We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location but know what to expect before hand.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Ranked #61 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Location but know what to expect before hand.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Here is my experience at this hotel for a two day long weekend trip. My wife and I arrived very late at night and found a letter from the staff with instructions on how to get into the hotel and our room since no one was around. So first lesson here is that the office is open only from 9am till around 8pm so if your going to arrive late make certain that you call before hand and get all the necessary info. This was an error on our part so I thought I should make that clear. If you have a car than take note that there is no hotel parking lot but there is a lot two blocks away that you can park that will charge $15 a night but if your a seasoned traveler you can find a place to park in the area around the hotel for free. The neighborhood is dark and silent at night but I felt safe in it so I'd say check in get the wife and kids situated and go park that car in the neighborhood and just walk back to your room and save yourself some cash.Now on with the review...after we got our instructions and got into the hotel the first thing we notice is the lift. Now my wife and I have stayed in several old buildings in Europe so the lift was not a shocker for us but if your used to modern places you must remember that this is a century old building and the lift was designed for this place. It is a birdcage type of lift that requires that you open the outer door then the cage. After you enter close the outer door and cage and that's it. Make certain that when you get to your floor to close the cage and the lift because if someone else wants to use the lift on another floor it will not work until you close the door so be courteous to others. Now the lift is a little bumpy so don't be alarmed by the ride because its perfectly safe. Up to this point nothing about the hotel had surprised or disappointed me until we got to our room. Now as I said it is an old building so of course the room is old but that wasn't the part I was disappointed about. We had paid a little extra for an ocean view but what we got was a parking lot view of the dingy apartments next door. You can see the ocean to the right when your in this room so I won't say that we didn't have a view of the ocean but in all honesty the only rooms with a true ocean view are the rooms at the front of the hotel and not the sides so I didn't think we should have paid extra for the "apartment" view. Ok enough with that and back to the room. The room size is fine for two travelers but I think the hotel could use updated furnishings.The floors were hard wood and the tub was the old porcelain kind with the clawed feet. Overall everything was clean and ready for us and worked as it should. There are lots of places for food and drinks nearby and a small convinence store a few blocks away so anything you need is close by. Being right on the boardwalk was very convenient for beach lovers but remember that it is non stop street noise all day so if your expecting peace and tranquility than the Venice boardwalk is not for you but if your expecting a very lively scene with a big cast of characters than you'll enjoyed it all immensely! All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank itsanthonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    154
    56
    23
    23
See reviews for
93
217
52
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Well, the Venice Beach Suites & Hotel is definitely as simple and easygoing as the Venice beach itself. It's a good choice for students, budget travelers and for people who want to feel what the real venice beach is. You have only two choices: to love the hotel or to hate it :)
The look of the Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reminds european hostels, but inside it is quite lovely hotel with vintage squeaky lift. The room is quite clean with small kitchen and additional folding bed for extra guest. It's little noisy from the beach during the night, but it's the part of the Venice beach experience stay.
The staff is very kind and helpful. Hotel doesn't have own parking, so you could park the car on paid public beach parking or ask the staff to give you the map of free parking places.
So in general the hotel definitely has own face and character and absolutely fit the character of the Venice beach place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

this is i think the 'truest' venice beach experience - the place is laid back, deprived of any sort of luxury, yet ultimately comfortable and friendly.
it all starts with friendly staff who do not rush to make sure you are clear where its ok to park your car to avoid fines. and even provide you complimentary upgrade to part ocean view room. then, you continue to scary looking elevator, which with some dramatic sound delivers you to your floor. then the room, understated but comfortable, with wood floors and brick walls, nice fitted kitchen and comfortable bed.
and in the morning, you look out of the window, and the palm trees and the beach say 'good morning' to you. absolutely loved this place. so laid back and relaxed.
one warning though - while standard bed is nice, avoid extra rollaway bed at al costs - its absolutely not suitable for sleeping!

Room Tip: make sure you don't use rollaway extra bed, or only use it for the friend you really hate
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarek_Yaroslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Big fan of hotel.
In the middle of Venice Beach, near the canals and overlooking the beach,
Best coffee shop within 100 feet.
Staff was extremely nice and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed here back in June and this hotel - and the whole Venice experience - has stuck with me. Straight off the bat the staff were welcoming and made us laugh. There was a problem with the room we had booked so they upgraded us to a partial ocean view. The room itself was awesome, no it's not your shiny, bleached and disenfected hotel room but that's what makes this place so special. The location is unbeatable and although there is some street noise it didn't bother us at all. We came to Venice to get amongst it and this hotel is a great starting point - the staff can advise you on anything you want to know about local life. Also anyone who complains about the lift needs their head checked - coming from Australia I have only ever seen birdcage lifts in movies so I was stoked to see it and it works just fine. If I am lucky enough to get the chance I will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkeyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyLayman, Owner at Venice Beach Suites & Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
I want to personally thank all of our prior guests for their great comments about us on Tripadvisor. We try very hard to make their Venice Beach Experience a great one. .

Our staff is the best and is willing to help our guests anyway they can. We are here to be of service to you.

Andy Layman, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#46 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#13 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#15 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#230 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Beach Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Beach Suites & Hotel

Property: Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Address: 1305 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#25 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#39 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#84 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $258 - $380
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Venice Beach Suites & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-owned historic, boutique hotel has the BEST roof-top deck at a beach-front hotel in L.A. and the ONLY beach-front balconies on the Boardwalk. All 24 of our fully-furnished studios feature a mini-kitchen, private bathroom & free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Venice Beach Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Beach Suites And Hotel
Venice Beach Hotel Los Angeles
Hotel Venice Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing