We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap getaway”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I decided to stay at the place for one reason only. $22 a night stay. I knew what I was getting into when I booked a place. Only requirement that I had was that they provide free parking for my rental car.

The place is pretty easy to find. Within walking distance from the heart of Hollywood.
Parking can be a bit of hassle but usually there is a spot for everyone.

Room is a college dorm styled with two bunk beds per room. The whole experience really depends on who your roommates are.

For those who are looking for cheap stay in LA and don't mind sharing a room, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starboard75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    166
    90
    33
    28
See reviews for
11
82
105
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Intended for drunk, young party animals. Very ageist. And run by ageists. not to be recommended to others

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

If this is your first time in LA, you and your friends don't know anyone, or you are travelling alone, this is PERFECT. The hostel has activities every night, they take you out clubbing and everyone is super friendly! The only downside for us is that we booked a tour with them to go to disneyland, and although the tour bus arrived an hour late, we still had a blast. (if you book a tour, make sure you nag them to confirm and double check it.) Oh and also sometimes it does get a little hard to sleep at night due to the traffic noise, but i mean its hollywood.

Me and my friend booked a private room. Its definitely average but at least you get your own bathroom and dont need to share! and seeing as we are girls, this is very important :)

They provide 'breakfast' daily too but this is merely just toast and cereal, nothing too fancy. If you're looking for a budget stay and nothing too dodgey, this is the one.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This is my favourite hostel ever, its such great craic theyre all gas! Come here lad if your in to partying, free food and a laugh awh yeah!!

Stayed here only recently, the staff went out of their way to help us. the receptionist Mirjanna I think thats her name helped us with our tour and also made a great effort to choose one to suit us.

location location location thats what they say and its true we were 5 mins away from the metro, which saved us a small fortune in taxi fares !!!

Oh yeah and there were two supermarkets with great bargains and if you like a drink (or two) you wont be disapointed!

OMG the entertainment was extremley entertaining. al and paddy would put comanders in the marines to shame the way they organise partys they know the best spots keep an eye out for celebs!....

if going outs not your thing (loser) theres ping pong and fooze ball and the movie room zzzzzzz but watever suits..

They had breckky too was great and FREE being the key word, my god it changed every day too and your greeted by the friendliest girl ever she made my day every morning Petra. how was she so upbeat in the morning ill never know. Hiya if your readling this ill be back!! oh yeah free pizza too nice one!!

Amandas grand she was so smilely constantly she recomended shopping in Urban outfitters her favourite shop i loved it thanks,:)

anyways so laim writing a review but you gotta go was seriously great i cant wait to get back there!!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Pick the room with the kitchen only a dew dollars ect and it defo comes in handy!! I wuda been lost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLass284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The location isn't too bad, it's about 15-20 minutes walk to the 'main' bit of boulevard. The room we had (6 bed dorm) was quite nice and didn't have any complaints, we had our own kitchen area which was clean, as was the bathroom, towels were included which is always a bonus with hostels. There were quite a few activities arranged although these were so poorly arranged that we had to see the funny side. We stayed here on the 4th of July and signed up to go and watch the fireworks from the observatory; instead we ended up driving round the Hollywood Hills on/off for about two hours which had everyone in hysterics, it was that badly organized we had to laugh. The woman on reception was a little annoying as we had just arrived off a 13 hour flight and just wanted to check in and get to our room but because there were one or two people asking questions about trips and activities she asked us to go and sit outside and she would be with us in 5 minutes - that turned into more like 30. But all in all was an okay place to stay and the free breakfast was decent too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#24 of 351 in Los Angeles
373 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#110 of 351 in Los Angeles
667 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
USA Hostels Hollywood
#2 of 88 in Los Angeles
976 reviews
Hollywood
Orange Drive Hostel
Orange Drive Hostel
#8 of 88 in Los Angeles
336 reviews
Hollywood
Walk of Fame Hostel
Walk of Fame Hostel
#10 of 88 in Los Angeles
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bungalow Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bungalow Hollywood

Property: Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Address: 5920 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5410
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $66 - $195
Hotel Class:1 star — Banana Bungalow Hollywood 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hostel is a very popular international destination with a great location. We provide awesome rooms and dorms with many conveniences so you will definitely be comfortable. Our staff is cool and friendly, they will hook you up with Hollywood and LA. In the morning you can enjoy a free breakfast in our Tiki Garden, meet up with other travelers and plan your day. We offer many daytime activities or you can venture out and explore the city. Then in the evening we have nightly gatherings where you can meet and greet new people, plan your night and then head out into the coolest party city in California. We also offer many night time activities or you can hit the town with your new international friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banana Bungalow Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bungalow Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing