We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good neighborhood - IT'S OKAY.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Ranked #154 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was clean and has comfortable bed. Room is big and cozy. Room has coffee maker, fridge, blow dryer and tub. Other guests, are too noisy at night. Hotel has a swimming pool. No breakfast included. They offer snacks such as muffins, donuts, coffee at the lobby. Some guy at the front desk doesn't mind his own business, asked a lot of personal questions. Oh well! Everyone is helpful. Elevator is not working at that time i was there so a bit of a hassle. The hotel is 2 blocks away from the Philippine consulate (Equitable Bldg Wilshire Blvd). The neighborhood is safe. Hotel has free parking for guests.

Room Tip: Near Philippine Consulate, Near Downtown LA, Good neighborhood, no smoking, comfortable bed, no brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheRawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

this hotel was perfect for a work trip located right off Wilshire Blvd. Very trendy, clean and comfortable setting. Staff were very accommodating. Easy to get in and out of for a hotel in the heart of the city.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Capitaldental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelterla, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please visit us next time you are in Los Angeles.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

I arrived at the Hotel before my wife who had booked the room for us. The Idiot at the desk would not check me in because it was booked in her name. I had My ID same last name, same home address, same bank account. This place is a crap hole dressed up.
Go else where is my advice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stepehnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelterla, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Mr Stepehnf,

Your reservation was booked through a third party booking site, we will not have any personnel information such as bank account, home address and any name change on the reservation has to be authorized by them. My front desk agent was following the proper procedure at check in.I do apologize that this caused you any inconvenience.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Loved this hotel! The decor is super unique, I wanted to take pictures of every angle of the hotel. The staff members have been nothing but nice and accommodating. They have breakfast in the morning and wine for guests at night it really doesn't get much better than that! Great place to stay for a trip to LA!

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelterla, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Vanessa,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our breakfast and coffee is a favorite among our guests,so is the complimentary wine in the evening for our in house guests. Next time you visit LA please make this your destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel has changed. Tremendously. I wish them much improvement......that they may be better in all their endeavours and only receive better guests.

As the hospitality industry is vigorous and in demand ....Shelter Hotel Delivers.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelterla, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Sean,

Thank you for your best wishes, you are absolutely right the hotel industry is very challenging. We are making more improvements to better serve our guests.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#21 of 355 in Los Angeles
687 reviews
Central L.A
The LINE
The LINE
#39 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JJ Grand Hotel
#213 of 355 in Los Angeles
49 reviews
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#205 of 355 in Los Angeles
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Hotels Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Address: 457 S Mariposa Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90020-2904
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $178 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. The hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. Amenities include hardwood Floors/ 50" LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing