We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
Nearby Hotels
USD 335*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 330*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian Los Angeles Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
USD 399*
USD 381*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 147*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 325*
USD 273*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 340*
USD 314*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 420*
USD 386*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 378*
USD 332*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 404*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
USD 485*
USD 451*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
111
177
96
38
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
177
96
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree dinnerown bathrooma private double roomgriffith observatoryfree parkingchinese theatrethe room was niceshort staysanta monicavenice beachmetro stationuniversal studiosbeverly hillshosteldormfamebackpackers
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Intended for drunk, young party animals. Very ageist. And run by ageists. not to be recommended to others

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

If this is your first time in LA, you and your friends don't know anyone, or you are travelling alone, this is PERFECT. The hostel has activities every night, they take you out clubbing and everyone is super friendly! The only downside for us is that we booked a tour with them to go to disneyland, and although the tour bus arrived an hour late, we still had a blast. (if you book a tour, make sure you nag them to confirm and double check it.) Oh and also sometimes it does get a little hard to sleep at night due to the traffic noise, but i mean its hollywood.

Me and my friend booked a private room. Its definitely average but at least you get your own bathroom and dont need to share! and seeing as we are girls, this is very important :)

They provide 'breakfast' daily too but this is merely just toast and cereal, nothing too fancy. If you're looking for a budget stay and nothing too dodgey, this is the one.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This is my favourite hostel ever, its such great craic theyre all gas! Come here lad if your in to partying, free food and a laugh awh yeah!!

Stayed here only recently, the staff went out of their way to help us. the receptionist Mirjanna I think thats her name helped us with our tour and also made a great effort to choose one to suit us.

location location location thats what they say and its true we were 5 mins away from the metro, which saved us a small fortune in taxi fares !!!

Oh yeah and there were two supermarkets with great bargains and if you like a drink (or two) you wont be disapointed!

OMG the entertainment was extremley entertaining. al and paddy would put comanders in the marines to shame the way they organise partys they know the best spots keep an eye out for celebs!....

if going outs not your thing (loser) theres ping pong and fooze ball and the movie room zzzzzzz but watever suits..

They had breckky too was great and FREE being the key word, my god it changed every day too and your greeted by the friendliest girl ever she made my day every morning Petra. how was she so upbeat in the morning ill never know. Hiya if your readling this ill be back!! oh yeah free pizza too nice one!!

Amandas grand she was so smilely constantly she recomended shopping in Urban outfitters her favourite shop i loved it thanks,:)

anyways so laim writing a review but you gotta go was seriously great i cant wait to get back there!!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Pick the room with the kitchen only a dew dollars ect and it defo comes in handy!! I wuda been lost without it.:)
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishLass284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The location isn't too bad, it's about 15-20 minutes walk to the 'main' bit of boulevard. The room we had (6 bed dorm) was quite nice and didn't have any complaints, we had our own kitchen area which was clean, as was the bathroom, towels were included which is always a bonus with hostels. There were quite a few activities arranged although these were so poorly arranged that we had to see the funny side. We stayed here on the 4th of July and signed up to go and watch the fireworks from the observatory; instead we ended up driving round the Hollywood Hills on/off for about two hours which had everyone in hysterics, it was that badly organized we had to laugh. The woman on reception was a little annoying as we had just arrived off a 13 hour flight and just wanted to check in and get to our room but because there were one or two people asking questions about trips and activities she asked us to go and sit outside and she would be with us in 5 minutes - that turned into more like 30. But all in all was an okay place to stay and the free breakfast was decent too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Our experience at the banana bungalow was great.
The staff were very friendly and assisted us with all of our tourist activities that we requested information on.
Great location right next to the start of the Hollywood walk of fame.
There were many activities organized by the staff including social party nights.
This is a cheaply priced accommodation with adequate amenities and accommodation.
Noah and Al were very friendly staff members which made us feel welcomed and involved.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpan1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews