We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Treasure in Hollywood where service is king”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We used Trip Advisor reviews to select this hotel. After Disneyland we stayed a couple of days in LA. This very cool "Melrose Place" style building has been converted into a lovely boutique hotel. It was spotless, the room was fantastic, the pool was wonderful, but the service blew us away. Seasoned travellers know the drill with hotels, bored desk clerks and uniformed mistreated workers following a script that feels hollow. You want a genuine helpful wonderful hotel experience, come to this place.
Our children FREAKED out over the unlimited free snacks. I won't even admit how many times they went back to get goodies.. and maybe a few times for us.
One night we didn't feel like braving the traffic, and craved chicken and ribs. The whole front desk crew went to work to find us a place that boasted good food and delivered. They found us a place, looked up the menu on line, called to make sure the place delivered, and then walked the menu up to our room. That is one example of about 20 over the call of duty things that these folks did for us.
Parking is secure, this place is a 3 minute walk from the Chinese Theatre on Hollywood BLVD, and the pool is heated salt water and nobody is stingy with towels or anything else. My only advice is don't take a room at the front of the hotel. The automatic doors rattled us out of bed all night. Take a suite with a balcony at the back of the building overlooking the pool. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vodkaonice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,326 - 2,330 of 3,169 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2010

If you get a chance to stay here, do it! And don't skip the real Magic Castle next door. We stayed for two nights while visiting family and could not have enjoyed ourselves more. Great staff, clean room, continental breakfast, nice pool, on-site parking. The highlight, by far, was our night spent seeing performers at the Magic Castle. Dinner, card tricks, comedy, magicians, billiard balls appearing out of nowhere - amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lost_Weekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

My family (2 adults and 3 young kids) has just completed a month's travel through California & Las Vegas and stayed 6 nights at the Magic Castle Hotel, Hollywood in a 2 bedroom family suite.

Positives:
From the outside, this hotel looks like most others. But once you get inside, you quickly notice the difference – the service and attitude of all staff. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times, happy to chat and offer advice on things to see and do, and the best way to get there. Upon checking in, we were provided with a “welcoming’ glass of bubbly, which set the scene for the outstanding service we experienced throughout our stay at Magic Castle. This trip was to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, so when we arrived at the room, we were met with a chocolate cake and bottle of wine – another nice touch.

The 2 bedroom suite was very spacious, containing a queen bed in each of the 2 large bedrooms, as well as a double sofa-bed in the (large) living room. There was a fully equipped kitchen, a dining table that seated 6 comfortably, and generally plenty of space in which to make ourselves at home. Location is superb - a block from Hollywood Blvd, the Kodak Theatre, buses and other attractions. A 5 minute walk to the grocery store, less than 10 minutes to the Hollywood Highland shopping centre and metro station (2 stops to Universal Studios on the metro).

But it was the little extras that sets the Magic Castle apart. As mentioned, all staff were friendly, helpful and looked like they actually enjoyed their jobs. On tops of this, free snacks and soda/juices are available from reception, and at night there was a warm cider on offer in the lobby. The hotel offers free DVDs (great for kids after a busy day in LA), free pool-side continental breakfast with a great selection of hot and cold food and drinks, heated swimming pool. And each night, a weather card would be left on our beds (accompanied by mint chocolates) outlining tomorrow’s weather forecast. And each morning, we woke to a newspaper at our door. It’s these nice touches that you just don’t get from most hotels that sets the Magic Castle apart.

Sparkling wine on arrival, free snacks from reception, heated pool, free DVDs, lovely pool-side breakfast, weather cards every evening and newspapers every morning, nothing too much trouble for staff, cake and wine on arrival, papers and weather

Rooms are spacious, with a full kitchen, large dining and living area, though furniture is a little outdated and worn. But more than made up for by the service and location (2 stops to Universal Studios on the metro)

Negatives:
Some of the furniture is a little outdated, but certainly adequate and clean. Guests have to pay for computer access (though free wi-fi is available for those with a laptop), which was outside and poorly lit at night. Parking is $10/day (though is undercover and secure). We were fortunate (unfortunate) to be in LA on Oscars night 2010, and the room price went up by 60% for that night in comparison to the other nights of our stay.

Summary:
Next time I’m in LA, I would not hesitate to stay at the Magic Castle. The 2 bedroom suite is spacious and perfect for families. But it is the service that won me over – the attitude of the staff and the little extras offered to guests make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerroGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed at The Magic Castle Hotel for 3 nights and we enjoyed it very much. I've booked this hotel based on recommendations on Trip Advisor, and as usual I was not disappointed.
As soon as we arrived, we received a refreshing lemonade, and explanation how to get to the Chinese theater, which is within 3 minutes walk.
The room we got (for four guests, two queen beds) was large and spacious, and included a full kitchen, well equipped and accessorized. (we bought products in a nearby supermarket and prepared light meals). The room also contained a large dining corner that allowed us to sit comfortably and eat (or work, if necessary). The room had a free wireless internet connection. The bathroom was small but nice, including good quality cosmetics. The television set was little disappointing (not a flat screen) and too small for the size of the room. But anyway, we did not come to Los Angeles to watch TV.
Heated pool was great. The children swam in it every night and were very happy. After swimming, they wrapped themselves in robes of the hotel, and felt themselves like in Hollywood…
Continental breakfast was pleasant and had a reasonable variety of products. You can sit at the table by the pool or take the food on trays in the room.
There is also a free mini-bar, which we almost did not use, although it is nice and generous service.
One downside: There was some low noise (not from the street) of some appliances or equipment, sometimes sounding like a buzzing during the night.
Summary: highly recommended hotel, I am sure that I'll be back there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We spent three nights at The Magic Castle with our kids, who are 8 and 11, and it was a perfect place to stay in L.A. with our kids. The room was huge with a living room, dining are, kitchen and separate bedroom. Incredibly spacious room for the price. The first night we walked the one block to Hollywood Blvd, had dinner and went to a movie at Graumann's Chinese theater. What a great location. The people were very nice. Breakfast was basic, cereal and pastries. Staff was very nice. It is a little worn around the edges but totally clean with nice, modern furniture. If you are looking for shiny luxury this is not the place for you. Also, there are a lot of stairs to many of the rooms so if that is a problem for you this may not be your place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,102 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#5 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,286 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#22 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,188 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
826 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 355 in Los Angeles
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $281 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing