We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“malibu has no 5 star hotel,you will see”
Review of Malibu Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malibu Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
malibu
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“malibu has no 5 star hotel,you will see”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel is very small and has a good location.Yet if you are expecting a extremely special hotel 5 star go to santa monica.This is very nice with small rooms but nothing out of the ordinary except its on the beach.

Room Tip: Extremely small rooms per USA standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cass s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Welcome to TripAdvisor! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Malibu. We’re glad that you felt that the property was very nice, but we're sorry to hear that the room size didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to compose and share your feedback with us, and we hope that you'll consider staying with us again the next time you're looking for a beachfront getaway in Malibu! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    130
    38
    28
    18
See reviews for
97
251
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We recently made a highly anticipated visit to the Malibu Beach Inn, This hotel is absolutetly 1000% not worth any price they quote to stay there - although it is in a great location with unlimited potential, Although I have lived at the beach in SoCAL for the past 34 years, I unfortunately do not live on the sand. I have spent many days and nights over the years at Carbon Beach at the homes of friends. We thought it might be nice to experience the property and purchased a couple days via our friends at Luxury Link. I am a big fan of Luxury Links choices and have only had one bad experience (now two) at one of their properties. We highly encourage Luxury Link to remove Malibu Beach Inn from their recommendation and representation

We arrived at the property and unknowingly nor was it mentioned, that we were put in room 209, a handicap room. You absolutely need to give that info!! We unpacked prior to noticing and decided to stay. I had also just had minor surgery so the idea of changing rooms was not appealing. The room was definitely “tired”, dark, crooked pictures, and the comforter was torn. The room was pretty shabby and ho hum average at best. Perhaps a paint job with bright fresh “beachy” colors is in future? Presently the property is certainly not boutique high style comfort. The television reception was poor and fuzzy!! Bring a nice bottle of wine and you can use their plastic room cups or ask room service for stemware – Really?! That sure is class!

The notion of tranquility is really what we expected as they advertise on their website – that is a NOT!. Both nights we were kept awake by parting guests until early morning hours. The smell of their cigarette smoke was definitely not appreciated (not to mention unlawful) The idea of staying on the beach to me means the ability to sleep with your doors open sleeping to the sounds of the surf. This was spoiled!

Upon checkout I was not even asked by the front desk if we enjoyed our stay!? Finally as the bill was being tallied, I asked them if they were going to ask me how I enjoyed my stay???
I would NEVER stay there again. Do not stop there continue- just continue driving north or south, there are numerous great hotels!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank hipmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. Our apologies once again that your experience was disappointing. We felt that we were doing our part to ensure a pleasant stay by accommodating your early check-in request and addressing the grievances that you did share with us on-site upon check out and thereafter, however, we apologize that our efforts fell short.

It’s our top priority to provide excellent service to our guests and to ensure that every guest has a pleasurable experience while staying with us. We appreciate when concerns are shared immediately so we can provide a resolution as prompt as possible.

If we have the opportunity to welcome you back we will certainly be better prepared and aware of your expectations and to ensure they are met. We do hope that we'll have the chance to welcome you back and to ensure you have a better experience.

- The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Overall price is way too high for what you actually get. Service average. Attitude of staff, not impressed. If you are use to the Four Seasons, this place is not for you.

No gym and NO SPA even though they claim to have one. Well if you consider an empty guest room a spa then maybe you will be ok...

Room Tip: Stay clear of the restaurant it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. As hard as it is to hear sometimes, we know that honest and constructive feedback provides us with the opportunity to learn from your experience and work to improve in the areas that we can. We appreciate your business and your support, and we're very grateful that you took the time to share your feedback with us. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Wow. What a nice and friendly Hotel. We pulled up all sweaty on our bike and we treated fabulously and checked into a beautiful room. Super friendly staff, excellent service, awesome comfortable rooms and right on the beach. We had dessert at the restaurant deck and loved the views. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INTANDEMBIKES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! Of course, we love cyclists, and we welcome you ANY time! We're so glad to hear that you had a nice, relaxing stay, and we'll look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thousand oaks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Me and my boyfriend celebrated our anniversary here on march 25th. The hotel was beautiful and location was great.Our room was spacious and the ocean front view was priceless. The valet people were so nice so it made paying that 27 bucks not feel so painful. HOWEVER, I noticed that the final receipt for what had been charged to my card was different then what showed on my credit card statement. I called about this immediately and found out that they claimed that we had chips and soda resulting in the extra 15 dollar charge. Its not a lot of money but its still not right to try to take extra after we already paid so much for the room itself. I called the accounting department and was very clear we did not eat or drink anything and that this charge was bogus and they fixed the problem. It was merely just a small annoyance but appreciated their prompt response

Room Tip: choose an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jm p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibubeachinn, Guest Relations Manager at Malibu Beach Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you so much sharing your experience of your recent stay at Malibu Beach Inn. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property, but we're also sorry to hear that your experience wasn't without flaw. We appreciate you bringing the mistake to our attention immediately so that we could correct it right away. We are grateful for your understanding, and we hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you both again in the future! - The Malibu Beach Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,820 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Beach Inn

Property: Malibu Beach Inn
Address: 22878 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Malibu
Price range (per night): $657 - $1,523
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Malibu Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently nestled right on the sands of famed "Billionaire’s Beach," Malibu Beach Inn is a spectacular ocean-front getaway within minutes of LA. Since its inception in 1989, Malibu Beach Inn has become a beloved destination for both leisure and business travelers. After a complete, contemporary multi-million-dollar renovation, Malibu Beach Inn re-opened its doors as the only luxury oceanfront hotel destination between Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, offering guests unsurpassed levels of luxury and service on the sands of exclusive Carbon Beach. The Malibu Beach Inn is approximately 22 miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The hotel embraces the serene beauty of the Malibu coastline through its landscaping, architecture and interior design. It also embodies the spirit of one of Southern California's most exclusive communities through the warm hospitality of its multilingual, European-trained staff, its signature beach club, and a unique collection of artwork by contemporary painter Glenn Ness. The Carbon Beach Club features California coastal cuisine with Pacific Rim accents that is complemented by an outstanding and extensive list of hand-selected small-production wines from California's premier wine regions. The dining room offers both indoor and outdoor dining, both of which boast breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and the sound of the tumbling surf below.Guest rooms feature private balconies, minibars, coffeemakers, hairdryers, bathrobes, DVD players, safes, complimentary high-speed Internet access, fireplaces (most rooms), and private hot tubs (some rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Malibu Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Beach Hotel Malibu
Beach Inn Malibu
Malibu Beach Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing