the house and had to pay for all the days. She wasn't ready to give a little bit money back to us. I wrote a mail in the same night and tell her she can give the house to other guests.

We had a long vacation and journey in california an lived in a lot of vacation-homes. And sure it isn't a hotel but no other house and homeowner was so terrible and we are sad until today that our trip was ending with this bad experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk2007tra...
washington dc
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had meetings in Malibu that required a 4-night stay, and all the recommended hotels were already booked for that weekend. I wanted to stay as close as possible and not have to make a long drive everyday so I looked for alternative housing. This little cottage worked out just great. I used Google Street View before traveling to CA to familiarize myself with the location - and that helped a lot. It's a small place but it was comfortable and clean, and all I needed. Having a kitchen was very helpful for that early morning cup of tea, and a fridge for storing snacks. Watched the sunrise every morning over the canyon, you can see the ocean from the deck. It was very quiet, no one disturbed me and I never even see another person. Would have liked to have been able to take advantage of the pool but being November despite being very warm in the daytime it got really cold at night, so that water was icy. The deck area is really pretty with lots of plants. The house itself really warms up during the day in the full sun - but I was always out and just came back at night to a warm room that quickly cooled down with the air conditioner. I never turned on the TV or used the stove so no comment on them.
What would have been nice: extra towels. Staying 4 nights it would have been nice to have more than two towels to use for my entire stay. And if I had used the pool some beach towels would have come in really handy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Loz003
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay with amazing views”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at the Malibu Pool House for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Chantal was very welcoming and very friendly when we arrived and was on hand if we had any questions before we arrived and when we were there.

The location is a 15 minute drive from Malibu and is set in the mountains with the most amazing views. The location is very tranquil and was just what we were looking for.

The house is very boho and had everything we wanted. Waking up in the morning, looking out to the pool and the views over to the ocean was just perfect.

There was nothing I could think of to make the stay better.

We'll definitely look to go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool
Liked least: Maybe some books to read would have been nice but there was nothing we disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;