We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, better than we hoped!”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We initially drove up to the concierge of the actual Magic Castle but were quickly told to go next door to the hotel so was no problem. When you arrive, bear this is mind! Parking is under the hotel - easy, small charge but nothing drastic and very convieniant. Service here, as everyone says on TA, is outstanding. You get free snacks, 24 hours a day!! And they'll come to your room if you're too lazy to go to reception!! Such a cool touch. We always had a pack of oreos, granola bar and a can of Dr Pepper 'just in case we get peckish' on our way out and way back each day! Even when we checked out they encouraged us to get a bag full of snacks for our road trip to San Diego which we did, and that was great! The lobby drinks and snacks are lovely too, they do it every night. I had cucumber water one evening which was yummy! Another was apple cider, also yum! We had a suite and it didn't overlook the pool or have a balcony but that was fine for us as we didn't chill at the hotel during the day. Room was huge with seperate bedroom/living room/bathroom and a small kitchen linked to the living room. To be honest it was a bit wasted on us, the bedroom was so big we just used that! Pool is open 24 hours and is heated to 85 degrees. I was tempted to have a late night swim just for fun but decided against it - wiuld be nice though I imagine. Location is literally across the road from Hollywood Blvd and Walk of Fame, 2 mins away. The subway is right there too and just 1 stop from Universal Studios. You'll need a car/train to go to most other places but this is a fantastic base and wld stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,098)
There are newer reviews for Magic Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,883 - 1,887 of 3,098 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Overall the hotel is nice. The staff are fantastic and they've gone to extra lengths to help locate a lost item, which was much appreciated. The rooms were a little dated but they're clean. It's worth noting that (if you're a little silly like us), you wont be staying in the magic castle itself, or even go into it. The hotel is very central and in a great location to walk around the boulevard.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

No matter how many reviews you read about the impeccable level of service at Magic Castle Hotel you will still be blown away by how outstanding the service really is! From the word go at check in all the way through your stay the staff here go above and beyond the call of duty. For example we wanted to go to a nearby Japanese restaurant, not only did the staff of Magic Castle Hotel give us a lift up there (because there was a steep hill involed) but on arrival we had magically been booked in to the restaurant and received a tempura platter compliments of Magic Castle Hotel. That's just ONE example of a long list I could reel off. It is also worth staying just to visit the Magic Castle show itself, a fantastic night out!! Special mention has to go to Gretchen and Jocelyn the ladies at reception who were both just fantastic, so friendly, happy, helpful and chatty, such a pleasure to have stayed at MC! Would not consider staying anywhere else when next in Hollywood!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boadiceactrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in march - 2 adults 2 children. We were so impressed with the service they were always very helpful offered suggestions and got us anything we wanted. Kids loved the free snacks and DVDs. The room we had (2 bedroom suite) was very spacious the kitchen and bathroom were a little old but the other areas were great it was very clean and serviced every day. Also a really good location. If you go to la on a family trip make sure you visit the la brea tar pits and the museum - really educational and interesting

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jpgiro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed for just one night in March 2012. We had a suite that overlooked the pool- with a kitchen/dining area, living room and two bedrooms/bathrooms.
Impeccably clean, very comfortable huge beds, lovely big showers, nice quality toileteries to use! It's the little things...
A great place to stay for Hollywood. Free parking, a goodie bag of sweets n treats on your arrival- we went a bit crazy and ticked almost everything on the list. They lasted for our whole wekk's trip following our stay at the magic castle!
a very short walk (one block) to hollywood blvd. great!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,167 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,752 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#18 of 353 in Los Angeles
2,151 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,088 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $283 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing