We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Ranked #93 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was recently on a whirlwind trip to the USA for the love of the NBA.
We decided to watch a few games at the staples center, It was about a 20 min walk from there.
LA being such a big city it is probably advisable having a car to see all the attractions.
However as far as downtown is concerned it is pretty central.
50 dollar cab ride from the airport.
Friendly staff, clean hotel, it has a lot of history and character.
The concierge was only to helpful for any of our silly questions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    1,061
    709
    360
    219
See reviews for
435
1,008
195
754
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch ,New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed 4 nights and had problems from the start. I have booked a king and got to my room to find I was in a double/double. I went back to reception to be told its my fault as no non smoking king rooms were not available so they had given me a double non smoking and that smoking preference is not guaranteed. After having to complain to the manager, they agreed to reduce my room rate until a king room was available the next day. I was not surprised to hear over the days when I was near reception other customers unhappy at the rooms allocated and requesting room changes.

The hotel lobby itself is all glamourous and glitsy but the rooms themselves are an embarrassment for this brand. The bath was stained badly ( in both rooms I had), the plaster around the walls was cracking and the bathroom didn't even have a door handle inner. I understand that rooms do wear out, but this was to the standard of a budget motel, not a high quality hotel as they claim to be.

It has the big hotel brand set backs as well like having to pay for internet (now standard as free in most other hotels) and no fridge in the room to put a few drinks.

On the positive side, the bed was comfortable and the house keeping kept the room as clean as they could in light of the high level of wear and tear to walls and paintwork.

For the price, I would strongly suggest you look elsewhere. If thou can get the room at a good rate (closer to the $100 level), then give it a go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Nevada City, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We were there for a quick overnight, but we enjoyed the "experience." Staying in a hotel that's a throw back to the days of Hollywood grandeur was a unique, fun time for us. The room was your average room, with a unique decor (again, a nod to the days gone by). The bathroom is tiny, and our tub had peeling paint.

We were "promised" fluffy bathrobes, but our room didn't have any. We were also promised upon booking our room that we would be on floors 3-5, but our room was on the 11th floor. Not that we really cared about that. Another "negative" if you can call it that, was we were promised "Club Access" which was complimentary cocktail hour fare, and breakfast in the morning. What they don't tell you until you arrive is that children may not partake in this, because it's set up for business travelers. My 10 year old didn't mind, but it would have been nice if everyone in my "party" had been able to enjoy the breakfast.

What my daughter did enjoy was the pool, and we spent a good part of our brief visit at the Biltmore Health Club. I thought the lobby was breathtaking and the staff very courteous.

The one BEWARE I will share with possible visitors: DO NOT STAY NEAR THE ELEVATORS. In fact, if you get to your room and find yourself close to the elevators, insist on another room. Your hotel room will offer you no sound buffering, and you'll hear the "ding" of the elevators all night long. Unfortunately for us, another guest on our floor (only a room or two away from ours), came into the hallway and was loud, drunk and banging on doors for several minutes, waking us up and putting a damper on the "relaxing" mood the hotel had created for us. I can't blame the Biltmore for that, but beware, you will hear everything going on in the hallway. Be sure to turn on the rooms A/C and it will drown out some of the noise - that's how we survived the night.

And lastly - while very courteous and helpful - the VALET service will run you $40 per night, so be prepared for the cost of parking in Los Angeles. I had done my research and expected it, but if it was a surprise I would have been bummed out.

Overall, just 3 stars because of noise, and a few details the staff overlooked. On the positive side, it was neat to be able to show my daughter a bit of living history, in this grand looking hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid staying anywhere near the elevators or you won't sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Good value - rooms are older but have been remodeled. Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is terrific. The decor is breathtaking, as is the hospitality and service.
The rooms large and fully serviced. Towels etc changed on a daily basis
It had a good quality swimming pool, and a gym.
The location is ideal for catching the Metro (which is really cheap 25cents per line)
Downtown is only 15-20 mins walk away, where you will find lots of shopping and eating places. However, if you want a really good restraurant locally, there is not much choice.
We did not eat in the hotel, so cannot comment on this.

Room Tip: From where we were located, all the rooms seemed ideal. Lifts were more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BREVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#31 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,114 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
693 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#55 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,262 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles

Property: Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Address: 506 South Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90071-2602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $176 - $493
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 683
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Millennium Biltmore Hotel has been a legendary Los Angeles landmark since 1923. With exquisite Spanish-Italian Renaissance architecture, including stunning hand-painted ceilings, it's rich history is most noted for its connection with the Oscars - the founding banquet for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in the Crystal Ballroom in 1927, where the original "Oscar" statuette was sketched on a Biltmore napkin, and eight Academy Awards banquets were held in the Biltmore Bowl during the '30s and '40s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Nozio Netplan srl, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Los Angeles Millennium Biltmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing