We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
383
398
120
31
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
398
120
31
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john wayne death valley original hotel hotel section small town middle of town alabama hills cafe western movie seasons restaurant place to stay eastern sierra main building hot tub great stop mount whitney las vegas stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Booked room at Dow Villa Motel for a meeting with Park Ranger at Manzanar National Historic Site and was surprised to learn that my accommodations were John Wayne's favorite during his filming days in Lone Pine. Updated room with Jacuzzi, bar, refrigerator, microwave, wall-mounted flat screen and sitting area. The room was very spacious and more than I really needed. The reception staff was most friendly and helpful. Housekeeping staff carefully supplied the room with what was needed. Parking just outside the room. Located in center of town with quality restaurants nearby. Great place to stay! Historic hotel is also part of the complex. A good place to stay if you are interested in an experience from the past. The Grill is also available for meals.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ends of the buildings have larger floor space.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The perfect place enroute between Yosemite, Death Valley & Vegas
The hotel is quite old (by US standards) and some facilities are quaint - but hey, that is character. Pics of film stars, cowboys everywhere; pleace was key to the Wild west movie industry. Not space age or high tec; but does the job. nice pool. ask for front room for view of Mount Whitney.
Free coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lowryepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a fly drive and chose to stay in the historic hotel part of the property. Welcome could not have been better, rooms were a bit small, but what you would expect but still with all the basics. Wifi was fantastic, coffee in the lounge and they were happy for us to take our wine to the lounge too. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We stayed for one night on the way to Death Valley, Wwe stayed in the hotel which was very basic but at least we had a bathroom and toilet in the room some of them did not. The room itself was clean and the beds were confortable. I would stay again but would try to book the motel side. The lobby was really interesting with all the cowboy film memoriblia my other half loved it being a cowboy fan.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essexoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The hotel itself is nice enough and a good base for activities in the area. However, call to book, do not use their web system; I booked a room and had to modify it when our Whitney permits came through but their system kept the old booking and they charged me a no-show fee. Sucks

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowvillamngmnt, Front Office Manager at Dow Villa Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello,
Thank you for your comments, we are unaware of such web problems.
Can you please email us at email@dowvillamotel.com so i can investigate this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews