We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Room and Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #90 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Room and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great location. The lobby is fabulous. Good beds, great pool, lovely service, and the food is fine. Don't get the fish tacos though. I enjoyed staying here. The decor is old in an oddly lovable way.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeboOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    346
    207
    84
    53
See reviews for
287
242
54
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sportmen's Lodge February 10-11. We were in the LA area to make a delivery, and figured we would stay the night and have some fun in the big city. The Sportsmen's is close to many great restaurants and bars on Ventura Blvd, so we didn't have to travel far. We enjoyed a lovely meal at Ahi Sushi the next block over, and had great cadillac margaritas at MexiCali a few blocks down the other way. Yes, the hotel is older and slightly warn, but the place has a great funky vibe going on. The lobby bar was only open in the evening, but we enjoyed great company with our fellow travelers over delicious mai tais and conversation about LA and Studio City. We had such a great day at the Sportsmen's, we decided to stay another night and soak up more of the city.

The hotel is conveniently located with many restaurants, bars and shops within a few blocks. There's a grocery store across the street for those forgotten items, and it's just a few blocks off the freeway, making it very convenient.

There was a some type of movie being filmed when we first got there, but in no way did we feel it distracted from the common areas of the hotel. The second night there was a huge class reunion party in the gardens by the pool, but the kids were having a great time, and quite frankly the noise of their revelry was downright cheerful.

The staff we dealt with at check-in and other times were all very helpful and pleasant. When we initially checked in, the gentleman at the front desk asked if we had a AAA card, and he was able to give us a great discount with our card. He didn't have to do that!

All in all, we've decided any time we come back to the Studio City area, we will definitely stay at the Sportsmen's Lodge. I was hesitant to reserve here initially, due to the myriad of unpleasant reviews, but I can say we were very happy with every aspect of our stay -- thanks Sportsmen's for a great weekend!! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsilva1965, General Manager at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your recent review and your visit. I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your business stay so much that you decided to stay with us for another night of relaxation and fun! I am happy you were able to experience the hotel and all it has to offer, including our magnificent staff. I Thank you for your feedback and special recognition. I hope you come and stay with us again soon…for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed here one night and it was a fine accommodation- a bit worn, but still fun. Great location on Ventura Blvd in Studio City in central location in San fernanco Valley. Lots of history relative to Hollywood actors visiting there and trout-fishing in bygone days in the golden era. Bobby Kennedy spent his last night there before his assassination. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. Worth the stay just to see photos of glamorous actors of the past who stayed there back in 20's thru 60's.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agrathwol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I travel to LA once a year and always looking for "the hotel", I really wanted this place to be it. Looked good upon check-in, older, little funky- parking was easy.Was told no continenal breakfast disappointed, also thought travel book said rooms had frig and microwave, there weren't any. Funny- moldy, antiseptic smell in our hallway to our room. I could ignore that, if the rest were good. The room was fine, as promsed pool acess. The heated pool was great, the jacuzzi has a warning sign that it will strip your hair color. Couldn't stand the smell, it burned my eyes. Don't think it has to be that harsh, other places manage to tone that down. The walls are very thin, we could hear our neighbors tv. But all of this isn't the worst of it, at 6am on Sat morning we were wakened by noise outside our room, workers were sitting up tables for some event right in front of our pool acess. I called the front desk to ask what was the deal, they denied anything going on out by the pool. I said I see 6 round tables- oh those tables, the front desk said. Oh, tgey offered to move me, I was sick and I was leaving the next day, I wasn't moving. Yes, I could squeeze by the table in a wet bathing suit, but I wouldn't. There were other places to set up the lunch for the group there, why in my pool acess?? I happened to be very sick before their lunch, so I never got a chance to be inconvienced by the people. That said, I had to stay in my room that night, and I was jolted out of sleep at 8pm, by "Karens " dj. I wish I wouldn't have been sick, I would have joined the party. There is an open area and the noise just travels in between the building and bounces around. It was so loud, luckliy, I had ear plugs with me, so I could sleep my sickness away. Never been sick in a hotel room and I had the misfortune to be stuck in my room here. Bottom line at this place, EVENTS COME FIRST. If you've only paid for a room, and are a guest you are out of luck. I really wanted this place to be "IT", my hotel in LA. But I don't think so.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckiesandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsilva1965, General Manager at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your thorough review. We appreciate your kind words about our accomodations. While we regret any inconvenience your experience may have caused, we do want you to know that we greatly appreciate our guest guest feedback so that we may constanly improve the quality of the services we provide. Thank you again for your comments and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel.
Ron Silva
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Great hotel, they have recently upgraded the interiors of the lobby and the rooms.

Room Tip: Every room that i have stayed in have been great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsilva1965, General Manager at Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel. We will be looking forward to your next visit. If you need any assistance on your futeure reservation, please feel free to contact me

Ron Silva
Hotel Manager
818-255-9800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
The Garland
#12 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#108 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#107 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
South San Fernando Valley
Mikado Hotel
Mikado Hotel
#130 of 347 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel

Property: Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel
Address: 12825 Ventura Boulevard, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $228 - $340
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Wotif.com so you can book your Sportsmen's Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsmen`s Hotel Los Angeles
Sportsmens Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing