We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable but with a few significant flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel
Ranked #82 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile


PROS:
Hotel is very clean.
Has temperature control.
They are updating their elevators.
Has a pool/gym/bar.
Staff at the front desk are polite and helpful.

CONS:
No outlets beside the beds (can't conveniently charge phone/devices)

Cleaning staff often forgets to stock items such as q-tips so you need to ask the desk.

You may be left feeling a bit unsafe as well as unlike most hotels the room doors lack chains/deadbolts for use from the inside, meaning staff always has full access even when you are in there.

LA in general turns a bit sketchy at night and the lock the hotel doors, so if someone is not at the desk you will have to lock to get their attention.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen C, General Manager at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

William,
While I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean and the staff helpful, I am so sorry about the inconveniences you experienced. I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.
I will be working with the cleaning staff to be more consistent with the stay-over service. I am so sorry that you had to go out of your way to get items that should be replenished daily. That is not acceptable.
We are indeed working on the elevators and expect to have all four of them running smoothly in September. In the meantime, it does take a little patience, but they get there in the end.
With respect to safety, I'm not exactly certain what happened with your deadbolt, but I will certainly inspect our locking system (it is a high-end secure RFID system from a very highly respected hotel lock company).
We understand that Downtown LA has a very colorful collection of neighborhood characters, but I assure you that we not only have overnight security, but we lock all access doors and monitor them with a reliable security system as well as our overnight staff. There should always be someone at the desk for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

It paid to go off brand on this occasion!

The LACC lived up to expectations and more the reviews from other satisfied travellers. From the friendly check in staff...shout out to Raoul very professional and welcoming made me feel at home from the off. That said the breakfast staff could learn a thing or three about true customer service and treating each guest with dignity.

Location wise this LAAC is in close proximity to all the shopping and dining you will need for your stay. There is a Whole Foods less than 5 mins away which helped keep me on straight and narrow no pun intended. The area is staff in the day time however I would caution you if a single traveller like myself to proceed with caution from sunset.

The rooms are reasonably sized although housekeeping could pay a little more attention to detail.

The LAAC has a fab onsite gym and an in door walking track. To top it all they also have a great pool for those who need to tread water.

All in all ....had a great time here and would highly recommend this hotel to all who are not brand snobs.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen C, General Manager at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Terri,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience. We are lucky to have Raul and I look forward to sharing your review with him. I'm very glad you had a good experience with our reception staff and the athletic facilities (I'm particularly fond of the pool myself).
If you have a moment, please share your concerns regarding the breakfast staff and the issues with housekeeping with me personally (my email address is gretchen.crookes@laac.net). We appreciate honest feedback and it sounds like both these areas fell below our standards during your stay. I truly hope you consider us for future visits (I would love the chance to improve on your last visit).
Sincerely,
Gretchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

We didn't like this hotel. We had certain expectations because it is a reciprocal club with the Army Navy Club in Washington DC, but it doesn't begin to compare to it or other reciprocal clubs. These clubs are clean, well-maintained, with dress codes (sometimes a minor annoyance, sometimes a blessing in disguise).

Our first night in the hotel we could hear the guest in the next room moaning all night through the connecting door. No one's fault, but we changed rooms and asked if someone could check on the guest's condition. The bathrooms are very small. The neighborhood is sketchy. The lobby is shabby. The elevators are due for replacement, none too soon.

It is within walking distance to the Los Angeles metro station and some rental car companies will pick you up at the hotel. However, we can't recommend this hotel, at least until the hotel is cleaner and in a better state of repair.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

The Los Angeles Athletic Club was a treat from the moment I checked in. It is indeed a club. The rooms are very comfortable and have been recently refurbished. Their gym puts any hotel chain to shame and their pool is spectacular. Breakfast is in a wonderfully restored dining area offering a warm and cold buffet. The bar is simply spectacular and very well attended. Outstanding selection of beverages available. If you are a Rotarian, there is a club that meets there on Thursday evenings! The décor is superb overall, including trophies, paintings, wood paneling and leather seats. There is a business center and there is fine wifi access. Elevators are being refurbished and the location is central.

Room Tip: take your swimsuit! It is an indoor pool and a historic one at that
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Inside this hotel is the history of early, grand Los Angeles. Dark wood paneling, sports trophies and magnificent oil paintings everywhere. Great breakfast and dining room.
Comfortable beds with elegant brown carpet and walls. I don't think there's anything like it in LA.
Now for the sad part. Outside the front doors are homeless people and the area has gone to seed on this block. It looks like there is a valiant effort to bring back the neighborhood and big buildings surrounding it appear to be getting remodels. We used cabs to go the 4-5 blocks to get to the nearby magnificent and world-class symphony halls and museums. When we next opt for more tickets to the best opera and symphony
performances in the country we'll stay here again. Wow, didn't even mention the indoor swimming pool and athletics there!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank grand old girl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
752 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
Hilton Checkers Los Angeles
#59 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,287 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#76 of 353 in Los Angeles
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#112 of 353 in Los Angeles
29 reviews
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#55 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,228 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#98 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel

Address: 431 W. Seventh Street, Los Angeles, CA 90014-1601
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $248 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing