We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My favorite creative retreat”
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
200 degree water view from the deck featuring most of the '9 Sisters' & the bay
Interior showing the plush quilted King, main living/entertainment area & view of Morro Bay beyond
Luxuriously comfortable California king with owner-made quilt & shams add to the romantic setting
Seating area is great for conversation, snuggling, reading and watching movies.
Well-appointed sitting area with antiques, art, an original George Lepp photo create an artful space
Breakfast bar & well-equipped kitchen with formal, casual and handmade dishes & glassware.
Newly remodeled kitchen, well-equipped for gourmet meals or just a cup of tea. Great water views!
The 'Quiet Room', perfect for a nap or curling up with a good book.
The 'Quiet Room' desk, closet, dressers, extra blankets & pillows, suitcase storage, & a bay view.
Soft pillows, a cozy corner and a good book, make the 'Quiet Room' a haven within the Cottage
Antiques, art and great views are part of the peaceful ambience of the Green Cottage.
Curl up and read a good book, in this antique Victorian chair, a family heirloom.
Newly remodeled bathroom includes walk-in shower, lots of plush towels & a bay view from the window.
Dramatic, unobstructed views from the Cottage
Quiet beauty is yours from the deck of the Green Cottage.
The Green Cottage has one of the only remaining 5 private docks on the bay. Come enjoy!
The Cottage is ideally situated on the water. Nearby trails offer spectacular views!
Sunsets can be colorful and dramatic from the Cottage
Spectacular sunrise from right in front of the Cottage.
A view across the water to the Green Cottage on Morro Bay.
The Green Cottage provides a great location for exploring Morro Bay. Bring your kayak, SUP or canoe.
Picturesque Cuesta Inlet is a 2 minute walk from the Cottage
Magic light often accents the views from the Green Cottage.
A pano from the deck, showing our fabulous views, shot by a recent guest. Thank you John.
There are not many places, outside of an aquarium where you can see wildlife up close and personal!
Birds, large and small are on Morro Bay, right in front of the cottage!
Enormous pelicans are often seen perched right in front of the Cottage on our private dock. Come see
A mysterious morning, mist rising at Sweet Springs Nature Preserve, a 5-minute walk from the Cottage
El Moro Elfin Forest, in Los Osos, is a 90-acre natural area with trails and fabulous views.
The Elfin Forest has 200 species of plants and 145 kinds of birds, mammals, reptiles & amphibians.
Nearby Montaña de Oro State Park is one of the largest in California; has fabulous trails & beaches!
7,828 acres for you to explore: secluded sandy beaches, coastal plains & streams in wooded canyons.
“Mountain of Gold” hillsides with native plants and animals. Rich cultural & historical resources.
Fabulous trails for easy or strenuous hikes along the beach, bluffs, or inland in the mountains.
Windy Cove and the Morro Bay Golf Course, 7 minutes from the Cottage.
Nearby Hearst Castle is a fascinating National Historic Landmark, well worth a visit!
Hearst Castle was designed by architect Julia Morgan from 1919 - 1947 for William Randolph Hearst.
San Luis Obispo County has over 300 wineries. Come experience our award-winning local wines.
The Morros, 9 volcanic peaks between Morro Bay & SLO, are wonderful for photography and hiking.
Ancient oak trees nestle in valleys and cattle dot the beautiful ranchlands.
The wine regions of San Luis Obispo County are in the beautiful, rolling rural areas of the county.
San Luis Obispo County has over 80 miles of coastline and beaches for you to explore.
San Luis Obispo County -- California's Natural Escape. Come enjoy!
A quiet sunset along a nearby beach. Come experience it for yourself.
A bird's eye view of the Morro Bay boat mooring field.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Los Osos, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lovebird6...
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite creative retreat”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I am a writer and photographer by trade, and have stayed at The Green Cottage on several occasions while working on projects. It is the perfect creative retreat! I love gazing out over the bay, and passing the hours nestled in its familiar embrace. I highly recommend it for those seeking solitude and nature.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
The Green Cottage provides the peace, privacy and quiet that creative folks love. This food writer and photographer even provides our guests with great food ideas. She has written a number of articles while gazing out onto the shoreline, and has taken her camera to Baywood on her morning walks and has captured beautiful images of our area. We've had famous photographers, authors, song writers, musicians, and actors. Visit, and see why the Cottage provides the serenity to create great works.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen...
Palm Desert, California
1 review
“Unexpectedly Lovely”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Absolutely wonderful peaceful place. Like living inside a piece of art, Green Cottage is lovely in every dimension. Perfectly clean with a thoughtful assortment of dishes, cookware, books, puzzles and games. Beautiful view of Morro Bay with a resident Blue Heron. Surrounded by parks with interesting hiking trails and beaches. We will definitely return to Green Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and beauty all around
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Thank you Gretchen! We work hard to make our Cottage the kind of place our guests want to return to several times each year. We welcome you to the growing list!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLLtravel
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband and I were lucky enough to experience the Green Cottage for a "way too short" visit of three nights. The cottage was everything as advertised - spotlessly clean, and completely furnished with lots of nice homey touches. Fresh fruit, freshly ground local coffee, yogurt and fresh flowers were waiting for our arrival. We also loved the nice thick towels that were much better quality than those we've experienced in many fine hotels. The fact that the cottage is located in a residential area, away from the touristy area, but close enough for easy access, was a definite bonus. The view from the deck and kitchen windows was perfect - a great view of Morro Rock, lots of birds, and beautiful sunsets. The notebooks provided with information on restaurants, local attractions and local history were another welcome touch. We look forward to returning to the Green Cottage as often as possible, because it feels like home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you! You just pointed out something obvious but I missed it until now. The Green Cottage IS in a very quiet residential area, at the end of a peninsula (and at the end of a dead end street). The neighbors have lived here for years and everyone is very friendly. When I travel I try to stay out of the touristy areas. I guess I hadn't put that together. Of course, our guests are looking for the same thing — an authentic experience. And we're within walking distance to several restaurants and just minutes away, by car, from our retail areas. Now that you know the Green Cottage on Morro Bay provides the perfect home base for countywide explorations: Hearst Castle, both wine areas (SLO County has over 27,000 acres of wine grapes), the Performing Arts Center, great biking, hiking and kayaking (and SUPing), plus art galleries, cute little towns like Cambria and Cayucos and one of the largest Open Studio Tours in California (in October) -- you'll have to come back often to stay, explore and play like a local!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBTravele...
California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always Exceeds Our Expectations”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Green Cottage is probably our favorite place to stay. For us, it feels like a second home. It is very comfortable and is very well and interestingly decorated. It’s possible to spend hours wandering around looking at this and that, whether it is a small statue or sign or one of the many interesting books. It is spotlessly clean and has a very well-stocked kitchen with just about everything that you could want in the way of plates, glasses, silverware and utensils. There is freshly ground coffee, some fresh fruit and yogurt for your stay.

The owners, Pandora and Gary, who live a few houses away, are available if you need them or want information, but otherwise leave you completely alone.

The cottage sits on the edge of Morro Bay, and the unobstructed view from the deck or, if it is a bit cool, the kitchen table is spectacular, looking north across the bay toward Morro Rock. Watching the sunrise or sunset from the deck is very special, and the bay is home to many different types of interesting birds.

The Los Osos/Morro Bay area is a great place to visit. (There are three large notebooks full of things-to-do, restaurants and the like, and there are hiking and wildlife books, as well as binoculars in the cottage.) There are many short and longer walks/hikes. Montana de Oro State Park, with a hike along the rocky bluffs overlooking the ocean, is great, and on our last trip we spent time at Los Osos Oaks State Natural Reserve, which was fascinating for its hundreds of tangled oak trees covered with mosses and lichens.

Morro Bay (the town) has the usual array of gift shops, galleries and bay-front or view restaurants, but the bigger attraction for us is the bay itself with sea lions, otters and birds. (Next trip we are renting kayaks.) That said, two of our favorite places to eat are The Galley for a formal, sit-down restaurant and Giovanni’s Fish Market and Galley for an informal, pick-up-you-own-order, eat-outside-on-picnic-tables place.

San Luis Obispo is an interesting university town close-by, and you are within a day-trip of Hearst Castle and a number of wineries if those interest you. For us, though, the best thing about visiting the Green Cottage is spending time at the cottage — relaxing with a cup of coffee and binoculars in the morning and returning for a glass of wine and the sunset in the evening.

Try the Green Cottage. We think that you will like it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of Morro Bay from the deck.
Liked least: Tall people should know that some of the ceilings are relatively low in the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
This traveler said it all. There are an abundant reasons to visit our area if you love nature, food, hiking, water activities, great wines and mostly an escape from busy city lives. The Cottage is in a quiet residential area on the end of a dead end road. You will fee like you are far far from the maddening crowds while being close to everything. Come explore. Come relax.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne C
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 25 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I spent 10 beautiful days at The Green Cottage. It truly became my home away from home.
The cottage has everything and more to make it a comfortable home. The views and scenery are fabulous from the waterfront patio. Its fun to do a puzzle and watch all the birds and wildlife from the kitchen table. A must stay if you are visiting Los Osos or any of the surrounding areas. I will be back for sure very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The waterfront location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
I think Jayne is our "champion guest", staying with us now about 10 times. We love that she loves the Green Cottage on Morro Bay so much that she now calls it her home away from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing