We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very gracious hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Meditation Room
Meditation Room
Meditation Room
Meditation Room
Meditation Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
Laundry
Bikes
Bikes
Patio and Fire Pit
Patio and Fire Pit
Patio and Fire Pit
Patio and Fire Pit
Patio and Fire Pit
Patio and Fire Pit
Garden dining w Outdoor kitchen
Firepit
Venice Canals a short walk away
Entrance to paradise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Los Angeles, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Charles R...
Delphos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very gracious hosts!”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife and I flew into LA late evening and when we finally arrived we found the house to be exactly as described. It was very inviting and a beautiful and very well kept home. Judy was actually pulling into the drive as we arrived and gave us a tour of our area of the home and explained everything. While her dogs barked at first they snuggled up after meeting us. The house was very clean, the drive to the beach was only a few blocks, and Judy was available should we have needed anything and was a very gracious host. I recommend this place to anybody and if we ever come back to the area we will check this listing first!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the bed was very comfortable
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Loved having both of you as my guests. Come back any time! Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warmtripp...
Snohomish, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great People & Very Convenient”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The home we stayed in was very beautiful and Judy was very welcoming and friendly. We met other guests with whom we will stay in touch. As advertised, the home was within biking and even walking distance to the beach -- if you don't mind walking a bit. We were on vacation, so the exercise was great for us. The the room we stayed in was comfortable (although a bit warm) and could have been more updated when compared with the rest of the house. There were a few more rules about using the kitchen than we would have liked, as we are generally late night people, but Judy was pretty lax about enforcing them, I have to say.

All in all it was a very pleasant trip, in large measure because of Judy and her home. We would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and host
Liked least: The temperature of the room and the kitchen rules
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
It was great having you as my guest. Please come back again! Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesrome
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Un-met expectation”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Truthfully, when we booked the rental it was based on some pictures, and the header “One bedroom vacation HOME.” It Wasn’t till after we paid by credit card did we see this was a home to SHARE ( about the 2nd paragraph of detailed description) . After consideration of the benefits: use of living room and kitchen, breakfast provided -and weariness of looking . and we decided not to go through the aggravation of canceling. Perhaps this might be a pleasant visit..

The physical description as stated was honest. And it was a very nice place. It was the items not mentioned in the ad, that turned us off. Shortly after we arrived, we invited in my son and his wife for a very short drop-by because they were in the neighborhood We were told (after they left in 5 min,) that no guests were allowed .. not in ad. Later that evening, as she passed by we asked if we could use the living room. We were told there was a TV in our bed room. Breakfast provided was food for breakfast … you make it yourself.. also not in the ad. Also not mentioned in the ad , was another room she also rented out. We had no key to our bedroom. And yes, there were other guests –two different ones during our stay.

In the ad she indicated no pets accepted. With two dogs and 1or2 cats ( we saw only one of the cats) I could see why . The animals were pleasant enough, but I have a mild allergy to pet fur. ( certainly we should have been for=warned before booking,). The dogs had a propensity of pooping on the brick walkway from gate to the house. I only stepped in it once., and successfully avoided it two more times

There was no carelessness in crafting this listing . The owner said she was a writer, and her personal web site indicated she was a motivational speaker. She knows how to communicate. This is attested to by the well written and unambiguous “Rule of the house” presented to us shortly after we arrived, basically explaining all the issues mentioned above ( except the dog poop and non use of living room ). Sadly this was a bait and switch

Suggestions to the owner. In your listing get rid the deceptions and important omissions. Make sure expectations implied in the listing will be met in reality. Train your dogs to poop anywhere but the easily accessible brick path. Give your guest a key to their room when other guest may be present. Then you will have perhaps fewer but happier customers..

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
I can understand if your expectations were unmet because you didn't read the description of the place as you thought this was a complete house for you (and all the people you want to bring over) rather than a house share. You are my first negative review which saddens me, as I pride myself on giving my guests a great vacation experience in a gorgeous house. And as you say, " The physical description as stated was honest. And it was a very nice place." I wish you had read my description. As anyone can see from other reviews, people love staying with me and come back each year. Most people love using the kitchen and I supply eggs, bagels, waffles, and more. Most people love hanging with my dogs when they are away from home. Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armin K
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Beach Suite in Venice”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great location to the beach by cycle or car. Very quite neighborhood which is extremely safe as well. The house itself is very charming and Judy is a fabulous hostess. The room was very comfortable and we slept like a baby. it takes not more than 20 to 30 minutes to get to the downtown area.. She has bikes that one can use as there are bike trails that go down to the beach. We would definitely like to stay in the same place again if we ever visited L.A..

Thank you very much indeed Juyi for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and garden itself
Liked least: Nothing to mention
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Please come back soon Armin. I so enjoyed having you and your wife here. Congrats on your new family! Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
233jaded
1 review
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Judy was a wonderful host, friendly and professional, the room was clean and nice, kitchen had everything you need the garden was very beautiful. Location was close to everything, it was a perfect getaway. Will come back Judy :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Jade was the perfect guest! Come back soon! Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing