We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HOTEL INSIDE THE CHINATOWN” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Ranked #85 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A HOTEL INSIDE THE CHINATOWN”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

The biggest advantage of staying in this hotel is the Thai Massage centre located within the same property owned and run by a Thai lady. She rocks. It is a purely genuine place for a very nice and genuine massage at a fairly good price. I had a three hour session there.
The rooms in the hotel are horrible, breakfast is from a kiosk and is very substandard. I feel it is a smudge on Best Western's reputation to have given accredition to such properties. The china town is very silent unlike the others and there is no room view at all.

Room Tip: Only for people who are on business or visiting for medical reasons as it is opposite to a hospital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAJESH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    165
    103
    45
    29
See reviews for
143
108
42
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

The little mall at the entrance to Chinatown has a medium size pharmacy, A wellness/massage clinic, a post office, a martial arts studio, a tiny coffee shop that has on offer perhaps 1000 snack and candy offerings as well as pizza and bubble tea, and finally, back in the corner, mostly hidden by the elevator, is the hotel registration office. Ah.

The Dragon Gate Inn has a great attitude. It is an aged building (60's or earlier). The rooms are well maintained and comfortable with coffee station and upgraded furnishings. It was entirely suitable to our needs.

They offer continental breakfast which, although it is served in the tiny coffee shop in the mall, offers lots of choices including fresh made belgian waffles. All served and manned by cheerful staff who are anxious to please.

Our toilet backed up the first time we flushed. The hotel seemed to be expecting this. Almost immediately they sent a man with a snake who had the plumbing back to functioning in moments. I have almost never seen such efficiency. :o)

We chose this location because it was the closest property to UnionStation that our travel agent recommended. We left Los Angeles on the Amtrak Coast Starlite. That is a different review.

Room Tip: A 1960's glass elevator is a kick to ride in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaddyHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Very close to Union Station, it was a $7 taxi ride from the Amtrak station to the Hotel. Got in late on Saturday night (came down from Canada) and on Sunday morning I needed emergency medical care. Not the easiest thing to find on a Sunday morning in Chinatown, but a nice young man in the Post Office adjacent to the lobby found us a walk-in clinic only a block away where I received excellent care from Dr. Paul Chu. Hotel was also only a couple of blocks from Olvera Street. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi is not strong in this hotel (but it is free), and rooms near the front of the hotel cannot pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Wow, who knew LA had it’s own Chinatown? Guess a lot of people do, but I think of “Chinatown” as being a San Francisco treat, not LA. I luckily discovered this place by accident because I wanted a hotel within walking distance of LA’s Amtrak train station. (BTW, Thank you for clicking “Review Helpful” button!) This little Best Western with a Chinese Twist is the Golden Garden of this LA burrow.

Room size on the large side, get one of the ones with the bay window for the extra sq ft. In room coffee maker good, average Best Western bath and amenities, bed was the Best Western average comfy with unique Chinese look bedspreads.

The room was appointed to the Best Western standard with all Chinese décor, quite refreshing and different. My room had hardwood floors, first time I’ve seen that but it was nice to be able to just glance around and tell things were clean the wood floors could hide no dust or dirt! I wonder why they didn’t choose bamboo?

Take an early morning walk or jog. When I started at 8 it looked like any other urban cityscape. By 10 I could have been in a busy street in Hong Kong! Watching the blossom of culture was a sight to see.

Boy, was I ever glad I asked the front desk for a good Chinese food recommendation! Just behind this place in the next block is a little secret favorite of celebrities. I saw 2 at lunch! Yang Chow also had really well above average food and valet parking and good prices. The owner greeted everybody like they were a celebrity!

In European or International style the Hotel’s Courtyard (that the original Best Western architect no doubt intended for the missing pool) is now a custom feature: All ground floor rooms were converted to small businesses, a pharmacy, an eye Dr. and convenience store/café all handy for travelers.

The Courtyard has a nice collection of umbrella covered tables and the little convenience store/café is where you will get the Best Western continental breakfast. Be sure to get a voucher for each guest when you check in so you do not have to wait at the front desk to get one in the morning.

Room Tip: Yang Chow right behind hotel in the next block is a little secret favorite restaurant of celebrities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlemBrimstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this place. The room was big and clean. It had excellent parking facilities and many amenities in the area. The breakfast was ok, and the ambiance is good. The location was excellent for where I had to be. The price was fair and the staff was very, very friendly. It was nice to stay in the quaint Chinatown. Lots of good food and supermarkets around the hotel. In the room you will find a big TV, Big Fridge, coffeemaker and a sink separate from the bathroom (which I like).
The location is near the freeway, which gives you great access to all other LA -areas. If you only need to be downtown, you won't even need a car, everything is within walking distance. Also, keep in mind that there are several METRO RAIL stations in the vicinity (walking distance) of this hotel, so even without a car, you will be able to get around LA easily when staying at this place. I really recommend this place considering price/location/room!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank childonmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Metro Plaza Hotel
#140 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#50 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Royal Pagoda Motel
#153 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express - Los Angeles Downtown West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Address: 818 N Hill St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#68 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $252 - $412
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing