We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
1
3
10
5
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
3
10
5
32
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Came in a bit late to LA and wanted a motel near the Getty Museum. While the location fit the bill as far as proximity to the museum, its location isn't exactly the best. It's on a busy main road dotted with strip malls and fast food places, and didn't seem that great a neighborhood. The man at the front desk was friendly enough, though when I first inquired about a room he quoted us $140 or so, but when I turned to leave, he then came up with one for $99. The lobby was a bit shabby but not noticeably dirty, but when we got our luggage and walked through the (dim) adjoining hallway to the elevator, we were disgusted with the deeply stained filthy carpeting all the way through and the dirty sticky elevator - both seemed as though they hadn't been cleaned in years! Our room was passably clean but had definitely seen better days and was bare minimum with no amenities except a fridge - no hairdryer, for example, which is standard everywhere else. We informed the man at the desk about some dried spilled soda in the elevator (which was sticking to our shoes) and he said he'd take care of it, but hours later it was still there (it was finally just barely cleaned by the following afternoon, though the elevator was still just plain dirty). All in all a depressing, shabby, dirty place and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6VanNuys, Webmaster at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations in some ways. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could not satisfy you, and I hope you will try us again in the future. We’re always working to make the guest experience better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Its not the ritz, however we did feel safe there. The staff were freindly, and there were security staff there 24 hours of the day. Coffee was provided in the morning and the rooms were basic but clean very handy at a good price for visiting los angeles.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6VanNuys, Webmaster at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for being among our many satisfied guests here in the LA area. So often, only those with an issue or complaint bother to comment, and your positive feedback means a lot to us. Our team reads all comments and we are all inspired by your positive, upbeat assessments of our hotel. You can be sure we'll be here for you in the future with another great experience whenever you need us. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Of all the hotels and motels on this stretch of Sepulveda Blvd running through the San Fernando Valley, this motel property is by far the best. They have the lowest room rates and the best rooms and with the exception of the WAY MORE expensive Hampton Inn up the street, the only property with interior corridors (WAY more safe!) and a 24 Hour Front Desk staff that monitors everyone who enters the lobby in the middle of the night to ensure the safety of their guests. One Front Desk Clerk they have goes ABOVE AND BEYOND and deserves SPECIAL RECOGNITION. Motel 6 should honor, award, and cherish Shakil Ahmed, by far, the BEST Front Desk Clerk I have ever encountered through all of my very extensive travels. He REALLY CARES about the guests and will go above and beyond and do anything to make the guests happy and glad they chose this Motel 6. Shakil has AMAZING Customer Service skills and I ask the people of Motel 6 to recognize this fine employee of theirs who truly knows what outstanding HOSPITALITY is all about. Because of Shakil, we'll be coming back here again and again!

Room Tip: Lower level is best because elevator up to the other levels is halfway towards the back of the property.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEFF_K_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6VanNuys, Webmaster at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us. I’m very glad that our hotel impressed you in so many ways – and that Shakil contributed to your excellent stay with us. We focus on offering a guest experience that will satisfy a wide range of travelers. When you’re in the area again, I’m glad you will make us your first choice. We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay that you’re sure to like again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Our room is simple and not looking really clean. We doubt if the sheets have been washed? They look okay, but the smell.... We don't know. Good fridge and enough space for a low price. The man at the reception desk was really nice. Good location for seeing some sights!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank lies1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6VanNuys, Webmaster at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased that you had a generally good experience with us, but I’m very concerned that we didn’t live up to your standards or expectations because the sheets did not smell as you expected. We take great pride in our hotel, and I hope that shows. We’re also always working to get better. I hope you will give us another chance and see that we’re doing what we can to improve and enhance the guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We made a reservation on 02/28/16. We where stuck in traffic over 5 hours, I called them to please not cancel our reservation. That we where on our way, they where not able to pull our information We provide Name, Phone Number, CC # and nothing. But the next day there was a charge for $111 on our CC. We called customer service and the something happen taking over 45 min finally they where able to retrieve the info. They didn't want to refund us the $ because we didn't show up. How we where going to show up if there where no room available or we had a reservation. After taking to the owner he said there was nothing he could do.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Van Nuys, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Antonio,
We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to the transaction issue you describe. Please know that the maintenance conditions you experienced are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for your unpleasant say as a result. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews