We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni Los Angeles downtown...Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Ranked #6 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Omni Los Angeles downtown...Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I stayed February 2 to 6 at The Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza. I read many of the reviews posted on the Tripadvisor and decided this would be a great hotel choice for our first stay in downtown LA. In the past we stayed in the West Hollywood area and loved the Magic Castle Hotel for friendliness, location and overall retro feel. We were not disappointed in The Omni and my husband stated each day wow you found a great hotel!

Pros: It's all pros!
Beautiful room with a king bed, sofa and chairs. A desk with great fast speed connections for my husband to keep in touch with our company at home in Canada. A previous reviewer recommended joining the Omni Club for extras...great advice! We were able to check-in on line so when we arrived our room keys were waiting. Check out is just as easy!

The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Having a courtesy car that drives hotel guests within 3 miles of the hotel was perfect for a downtown stay...we didn't need to rent a car for this trip. This trip was about exploring downtown and the hotel is in a great location.

The hotel bed was so comfortable and we had no street noise...outstanding in a hotel located downtown in a large city!

Third floor offers a full breakfast restaurant or Starbucks for a quick coffee and morning snack if on the run. We enjoyed the option of both. The hotel's main restaurant looked inviting and on our next visit we will book a dinner and also enjoy the wonderful bar patio!

We will definitely stay at The Omni again....lots more to say but not enough space...a very well kept and clean hotel ...not one negative to say! We visit LA at least 2 to 3 times a year and when downtown this is my new first choice!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maynards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgrLosAngeles, Executive Office at Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay with us! It's wonderful to hear that you had such an enjoyable vacation. We hope you had a great time exploring downtown, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,207
    1,064
    219
    60
    38
See reviews for
724
1,073
212
1,072
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Omni Plaza hotel this past January for a few days. Immediately we were greeted warmly upon check-in and looked forward to our stay. Our king room faced California Plaza and we enjoyed looking out at the MOCA as well.

The valet attendants were always a pleasure and anytime I had a question for the front desk it was answered quickly and professionally. Being a member of the Omni Select Guest Program is strongly recommended (it's free) and makes for extra touches that are really appreciated during your stay.

Our room was always freshly turned down and smelled great. Every morning we awoke to our complimentary beverage, and even splurged on our last day for a reasonably priced croissant with jam. Beautiful hotel with some greenery nearby as well. It is true that there isn't too much nearby other than the museum and Disney Hall but the dining in the hotel is quite yummy as an alternative to trekking around Los Angeles.

Basically, if you can swing it, stay at this fantastic hotel. You definitely won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asiae2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here to see the opera at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion. Hotel was reasonably priced, clean, convenient and lovely. Bed, sheets, pillows all very comfortable, staff was very welcoming and friendly. The Dorothy Chandler Pavilion was just a couple of blocks walk away and although the hotel did offer to drive us there and pick us up in their town car without charge, we felt we could handle the 2 blocks ourselves. Highly recommend this hotel. We had absolutely no complaints and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryFolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was just a one night stop-over on our way from the UK to San Diego. We loved this hotel. Lovely quiet room with a comfy bed and a great big bathroom. The bar served really good food and the bar tender was friendly and welcoming. There was also a pianist who played 'When Irish Eyes are Smiling' when he heard where we were from!
For a city centre hotel the Omni also had a great outdoor area with seating and heaters.
Not much going on in the immediate locale, i.e. restaurants, bars etc but we would definitely come back next time in LA.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Squirrel-Nutkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
321 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I really like this hotel. It's across the street from my company's LA offices so it's incredibly convenient for me, but really if you need to be anywhere in the northern end of downtown (Bunker Hill/City Hall/Disney Concert Hall) it's a short walk. Even in other parts of downtown I would choose it because it's quiet, elegant, comfortable, clean, with excellent service. I've never eaten in the restaurant but the attached bar is excellent with a menu suitable for dining by yourself. My only criticism is that there is a fee for the wifi - I wish the US hotel industry would get over it and stop charging for that. Not sure it would be the best tourist hotel as downtown isn't where tourists want to be, but as a business hotel, it's great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basiluzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
The Garland
#11 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Hotel Los Angeles
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza

Property: Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Address: 251 S Olive St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $303 - $710
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Los Angeles At California Plaza Hotel Los Angeles
Los Angeles Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing