We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three reasons to stay:”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Ranked #159 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Fort Walton Beach FL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Three reasons to stay:”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Price with the rule "you get what you pay for" in mind; free parking; in town location. This hotel is 40-50s and hasn't seen an infrastructure repair or upgrade since new except for the door card lock. Examples: electrical outlet dangled from the wall; no commode tank top or counter top in bathroom for stuff; tub so old bottom worn thru to core. The building is two story with steep stairs - no elevator. Bottom line: overdue for overhaul ceiling to floor. In any city except Los Angeles, rooms would be $30 a night or less, get a sub par rating or perhaps be out of biz due to failed city inspections. The in-town location is great but it comes with caveats - the office is kept locked at all times and check in procedure requires a copy of drivers license to be kept in the office for police access, according to staff. That was a first for me & I travel a lot. Contrary to other reviews, I found the front desk female both friendly when conversation was the extent of her required involvement and resistant when I required actual assistance. Her unprofessional behavior went far beyond not having a good day. Breakfast was on par with chains offering free food. All that said, if you view the hotel only as a place to drop your bags, sleep and go, the three reasons to stay will work fine; just arrive with expectations in check. I didn't and was stunned. The web pictures gave the impression of quaint. Not so. It's merely old and rundown.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbgfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    143
    118
    41
    54
See reviews for
112
133
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Had a great stay here, was l pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast. Room wasn't the flashest but very decent for the price. Front desk staff were really friendly and helpful - helping us find a place to eat at 10pm on Christmas Day. Location is great and they were nice enough to allow us to have a late check out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Great location, friendly staff and a great breakfast.
The staff were very helpful and its close to walk to everything and only a 5 minute drive to Universal Studios.
Its good for the money you pay and our rooms were cleaned every day.
My friends and i had a great time and i would stay here again on my next trip to LA.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaylorVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Our car was broken into and rifled through right in front of the door. Very unsafe area and rude owners!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lettersvsnumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The hotel was clean looked very nice with the palm trees around the pool and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We paid 70 USD per night and that included a very delicious breakfast next door. We will definetely stay there for our next L.A. trip.
It's perfectly located near the highway and just 5 min drive East from the Kodak Theatre.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducktailcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood City Inn
Hollywood City Inn
#107 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
The Dixie Hollywood
#122 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Hollywood
Americas Best Value Inn - Hollywood / Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#63 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Hollywood
Dunes Inn - Sunset
Dunes Inn - Sunset
#103 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Hollywood
Travelodge Hollywood-Vermont/Sunset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Downtowner Inn

Property: Hollywood Downtowner Inn
Address: 5601 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-6809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $165 - $229
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Downtowner Inn is truly the "Chev Vous at the Walkway of the Stars" located minutes from Universal, Paramount, Nickelodeon and Gower studios, Kodak, Mann's Chinese, Egyption, Arclight, El Capitan, Greek, Pantages Theaters. Griffith park with in walking and a great hike to the observatory. Rooms featuring king or two double beds and some efficiency suites as well. Pool and hot breakfast each morning before you get on the various tours that can be arrranged to all attractions and star homes. There is complimentary parking, WiFi, HBO/Cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, hairdryer, iron with board and in-room coffee in all rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hollywood Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Downtowner Hotel Los Angeles
Hollywood Downtowner Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing