We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
House from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House from the garden
Dining Area and Living Room Fold out couch in living room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
House from the garden
Dining Area and Living Room
Fold out couch in living room.
Patio with 1920's barbeque.
You are here (on the Hill--not in Capitol Records)
The ideal location. Close to everything.
Open the doors for indoor/outdoor experience
Stairs lead from garden-level apartment to the street.
Front of House
Comfy bed and opium niche
Shiva in the Garden
Fold Out Couch in Living Room
Buddha in the Garden
Living Room with Working Fireplace
Hallway between living room & bedroom. Bathroom is door to the right.
1/3 of Garden
Vintage stove & oven
One corner of the patio.
Patio by night.
Bathroom with shower
The house from the garden. I live upstairs.
Half way through the garden. Have a seat.
The pond at the back. Your reward: Relax here.
Opium niche for lounging or sleeping
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Los Angeles, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ashiitaka
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I had a second opportunity to stay with Yvonne at her lovely home at the base of the Hollywood hills and had to take advantage of her hospitality.

Quiet and perfectly positioned it is still well looked after and incredibly homely, having visited previously it was great to know where everything was and to also see familiar faces and know names before we had even arrived. It's not a pristine hotel experience, but that is not the intention. It is a welcome and realistic experience which is perfect if that is what you are after.

I cannot recommend this rental enough, Yvonne is very welcoming and friendly and her neighbour Michael is great to talk to in the calm cool evenings. Everything you would need is within a 25 minute walk but renting a car is advised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Wonderful to see you again. Hope to see you often. Always great having you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilMcTav...
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool place, great host, great location”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I traveled with my daughter. She's a singer/songwriter and we were there for business. The cottage was really close to everything in Hollywood. It's in the hills adjacent to Hollywood, probably the first suburb. The house is original and really cool. It's not retro, it's the real deal. We really enjoyed our stay and Yvonne was a kind, caring, and friendly host. The room was just as pictured. It is a very well maintained and clean OLD place. We loved it as it had charm and we got to see how they built houses back then. Really cool and a really good value. Parking on the street is readily available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Yvonne, the location, the charm of the place.
Liked least: Nothing. Good value here.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2015
Was a pleasure to have you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaC77...
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet little paradise very close to the big city”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My daughter and I really enjoyed our stay here. It was so close to everything we needed to get to. We felt safe here and enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere. It was definitely a place I would love to stay again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2014
So glad you were happy here. Would love to have you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Enjoyed having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
You were an ideal guest. Loved having you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing