We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy Venice Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Erwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Erwin
Ranked #10 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Classy Venice Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hotel Erwin was one of my little splurges on my last trip in SoCal...my boyfriend and I were looking forward to a boutique eclectic style experience & Hotel Erwin did not disappoint. During our stay, the hotel was undergoing some renovations however, we were not inconvenienced what so ever & the $10 restaurant vouchers in exchange for the disturbance made up for it. The service at this hotel was exceptional; Anderson the Valet was a gem. He catered to all our needs and went way beyond the duties of his job title. We also had a chance to try their new restaurant which was slightly pricey for breakfast but the choices were so interesting & yummy we didn't really care when the bill came! Another fun feature of the hotel is the rooftop deck with the cozy couches and a perfect view of Venice Beach!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sembriaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Sembriaco,

Thank you so much for posting a review to share with everyone here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and i will be sure to pass along all the great comments to the entire team including Anderson.

It's great you had a chance to try our new restaurant Barlo. The food in there is amazing and i try to eat there often. Next time the SoCal Skillet if you didn’t this time, its the best!!

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication to our guests and service.

Best,
Sean Castady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    396
    115
    38
    36
See reviews for
245
455
86
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Well, another amazing stay at Hotel Erwin last month when I needed to be in LA for work - the staff is incredible. The GM Ben is the nicest guy as well for special needs or requests. But honestly from valet to front desk to the maid-service you can't get a bad service at this place. I am headed back down at the end of this month and this time bringing people to entertain there. With great food, the rooftop deck, the beach you can be there for work, pleasure, a romantic weekend - it is all worth it!

Room Tip: Spend a little more for the partial or full ocean views - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Clare M,

On behalf of the staff at Hotel Erwin, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.

The hotel staff was pleased to hear the positive feedback you had about the hotel and I am glad to see you enjoyed you stay once again. The staff all knows you and we love to have you on propertry. We look forward to seeing you later this month.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication to our guests and service.

Best Wishes,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

A very classy hotel just steps from the freak show of the Venice Beach strip. We were upgraded to a suite which was fantastically huge, modern, and comfortable. The rooftop bar is fabulous and affords great views. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and it was delicious. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view/partial view of the beach. Higher rooms are best although you don't wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Martamom,

On behalf of the staff at Hotel Erwin, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.

The hotel staff was pleased to hear the positive feedback you had about the hotel and I am glad to see you enjoyed your suite. I am happy to hear you ate at Barlo, I make it a point to eat there at least once a week becuase the food is so amazing.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication to our guests and service.

Best Wishes,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I had a fabulous happy hour work event at Hotel Erwin’s High. We had an amazing view of all Venice, and great drinks. With the excellent help of the sales team, and Mina specifically, the event was a huge success.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_M3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Jenn_M3112,

On behalf of the staff at Hotel Erwin and High Rooftop Lounge, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.

The hotel staff was pleased to hear the positive feedback you had about the hotel and I am glad to see you enjoyed the High Rooftop louugne as well. The view from the rooftop is the best part of my day.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication to our guests and service.

Best Wishes,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I love this place! Hotel Erwin is right in the heart of Venice beach, making it such a fun & unique location. I've been here quite a few times during the Venice art crawl, and recently planned a work get-together at their rooftop lounge. If you are looking to throw a party/event, ask for Mina, the sales/events coordinator. She is super friendly & extremely helpful. The rooftop food was amazing (the sliders & the quesadillas rocked my world). I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyWestside329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scastady, Manager at Hotel Erwin, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear LadyWestside329,

On behalf of the staff at Hotel Erwin and High Rooftop Lounge, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.

The hotel staff was pleased to hear the positive feedback you had about the hotel and I am glad to see you enjoyed the High Rooftop louugne as well. We really appreciate the fact that you shared your positive experience with us and everyone else. I agree, the Sliders and Quesadilla's rock my world as well.

At Joie de Vivre we pride ourselves on providing authentic hospitality and superior service and we thank you for choosing Hotel Erwin for your trip to Venice Beach. Should you return to Venice in the future I sincerely hope you will consider giving us the opportunity to show you our dedication to our guests and service.

Best Wishes,
Sean Castady
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#13 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#70 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Venice On The Beach Hotel
#43 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#4 of 11 in Marina del Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Erwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Erwin

Property: Hotel Erwin
Address: 1697 Pacific Avenue, Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90291-3613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#10 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#23 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#27 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#31 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $425 - $625
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Erwin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an energized, personable, legendary guest experience and luxurious escape in an unbeatable location Hotel Erwin is your home away from home. Located in Venice Beach, California, Hotel Erwin overlooks the Pacific Ocean and endless expanses of sand and entertainment. While relaxing with us be sure to check out our breathtaking rooftop bar High and to take in a sunset that will last a lifetime. Our restaurant, Barlo, serves up breakfast and dinner and provides a stimulating alternative to the normal bland hotel dining experience. Close to Santa Monica, Los Angeles, Culver City, Beverly Hills and Marina del Rey, this Venice Beach luxurious hotel is your doorway to explore the beauty of Southern California. Nearby freeways and Los Angeles International airport give you easy access to come and go. A mere 200 feet from the sand and overlooking the famous boardwalk, Hotel Erwin is a pure Venice Beach experience with a level of customer service excellence that simply can't be beat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Erwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erwin Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing