We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malibu Beach Inn
Nearby Hotels
The M Malibu(Malibu)
USD 355
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surfrider Malibu(Malibu)(Great Value!)
USD 458
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 268
USD 250
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Native Hotel(Malibu)
USD 402
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 473
USD 439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 256
USD 194
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Agoura Hills(Agoura Hills)(Great Value!)
USD 191
USD 187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 206
USD 192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel(Agoura Hills)(Great Value!)
USD 176
USD 160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
362
142
42
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
142
42
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarbon beachocean frontvalet parkinghigh tideoceanfront roomturn down servicelounge chairssound of the wavessanta monicabeautiful roommini barworth every pennybalcony doorthe pacific coast highwayprivate beachspent nightsboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We recently made a highly anticipated visit to the Malibu Beach Inn, This hotel is absolutetly 1000% not worth any price they quote to stay there - although it is in a great location with unlimited potential, Although I have lived at the beach in SoCAL for the past 34 years, I unfortunately do not live on the sand. I have spent many days and nights over the years at Carbon Beach at the homes of friends. We thought it might be nice to experience the property and purchased a couple days via our friends at Luxury Link. I am a big fan of Luxury Links choices and have only had one bad experience (now two) at one of their properties. We highly encourage Luxury Link to remove Malibu Beach Inn from their recommendation and representation

We arrived at the property and unknowingly nor was it mentioned, that we were put in room 209, a handicap room. You absolutely need to give that info!! We unpacked prior to noticing and decided to stay. I had also just had minor surgery so the idea of changing rooms was not appealing. The room was definitely “tired”, dark, crooked pictures, and the comforter was torn. The room was pretty shabby and ho hum average at best. Perhaps a paint job with bright fresh “beachy” colors is in future? Presently the property is certainly not boutique high style comfort. The television reception was poor and fuzzy!! Bring a nice bottle of wine and you can use their plastic room cups or ask room service for stemware – Really?! That sure is class!

The notion of tranquility is really what we expected as they advertise on their website – that is a NOT!. Both nights we were kept awake by parting guests until early morning hours. The smell of their cigarette smoke was definitely not appreciated (not to mention unlawful) The idea of staying on the beach to me means the ability to sleep with your doors open sleeping to the sounds of the surf. This was spoiled!

Upon checkout I was not even asked by the front desk if we enjoyed our stay!? Finally as the bill was being tallied, I asked them if they were going to ask me how I enjoyed my stay???
I would NEVER stay there again. Do not stop there continue- just continue driving north or south, there are numerous great hotels!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank hipmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. Our apologies once again that your experience was disappointing. We felt that we were doing our part to ensure a pleasant stay by accommodating your early check-in request and addressing the grievances that you did share with us on-site upon check out and thereafter, however, we apologize that our efforts fell short.

It’s our top priority to provide excellent service to our guests and to ensure that every guest has a pleasurable experience while staying with us. We appreciate when concerns are shared immediately so we can provide a resolution as prompt as possible.

If we have the opportunity to welcome you back we will certainly be better prepared and aware of your expectations and to ensure they are met. We do hope that we'll have the chance to welcome you back and to ensure you have a better experience.

- The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Overall price is way too high for what you actually get. Service average. Attitude of staff, not impressed. If you are use to the Four Seasons, this place is not for you.

No gym and NO SPA even though they claim to have one. Well if you consider an empty guest room a spa then maybe you will be ok...

Room Tip: Stay clear of the restaurant it can be noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. As hard as it is to hear sometimes, we know that honest and constructive feedback provides us with the opportunity to learn from your experience and work to improve in the areas that we can. We appreciate your business and your support, and we're very grateful that you took the time to share your feedback with us. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Wow. What a nice and friendly Hotel. We pulled up all sweaty on our bike and we treated fabulously and checked into a beautiful room. Super friendly staff, excellent service, awesome comfortable rooms and right on the beach. We had dessert at the restaurant deck and loved the views. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INTANDEMBIKES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! Of course, we love cyclists, and we welcome you ANY time! We're so glad to hear that you had a nice, relaxing stay, and we'll look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Me and my boyfriend celebrated our anniversary here on march 25th. The hotel was beautiful and location was great.Our room was spacious and the ocean front view was priceless. The valet people were so nice so it made paying that 27 bucks not feel so painful. HOWEVER, I noticed that the final receipt for what had been charged to my card was different then what showed on my credit card statement. I called about this immediately and found out that they claimed that we had chips and soda resulting in the extra 15 dollar charge. Its not a lot of money but its still not right to try to take extra after we already paid so much for the room itself. I called the accounting department and was very clear we did not eat or drink anything and that this charge was bogus and they fixed the problem. It was merely just a small annoyance but appreciated their prompt response

Room Tip: choose an ocean view room!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jm p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property, but we're also sorry to hear that your experience wasn't without flaw. We appreciate you bringing the mistake to our attention immediately so that we could correct it right away. We are grateful for your understanding, and we hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you both again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I lived in Malibu for a few years and stayed at this hotel with some family members that were in town for a visit. If you want to stay in Malibu and are looking for a hotel, this is 100% the best choice.

You should know, this is not a 5-star hotel, so set your expectations accordingly. That's not to say that I don't like this hotel or didn't enjoy my stay -- quite the contrary, this is a lovely hotel with a great location. But the service, amenities, etc. are not at a 5-star level.

The rooms are quite cozy, most with amazing views. The patio on the first floor is a lovely way to enjoy Malibu. There are many restaurant a short distance away. Be aware -- most of Malibu shuts down early in the evenings, so if you are looking for a bar, nightlife, etc., you'll need to go down to Santa Monica or through the canyon.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to saty on the beach in Malibu.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ageveret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm for our property! We're delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to stay with us while your family was visiting. We always love to welcome our Malibu neighbors! We truly appreciate you sharing your experience and your helpful insights with others who may be looking to stay with us in the future, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again as well! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews