We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
123
16
4
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
123
16
4
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quail cottage wine festival quiche every morning sitting room crab b bs jetted tub collect shells dietary preferences the wood burning stove mendocino coast short walk hand delivered breakfast table breakfast was delicious light sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Staying at the Victorian Farmhouse was a little slice of heaven. A visit to the area is magical to start with, but when you add an experience at the Victorian Farmhouse…..it is hard to leave. After a great day of activities, retiring to a wonderfully appointed room and an incredibly cushy bed, we drifted off to rest with a warmth and glow of the fireplace. Upon rising, to address the day with nutrition is important, but we did not expect the most wonderful breakfast we had ever had. Between the fabulous quiche, and the freshly made coffeecake with handpicked berries…..we wanted to stay the week to see what other delights were available. Unfortunately at the end of the weekend, we had to head south….but we’ll be back for another slice of heaven AND Jo’s next tasty treat!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sussudio55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Our stay at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse was wonderful! It is the perfect place for a romantic getaway. The rooms are very clean and comfortably, beautifully decorated and cozy. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is delivered to your door each morning, and it is absolutely delicious! Every morning we looked forward to seeing what delicious treats we would have for breakfast.
This happens to be my husband and I's favorite place to stay. We've been coming to Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse for more than 10 years. Each visit just seems to get better and better. As soon as we leave we are looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank california5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Our stay at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse was absolutely delightful. To start with the setting is lovely. The acreage is surrounded on three sides by mature Redwoods and Cedars giving the area a lovely feeling of privacy. There's creek along one side and a view of the sea from the upper rooms. The farmhouse was actually used for a Thomas Kindcaid painting and has lovely grounds.
Our room, the Victorian room, was elegant, but with a warm, comfortable feeling, with wonderful antiques. There is fireplace in the room, which was wonderful for romantic evenings.
Jo and Fred were great, warm, friendly and funny when you wanted to seek them for company, but otherwise left you alone, since many people are there for a private romantic time. The trip would have been probably been worth it alone, just for Jo's breakfasts. She is an incredible cook and they bring the breakfast to your room, what a way to start the day. When Jo found out I had dietary restriction, she promptly charged her menu and was very careful to ask everyday if I had any problems with what she had planned to serve. She was so nice and solicitous about my health problems she made me feel like I'd magically acquired the big sister I never had.
If you want to go out and about in the Mendocino area, they have a room with brochures of the area and Jo's restaurant recommendations were great. When we wanted to visit the local nurseries that were appointment only, Jo called ahead and made the arrangements for our nursery visits.
In sort, I could not imagine what Jo and Fred could have to make our stay more wonderful. There's no better- stress relief then having sweet people making you feel pampered and cared for.

Sigrid Karlsson and Robert Zandstra

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raz_usarsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This place is amazing! We just stayed here for 2 days during memorial weekend. The B&B is beautiful, just the way you picture a B&B to be. The owners, JO and fred, are so nice and helpful but they make sure to stay out or your way...As Jo puts it: We know you are not here to see us:-) But if you need anything you can always reach them through the phone.
The breakfast was great and delicious and i loved the Coffee! Real home brewed coffee, so great. The room was very pretty and the bed insanely comfortable (Carriage room). There's not enough words to describe this place. It is unique and there for a must if you go to Mendocino.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evasanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We came for the Little River Whale and Wine Festival. Jo and Fred put us in Quail Cottage and it was awesome. Comfy beds, great Jacuzzi tub, full kitchen, fireplace. Best of all was watching the sunset over the ocean from the comfy chairs on the porch. I'd like to move in and stay forever.

The food was excellent, especially the lemon pancakes. I highly recommend that you stay here if you want the best of the Mendocino coast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudithBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews