We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Universal Hilton!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Ranked #56 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Worth
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at Universal Hilton!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a birthday get away. The hotel is beautiful. The staff was helpful in making reservations for dinner and directions. We had a wonderful 4 night stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherylschwoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,446
    1,288
    585
    216
    141
See reviews for
1,693
876
134
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed at Hilton to visit Universal Studios. Bed was comfortable. Location to Universal Studio & Citywalk within walking distance + there is bus service every 10 min until park closes. Did not opt for the breakfast buffet & resulting service was inept. Waiter didnt ceck on us or food, we had to ask where it was & when it arrived it was cold & order wrong. We complained & instead of new food it went into the microway & was barely warm. And did I mention that my Americano coffee was cold too? Expected more, got less. Bar staff was good the night before. Should have eaten in the bar for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8tyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The rooms are pretty nice. The bed was decently comfortable. I have stayed on much nicer beds in hotels. The room was contemporary. My one complaint about the room was the lack of hot water. I was up at about 7:00am because I had a business meeting and the water would not get warm. Figuring that most people would still be asleep, you would think that they would have more hot water. I ate at the breakfast buffet and was disappointed. It was overpriced and not very good. Most of the food was cold and dried out. For $25 dollars I expected a good breakfast, but felt like it was Denny's quality if even that. The biggest pro of the hotel is the location. You are within about 5-10 minutes walking distance to Universal Studios and City Walk. No need for taxis.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed here FREE ( on my hilton club points) for just the one night in January when visiting LA, we were upgraded into the executive suite on the top floor and the room was dull and shabby. The room was of an average size with a poor view. The bed was hard and the bathroom was small with dated decor and fittings, and this was meant to be better than their normal rooms!! The service was very good and the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was appalling and would certainly never pay the money for it. I am not a fussy person and for a free night it really was fine, and probably would return if it was another free night, but I would not pay the prices they charge for a room. I understand the location pushes up the room prices but I am sure you can find cleaner and more comfortable rooms for a similar if not smaller price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J33PY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Right next to universal studios theme park, it is an excellent hotel for families, We got a room on a higher floor facing hills and pool. Nice Pool/hot tub open till midnight. There is a shuttle to universal studios from the hotel. Hotel also surprised with complimentary fruit/cheese platter. Rooms were very comfortable. We were few hours beyond the permitted daily time for parking but they did not charge us for the extra hours. Hotel check in staff and service were nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask a higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arun0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#119 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,643 reviews
The Garland
#12 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,030 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#91 of 350 in Los Angeles
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Universal City Area
Nite Inn at Universal City
Nite Inn at Universal City
#140 of 350 in Los Angeles
178 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City

Property: Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Address: 555 Universal Hollywood Drive, Los Angeles, CA 91608-1001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#33 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $274 - $571
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy AAA Four Diamond facility with over six acres of landscape in the Hollywood Hills and stunning views of glittering Los Angeles. The hotel provides a sophisticated experience combined with a superior level of service. A welcomed respite, each spacious guest room and suite is flavored with class and comfort, showcasing valued amenities for the well-traveled guest. Continually working toward greater sustainability, the property was also recently awarded the Gold level certified by Green Seal for environmental lodging, The Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City hotel is located steps from Universal Studios Hollywood and CityWalk Los Angeles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Los Angeles / Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Hilton Universal City
Universal Hilton
Los Angeles Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing