We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Ranked #159 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I stayed here in November with my mum. Check in was very quick and hassle free. Elevator fairly quick. Room was new, clean, good size, very luxurious soft big bed, with big pillows, I slept like a baby. Bathroom was new. Overall room interior was new, clean and modern/contemporary style. Flat screen Tv on the wall with sooooo many channels. Quiet location. 5 min walk to train station, 5 min walk to local shops and restaurants. Nice and Lovely neighbourhood. It's like modern apartment in a nice neighbourhood but it is actually a hotel. Free wireless internet and free internet access at the reception. (it's very fast internet). This is a good location if you want to explore LA as you can walk to the train station and from there, travelling around LA is a very short train ride, averagely 5, 10, 15 min. rides! (to Hollywood is also very short train ride from here). Perfect for us. It made our stay in LA memorable and hassle free. I recommend Shelter Hotel in LA.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011

Thank you for the great comments. It's good to hear that you made use of the Subway system. We are big believers in the public transportation system here.

Jason Scharlau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 203 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel during an event weekend (NBA All Star) and cound't have asked for a better location. The hotel was located just outside of downtown in Korea town in a friendly residential neighborhood. If you are looking for 5 star amenities, don't stay here. But if you are looking for a recently updated, clean, hotel with free parking and close to downtown, I would highly reccomend the hotel. Centrally located, we were able to get to several areas of LA with little to no fuss even during the event weekend. Close to Beverly Center, Staples Center, Downtown LA, and only minutes from Hollywood. Now has become one of my favorite Boutique hotels...Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffneyLamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011

Thank you for staying with us. It's fantastic to know that you had a great stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Jason Scharlau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I have had a chance to look over a few of the reviews. I want to start out my review by saying that I travel quite a bit to Los Angeles. I almost always stay at the same 2 properties in West Hollywood. I happened to be joy riding one day and I wound up running into The Shelter Hotel. I have to argue that although the hotel is listed as being in "Koreatown" in my opinion it is not in the heart of this section. In fact, it is heading to the West Hollywood border. Nevertheless, I saw the hotel and thought it maybe a condominium. In fact, there were several condominiums and nice homes in the area. The neighborhood is VERY safe. In fact, I am surprised at some of the comments. The hotel is in a very eclectic and nice residential neighborhood. You do see a lot of Korean restaurant and shops. Is this why people say these things? To be honest, I thought I had cancelled my reservation. I called and spoke to Jason the GM and I was stunned to find out, I still had a reservation in the system.

Jason, went over and beyond helping me. I felt very comfortable speaking to him. I also enjoyed working with Steve, one of the nicest front desk reps that you ever want to meet. I have to say that the rooms are so spacious, especially for the price. I felt like I was in an apartment. My best friend Tawanna adored the property too. The rooms were gorgeous. Simple, and clean. The bathroom was very nice. I loved the hard wood floors. I am not a fan of carpet (especially since I have bad allergies) so walking into a room with gorgeous dark wood floors, was truly a BONUS! There was not ONE moment that I did not feel safe in this neighborhood. The staff provided one-on-one service, and I realized how important that was to me. I am a big fan of customer service and you cannot always receive that at the larger hotels. It felt awesome not being 'just a number'.

One of the other things I loved, was the outer decor of the hotel. I love the brownstone effect and the pink crest logo on the building. It was this that caught my eye, on my joy ride that day. I loved the coziness, warmth and relaxing components that the Shelter Hotel provides.

I do not have one bad thing to say about the Shelter Hotel. In fact, I found a place to get my nails done. Went food shopping for a few items. All in the same neighborhood. Now, it may not have anything you can walk to, but I had a rental car, and would rather drive where I need to go.

The parking garage was fine. I do not know many places you can go to where parking is complimentary. The parking garage is very secure. There were BMWs, Mercedez Benz's, Infiniti's and many other cars in the garage. Economy, Mid Size and Luxury. SUVs also. There is a gate after a certain time of night that closes so no one can enter the parking garage that should not be there.

I only have small recommendations: It would be great to have a cocktail hour offered at the Shelter Hotel. Add a DJ for that daily cocktail hour (offering five or six specialty cocktails) would add to this hip spot! It would also be nice to have a breakfast cafe where guests can pay for french pastries and other hot breakfast foods. I know that the hotel is decorating the rooms more... the rooms look great, but it would be nice to see that same brown background and pink crest logo on a bathroom carpet (smile). Maybe a small spa and a swimming pool (lap pool).

I would give the Shelter Hotel a standing ovation! I can tell you that anytime I visit LA, I will not stay anywhere else but @ the Shelter.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011

You are fantastic. Thank you so much.

Jason Scharlau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

My best friend and I stayed at The Shelter on February 17-February 21, 2011 and I am not too sure where others who have reviewed this hotel has stayed. I have stayed in various hotels over the years some big and some small and I have found that the "boutique hotels" are the ones that treat you like a person as oppose to what you paid for a room/suite. The personal and friendly service we received was unbelievable. Jason Scharlau, the general manager was much more then that, he made you feel like you were family. I have never met him before our stay but you would have thought I was a regular visitor, even maybe a resident, which is not something you'd find in a larger establishment. Great customer service is one of the things I know I look for when I travel because it makes you feel like it was worth the money, no matter the amount and I will say that the rates were exceptional and completed complimented the service. Steve rocked with the quick draw on the direction requests, along with anything locally you needed to find! This is definitely a spot on the come up and I know my best friend and I will go along for the ride, because we can not wait to see what they do next to try to top their exceptional service!!!! The location is very city which is great if you want to walk and get to things, which being from a big city myself, was another great highlight! Centrally located to everything. I was very pleased with my stay at The Shelter and will do it again anytime I'm in the Los Angeles area, which may be sooner then I think!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmonds069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011

Thank you so much for the great review. We can't wait to have you back again.

Jason Scharlau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

First off this Hotel is under constant renovation. None of the rooms appear completed. Neighbour hood is not great in that nothing is in walking distance, bad considering the poor parking conditions. When arrived given a room in which a guest was still checked in, lucky thing they were not in the room when we walked in and found their luggage. The check in is from the incomplete second floor still under renovation, a strange feeling as you go up from the ground floor parking garage to check in in an under construction second floor room off the extremely loud and obnoxious elevator. When we were moved to another room, the room looks incomplete, nice wood floor was not properly cleaned, which was told was consistent with another room when speaking to another guest. As a matter of fact it's a shame that the entire room was so poorly maintained and cleaned, nothing looked dusted. Dust from construction ? I don't know but it's not good. Some of the renovation has potential but right now, it's not worth the slightly lower price. No place in the room to hang any clothes either. And then there is the garage, no where to park on the street and not enough spots to park all the cars, so you have to double park, and leave your keys at the desk and trust the crew to move around cars all morning to get people back out of the garage. Sure it's free parking, a revelation in LA, but now you know why, seems like a huge risk for the hotel to be driving these cars around without any written agreement declaring who is responsible for what. Otherwise, the room was fine. If you are willing it put up with the parking, the oddity of the front desk situation, and the cleaning style of the the rooms, it may be worth the decent rates, they offer at this point for this area. It does feel odd staying there though. Oh and no ice machine or for that matter any machines. No frig in room to make up for this either.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Thank you for your words. Clearly, we did not meet expectations and I am truly sorry for that. I am actively working with the staff to make sure that the cleanliness issues that you had, will not happen in the future. Construction does lead to dust, however it also means we need to step it up that much more.

Jason Scharlau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#22 of 358 in Los Angeles
714 reviews
Central L.A
The LINE
The LINE
#38 of 358 in Los Angeles
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JJ Grand Hotel
#217 of 358 in Los Angeles
50 reviews
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#192 of 358 in Los Angeles
80 reviews
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#205 of 358 in Los Angeles
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Hotels Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Address: 457 S Mariposa Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90020-2904
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 358 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $183 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. The hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. Amenities include hardwood Floors/ 50" LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing