We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly hotel , excellent location, great manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Venice On The Beach Hotel
Ranked #59 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We chose an Ocean View room at this hotel for a 3 night stopover in LA and were not disappointed. Our flight was due to arrive late in the evening so we informed the hotel in good time and found Greg the owner- manager very friendly and most helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is in a great location and as close to the ocean as you can get at the quiet end of Venice Beach. If you need a taxi we recommend you only use United Cabs as we were overcharged by another cab operator who took the long way route from the airport even though its only 25 mins away ! To get around we used the local bus service which was cheap and reliable. There are good restaurants only 5 mins walk, we particularly liked the Cows End cafe. The complementary breakfast at the hotel is self-service, continental in style and had everything we needed. There was also a pc in the hotel with printing facilities so we could check in online for a flight onwards.

Room Tip: Book an Ocean View room its well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxmeister33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 256 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel in November 2011. Unfortunately we had only one night so didn't have much time to do much at the beach but the hotel has a very good location on the Venice Beach, just a couple of steps to the sandy beach, many bars around, restaurants etc. The manager, Greg, was very hospitable. He gave us a suite room, very spacious with a kitchenette and living room, great for families. He explained us everything, what's around, how to open the coded gate to get into the hotel late at night, and so on. There is a small parking space in front of the hotel where we parked our car. There is a PC and free internet at the hotel, and a small breakfast corner.

Overall we're very satisfied with this hotel and its manager.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at Venice on the beach with a friend in November 2011 and I lived it. The location is just unbelievable. No sign of cars and the only thing between us and the beach was a walking path running along the beach, a stone throw away from the canals and some really cool little restaurants. It dud feel like we were part of the community and not tourists. For me this is the best asset of this tiny little hotel. On the down, rooms are on the small size but functional and with personality. The owner is a great chap willing to help in ant possible way and made us feel welcome and relaxed. A small tip for the area: every Tuesday night there is live music at the Brig on Abbot Kinney blvd. The band we saw was a fantastic contemporary blues gang that improvised everything they played. The crowd was also cool and very friendly and talkative to non locals.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDounias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Usually the Tripadvisor's average rating is spot on and reflects the reality, especially if the number of reviews runs well into 2 digits. This is the reason why we chose to stay 3 nights at Venice On The Beach though there was one warning that I was apprehensive of before we arrived (and which I will take more seriously into account going forward): despite a very high average rating, this hotel presented a significant "tail" risk, i.e. there was a disproportionately large number of reviewers that were downright pi5sed off after visiting the hotel. But knowing that Americans can often be very or even unfairly critical, I gave the benefit of the doubt and booked the hotel.

With a hindsight, we would have definitely avoided staying at the hotel and would have spent a fraction more if needed to stay somewhere else in the area. I'm not giving 1 star, but 2 only because it is obvious that the owner(s) have invested some money in the place. But as a recent negative reviewer pointed out, it is questionable if all that money has been spent on the right things: very good mattresses (a positive), huge LCD TV (some trouble in getting it work, too) in a very small room - was it really needed?; good and noise-reducing carpeting in the corridors and stairs and nice roof terrace and courtyard.

Unfortunately, most of it seems money spent too early as here are the major troubles we encountered while staying in room 7 (which someone had specifically suggested to avoid by all means in an earlier review): (a) both the doors to the corridor and bathroom had gaps of an inch from the bottom of the door to the floor, a consequence of which was very bright light coming into the room from the corridor overnight: (b) the bathroom was a joke: apart from the shower cabin, sink, toilet and a mirror facing the toilet rather than the sink there was nothing else, i.e. no hangers for towels, no shelfs/racks to put one's toiletries on, no hair dryer - I can see from photos that other rooms looked better in this sense, so why all rooms are not consistent?; (c) no noise reduction materials/methods used in constructing the rooms: the floors and walls are very thin; we could hear everyone talking in the corridor, the top floor was loudly squeaking,TV and even snoring easily heard from the room above; (d) the room is apparently cleaned up only on request, so issues of cleanliness arise - in fact, one night there was a hot argument between a customer and the manager that the room wasn't cleaned properly upon the check-in; (e) the fact is that Venice as such is very shady in places and someone had remarked in an earlier review on the safety issues, i.e. that there was no-one supervising in the hotel during the night though the area does attract strange folk after the sun-set; unfortunately, we had to experience this darker side of Venice as the trunk of our (rental) car was nastily scratched one night while parked in the hotel's off-street parking lot - it could have only been a hooligan, nothing else... a CCTV/other deterrent might have been a better investment than huge LCDs?

All in all, I would definitely agree with yet another reviewer to look for somewhere else if you are looking for some actual hotel services. The hotel is not expensive, but still expensive for what it does (or doesn't) offer. It is most definitely not a boutique hotel. The manager himself seemed to be a nice bloke, but I again have to agree that being right on the beach is not sufficient for offering good value - I would have paid more for staying a block or two off the coast in a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meerkatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in June before returning to the UK. The location is a 'challenge' for your satnav but I always research prior to arrival to ensure I know where and how to park the car. It was down a back street and parking was tight for our 4x4 but it was adequate and free which is rare for this area from our past experience. Manager was out on our arrival but a note with instructions to call a mobile number from front desk was left so we could contact him to get instructions on how to get our room key. Our ground floor ocean view room was rather small and as I don't travel light our luggage was dotted next to the bed as it didn't all fit in the cupboard. The bed was comfortable but I kept hitting my legs on the wooden base which stuck out. Bathroom was tiny and window did not shut completely which on ground level was a bit of a concern. We had to leave early for our flight home and never saw the manager or the final invoice he promised but never delivered. The views were lovely and we relaxed on the sofas outside but on balance I don't think we would return as I need a little more space.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybun51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#8 of 355 in Los Angeles
798 reviews
Venice
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
Venice Beach Suites & Hotel
#96 of 355 in Los Angeles
523 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#10 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
Cadillac Hotel
Cadillac Hotel
#259 of 355 in Los Angeles
695 reviews
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,419 reviews
Venice
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Marina Del Rey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice On The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice On The Beach Hotel

Address: 2819 Ocean Front Walk, Venice, Los Angeles, CA 90291-4311
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Venice , Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Los Angeles
#35 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#80 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $236 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Venice On The Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased that you are considering the truly only Ocean Front Boutique Hotel in Venice California. Our Hotel is conveniently located between Santa Monica and Marina del Rey. We have Flat Screen TV, Refrigerators and Microwaves in each of our rooms. All the rooms are individual and well appointed with amenities that will always under promise and over deliver for you. Parking is very limited, we have a total of 8 parking spaces for guests to use, and they are done by reservation only. If there is no parking available, our front desk staff will be happy to assist you in finding free public parking in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Venice On The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venice On The Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing