We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel
Ranked #83 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2016

This is the second time I have stayed. Spent Sunday before breakfast in the massive gym with only a few like minded souls. Ran round the indoor track and then went for a swim only three people in the pool. Breakfast was standard but the setting is opulent. Then outside into the middle of mad down town LA. If I am ever coming to meetings in LA I will stay here every time. There is safe parking for $20 a stay you can come and go as much as you like. This is for you if you like oak and leather old books and history and swimming up on the 6th floor.

Room Tip: upgrade to a King room if you are a couple the bed is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatboygto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Revenue Analyst at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Thank you for staying at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

We appreciate your kind review, and look forward to you staying here again.

Thank You,
Allan Johnson
Revenue Analyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2016

I think this hotel could use a remodel, everything just looks tired which makes things look dirty and tatty. The room was exceedingly dusty and set off my girlfriends allergies to no ends that we decided to stay somewhere else for our 2 extra nights in LA rather than extend. The biggest selling point for this hotel was its breakfast buffet - they didn't try and do too much just focused on 6 or 7 bits and did these extremely well. I was very excited to try the Inventions Lounge but because of the dust around the place my girlfriend wanted to spend as much time out of the hotel as possible. Location wise its ok, but there are nicer hotels better located and better service for the same (if not cheaper) price.

Room Tip: Ask for the room they have run a vacuum through in the last 5 years...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Revenue Analyst at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you for staying at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

We apologize about the dust issue. Our housekeepers should be thoroughly dusting each room daily. I have notified our head of housekeeping about the lapse and we are working to make sure this doesn't happen again.

Thank You,
Allan Johnson
Revenue Analyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We stayed in a King size room - worth the extra money it was enormous . The bed was great it was quiet sleep quality excellent . The pool and gym facilities are amazing the pool was a perfect temperature and the gym is brilliant . Breakfast was good plenty of choice . My only problem was the position of the hotel we arrived at night and the streets around the hotel were full of homeless people with mental health issues which felt threatening and this is no fault of the hotel .

Room Tip: 12th floor was fine , quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank liz101Worthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Revenue Analyst at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you for staying at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

We appreciate the glowing review. The recent construction boom in downtown has displaced individuals and all of downtown is experiencing a shift in transient population. We apologize that you felt threatened, we are working with our downtown partners to improve the situation.

Thank You,
Allan Johnson
Revenue Analyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

My wife and I have visited LA many times over the past couple of years, but this was our first time staying in the downtown area. I'd walked by this building before on a prior trip and was intrigued as to what it might be like inside. Needless to say that I was blown away. The building itself is over a century old but you can tell how much time, effort, and money ownership has put into their renovations, and they still have a phase or two left!

The staff was incredibly courteous from the check in desk, restaurant, and bar areas. We were lucky enough to have a deluxe king room on the corner, our view was amazing, and the bed very comfy. The pictures for the rooms (at least the type we stayed in) are not far off, when I was booking I'd hoped the pictures would live up to my actual expectations and they certainly did!

From the accommodations, location, service, amenities (you could spend a day touring and using everything they have to offer), the prices are more than fair. We can't wait to come back.

P.S. The rooftop access (especially at night) is an amazing bonus for an already great place, can't wait to see what they eventually do with it.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajserrano1452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Revenue Analyst at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you for staying at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

We appreciate you taking the time to fully explore the club. We were founded in 1880 and we have been in this building for over a century. We are constantly working on updating the property to keep up with modern guest needs.

We can't wait for you to come back.

Thank You,
Allan Johnson
Revenue Analyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Our son got married at the LAAC so we were there for the weekend. We loved the hotel. Yes, it is old and the elevators were a little slow but that is part of the charm. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our guests enjoyed the breakfast and use of the facilities. It is not your typical hotel and that's what we especially liked about it.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandiegorabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan J, Revenue Analyst at The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Thank you for staying at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

It is always an honor to be chosen to host both a wedding and hotel guests. We are happy you enjoyed the unique club experience. We take pride in being a one-of-a-kind property.

We look forward to you staying with us again.

Thank You,
Allan Johnson
Revenue Analyst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Freehand Los Angeles
Freehand Los Angeles
#101 of 355 in Los Angeles
52 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
#91 of 355 in Los Angeles
436 reviews
Downtown
Millennium Biltmore Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
805 reviews
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#32 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,201 reviews
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#110 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel

Address: 431 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90014-1601
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#50 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $315 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need a private getaway after a long day at work, a hideaway for a romantic weekend, or accommodations for your V.I.P. guests, our 72 elegantly appointed rooms atop The Los Angeles Athletic Club await you. Guest have full access to 88,000 sq ft of athletic facilities, 3 restaurants and a rooftop lounge. Breakfast and discounted parking are also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Los Angeles Athletic Club Hotel Los Angeles
The Los Angeles Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing