We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Long Beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Long Beach hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed in room 410, a one bedroom suite. We found our room to be very clean and comfortable and it appears that all rooms would have some kind of water view. The bed was very good and the hide-a-bed was okay. The new Marriot couch wasn’t that great. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

It was an easy walk for us (we walk a lot) to the Queen Mary or the Pike and the Aquarium of the Pacific but this is not a downtown hotel as the name implies. The parking lot got really full on Saturday but there was still room in the overflow area. Breakfast was the standard Residence Inn fair.

There is a small pool and hot tub and a nice little patio area with a view of the river and a large gas fireplace. They allowed smoking and pets in these areas so they become the preferred smoking area. We even experienced one couple who brought their dog there to relieve himself while they smoked rather than taking the poor guy for a walk.

If there was no smoking in the pool/patio areas we would have rated it 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayGangAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    169
    43
    19
    15
See reviews for
147
119
15
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I booked this not knowing exactly where it was and was thrilled to find it was within walking distance of The Queen Mary and was very accessible to the downtown and entertainment area along Shoreline Dr.

The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly and helpful. I'll be staying there again on subsequent trips to Long Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathie859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here for one night Feb 4th 2012 before cruising Disney Wonder the next day. Very nice Hotel, up-dated with great rooms (stayed in king suite) very nice, had views over water, great breakfast with excellent variety, nice outdoor pool area with hot tub and BBQ area with outdoor fireplace. Lovely and easy walk to Queen Mary and easy access for Carnival Cruise Lines (Disney leaves from Port of Los Angeles, San Pedro for approx.$15.00 from hotel) chose this Hotel as was using points and provided easy access to Port. Close to esplanade great in daylight hours not so much at night time (homeless population noticeable) lovely colony of cats living in sea wall....all in all great stay, staff polite and courteous would highly recommend this as a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor overlooking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crikey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We've stayed in this hotel twice--once in October 2011 and once in February 2012, and both times for multiple nights over a weekend. Pros for us are the hotel's location: it is quite convenient to all of Long Beach and is nicely situated near the Queen Mary. The Aquarium area is a short walk away, which includes all the restaurants and whatnot over there. The free bus goes right by the hotel, so that is convenient too.

The tale of two hotels, for me, is this: one side face the Queen Mary and the ocean; the other the river and the port and overlooks a boat launch. I didn't much care for the latter view and found the boat noise to be bothersome (not a big big problem, but there was engine revving going on as boats were pulled out of the water in the evening; mornings were quiet, though people were launching at 5 a.m. -- we were up as we needed an early start). The Queen Mary and ocean view is superb and makes this a special hotel and location.

Otherwise, the rooms are the same--a decent kitchen, sitting room area, and decent bed, all of it quite new. We found the room to be a bit dusty (dust collected on the lamps), and there were some popcorn kernels on the carpet, so cleaning could be better--but it was overall quite clean so that isn't a big issue.

On our first stay, I was able to specifically book a Queen Mary view, but not on the second stay (only the expensive corner view rooms were book-able but not one side or the other of the hotel for the regular rooms). I asked about it at check-in and the clerk said you could just book the regular room and then the view rooms were first-come first-serve, which is too bad.

We'll be back in LB in a couple of months and I'm torn about staying here again. I think it offer much for the money, but I don't like not being able to reserve a specific side of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

i had always stayed at the Maya when going to Long Beach and then i went walking one day along the bay and saw this place. so the next time i was in Long Beach i decided to stay at the residence inn and was blown away! This place is modern,sleek, gorgeous!!!!!! The staff is super friendly, the breakfast in the morning is amazing!-homemade waffles, eggs,roasted potatoes,salsa,cheese, homemade oatmeal with brown sugar or raisins or walnuts! amazing!! and you can eat in the lobby area so there is plenty of room ( i hate small eating areas in hotels).
The pool and hot tub are tiny but nice and they have an outdoor fireplace with lounge furniture. We enjoyed a beer many evenings while we stayed.
They have a pantry so you can get yourself a cold beer or in case you forgot anything they have toothbrushes,etc. The grounds are gorgeous, you can walk along the bay all the way to the Queen Mary. It's a little tricky getting to the hotel (all those darn pier exits) but it's so worth it. PLus they have a kitchen with a stove and stainless steel fridge and plates,etc. the bathrooms was nice and the shower/tub is roomy.
i swear this is the only place i will stay from now on. I am going back in two months and this time will take plenty of pictures but trust me....you can't go wrong with this place. ridiculously amazing!!!!!

Room Tip: any room is a good room int his place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeelooKelly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Maya - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
Hyatt Regency Long Beach
#3 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
1.3 km away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hilton Long Beach
Hilton Long Beach
#7 of 55 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.9 km away
Hyatt Centric The Pike Long Beach
1.5 km away
The Varden Hotel
The Varden Hotel
#1 of 55 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown
Address: 600 Queensway Dr, Long Beach, CA 90802-6341
Region: United States > California > Long Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Long Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Long Beach
Price range (per night): $288 - $475
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience gorgeous waterfront views from the Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown Hotel. We are mere minutes from the Long Beach Port, Convention Center, pristine beaches and just over the Gerald Desmond Bridge from the San Pedro cruise terminals and the Port of LA. Experience a superior location among hotels in downtown Long Beach, CA with easy access to fabulous dining/nightlife, distinctive shopping and famous attractions including the Queen Mary, Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach Arena and Pine Ave. Keep up your fitness routine at our Long Beach all-suite hotel with a state-of-the-art gym or on the shoreline trail. A complimentary hot breakfast buffet is served daily, and a 24-hour Market offers snacks and drinks whenever you want them. Our stylish suites feature luxury bedding, fully-equipped kitchens and a large desks with free Wi-Fi throughout. Our extended stay hotel in downtown Long Beach offers a central location near LA's top attractions and the business centers on the I-405 corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Long Beach Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Long Beach Downtown Hotel Long Beach
Residence Inn Long Beach
Long Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing