We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete dump”

L.A. Sky Boutique Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L.A. Sky Boutique Hotel
Ranked #210 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Complete dump”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

First of all - the name "Sky Hotel" is a misnomer, as my room did not have a window to the outside, and therefore no view of anything vaguely sky-like.

Second: not clean - hand print on walls, urine stain on bathroom floor. (At least I hope it was urine. Shudder to think of other possibilities)

Third: No window to the outside, just a window to an indoor atrium. This means you either have privacy but stay in a closet, or have some natural light/fresh air, and share your experience with everyone walking in and out of the hotel.

Four: They are about making money at the expense of treating customers well. Because there was no room with a window to the outside for me to move into (because I suspect they don't have any!), I moved out after only 2 days, but had pre-paid for 5. After multiple phone calls, I was refused even a PARTIAL refund for the other 3 nights.

This place is in fact a converted motel. And yes, the furniture is new and nice, but a hotel room without a window you can use is actually a glorified closet. Given the complete absence of customer service and the uncomfortable room, I would not recommend it to my worst enemy. There are many charming and comfortable 3.5 star hotels that did not start life as a motel in the nearby area, do your research, stay in one of them instead.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KG1977_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    47
    33
    25
    39
See reviews for
26
54
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

A friend is coming into town tomorrow. She reserved a room for 5 days at this place on my recommendation. I've had other people stay there before and like it.

She called to confirm today and after having received a confirmation email about her stay when she made the reservation, the supposed manager told her that the reservation had been cancelled (no idea how) and that there were no rooms available.

She was very rude and unhelpful and told my friend she was going to have to find a room somewhere else. A kind of "tough luck" attitude.

Clearly someone on her end had made a mistake because we have the confirmation of the reservation, which had never been cancelled.

Obviously there are other hotel rooms in town, but this was friendly for her budget and a good location.

So, be forewarned, that this place clearly doesn't honor their reservations. Who knows what the true story is...

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Great value place with the mose comfortable bed i've EVER slept in. The rooms are finished beautifully and the contintental breakfast in the sitting area in the morning has a very old world hollywood charm about it.
The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful - even for late night requests. It was lovely to come back after a day out and about and have someone remember who you were (not like at the bigger hotels).
Located conveniently between Hollywood, Westwood and Santa Monica with food and shopping close by.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The staff were so friendly and helpful during our stay. This was my parents 1st trip to LA from Australia and they had 2 days to before my arrival (an ex-LA person). The staff helped them with so many things and went out of their way.
The location of the hotel is perfect for easy access to Santa Monica and Downtown LA. We used public transport to get around and it was very easy to access and quick.
The room I was in needed painting however was very functional and served the purpose. The beds were super comfortable which is a definate plus. A few minor cleaning issue's with each of our rooms however the rooms were clean which is the main thing. We heard no traffic noise from Westwood Blvd which was amazing considering the location.
We would all definately stay here again and as a Hotel Front Office Manager I would also recommend it to ther travellers.

Room Tip: King Rooms are definately large then queen but both are a nice size. Ask for a room towards the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamela81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I had a super late flight and ended up staying somewhere else for the first night. Since my stay was prepaid with Expedia, I didn't see this as a big deal. But when I showed up the next night they had sold my room out to someone else and didn't have another available. So essentially they are getting paid twice for the same room yet refused to even reimburse! Set aside the hassle of all this, the management was very combative and unpleasant - not at all what you would expect in the hospitality business. Given all the comments of rudeness I've read on this site, I really do hope the hotel owners read this post and get the message. Until then, I would strongly suggest that travelers take their business elsewhere.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Twestrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Westside
No photo provided
Century Park Hotel
#99 of 351 in Los Angeles
474 reviews
Westside
No photo provided
Century City
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
No photo provided
Hilgard House Hotel
#147 of 351 in Los Angeles
181 reviews
Westside
No photo provided
Beverly Hills Plaza Hotel
#95 of 351 in Los Angeles
402 reviews
Westside
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L.A. Sky Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L.A. Sky Boutique Hotel

Property: L.A. Sky Boutique Hotel
Address: 2352 Westwood Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90064-2110
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price range (per night): $239 - $377
Hotel Class:3 star — L.A. Sky Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Westwood Blvd, you will be only footsteps away from shopping, dining, entertainment and Los Angeles` premier attractions. At LA Sky Boutique Hotel you are sure to enjoy a contemporary, serene atmosphere surrounded by the excitement of Hollywood, Beverly Hills and the Beach Cities. When you enter the lobby, the charm of this boutique property will unveil itself. The intimate, chic, living room-like lobby surrounds a small bar where guests can enjoy a nice bottle of California wine or creamy specialty coffees and cookies. The ``why`` behind the name L.A. Sky Hotel becomes obvious as you walk through a door into the indoor courtyard, once open to the ``LA Sky`` and now covered with a beautiful canopy that shades the interior. It`s an indoor-outdoor courtyard that is perfect for an afternoon drink or a lazy e-mail session. The common areas of the L.A. Sky encompass everything that a person could want in a Boutique Hotel: cozy, comfortable, charming, clean and tasteful.One beautifully rare occurrence in the City of Angels is not having to drive a car to get where you want to go. If it`s trendy L.A. eats or a new pair of tight jeans you are looking for you won`t have to re-park the car, just walk out the front door. There are a melange of restaurants on the block and more shopping than any man can take at the Westwood Pavilion Shopping Center. The famed Wilshire and Sunset Boulevards are nearby and even the Beach Cities like Santa Monica and Venice are within 5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your L.A. Sky Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing