We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rustic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse
Ranked #6 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 September 2017

My girlfriend and I stayed at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse in the rustic and charming Mendocino Suite. The suite is two rooms separated by a large air jet tub (that fits two) and a wet bar (with a small refrigerator). Each room has a working fireplace (which we didn't use as it was very warm while we were there). One room is the bedroom, which has a very comfortable king bed and dresser, and the other room is the living room which has a TV (we never used it), a breakfast table and a sofa. The living room has a deck that looks towards the woods with two Adirondack wood chairs. This is a great spot to read in the afternoon. The tub was fun - bubble bath for two!

Some nice touches include fresh flowers in the room and a small bowl of Werther's candies. There's a small view of the ocean from the bedroom window, but you shouldn't consider this an "ocean view" room. I'm a light sleeper, and we had to have the windows open as it was warm, but with earplugs I didn't notice any noise and slept very well. Breakfast was awesome. They bring a tray to your room at a time you request, and the meal was very nice. One morning we had quiche and scones, and another we had fruit and cream cheese crepes. Coffee/tea and OJ are included.

The bathroom is very small, but functional. One very small quibble is that the water in the shower would occasionally flip from hot to cold and then hot again. This happened only a couple of times and wasn't a problem. Another very small quibble is that the complementary shampoo bottle is tiny, and so we went to Mendocino and purchased shampoo and conditioner. I recommend that you bring your own toiletries.

We also booked the Redwoods & Romance C'mores Package, which includes a fire in their fire pit, marshmallows, chocolate, graham crackers, and a half bottle of Roderer Champagne. We had an amazing time roasting marshmallows and making s'mores. One note on this - if you want this package, book it before you go, as if you ask last minute they may not have the wood and food, etc., and so you will likely be out of luck.

We found the owners and staff to be very nice and helpful. We will come here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank traveler193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Jo, Fred, and Cathy, are awesome. Rooms are comfortable my husband and I always stay in the Mendocino suite king size bed and jetted tub with 2 fireplaces. Jo is an incredible cook and your breakfast is delivered to your door by Fred everymorning each breakfast is different and local produce etc is used. All the staff work very hard to accommodate all of your needs from reservations to restaurants or local activities to bringing you a cd you want to watch.....we love it there and will return again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank annemarielethco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

The bedroom was decorated pleasantly. We even had a wood burning fireplace. Bathroom was decent and clean. Breakfast was home made blackberry crepes. We had a pleasant stay and would stay here again given the chance.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank YOLOtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I came here with my family (including my 15 month old son) for the first time two weeks ago. It is a beautifully appointed inn. The rooms are very private and we had our own fireplace and gigantic, whirlpool bathtub. The bed was extremely comfortable (featherbed) and we were all very relaxed. The grounds are very well maintained and there is an area with a fire pit that makes for a lovely and cozy evening. Our breakfast was delicious and very fresh. The owners and staff were so kind and attentive. There is a nearby cove (walking distance) with stunning shoreline views. I couldn't have asked for a better experience and I highly recommend the Victorian farmhouse!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tajave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We have stayed at Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse several times in the past during our visits to Mendocino and it has always been a great experience. It is a short drive into Mendocino and it's relaxing to be in a quiet setting just out of town. A short walk from the inn brings one to a cove where you can collect shells on the beach, explore tide pools and watch abalone divers. Very scenic and enjoyable.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated and the breakfast delivered in the morning is excellent. The inn keepers, Jo & Fred, are gregarious, friendly people who are helpful with their advice. They made recommendations and booked our dinner reservations for both nights during our recent family gathering in Mendocino. We have no inclination to stay anywhere else after our experiences at this inn.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sagvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
18.6 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
638 reviews
22.3 km away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
456 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
682 reviews
1.1 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
741 reviews
1.8 km away
Mendocino Inn & Spa
Mendocino Inn & Spa
#5 of 8 in Little River
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennen's Victorian Farmhouse

Address: 7001 N Highway 1, P.O. Box 661, Little River, CA 95456-9514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: $247 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic bed and breakfast in Mendocino County. Sit back and experience amazing ocean views, beautiful scenery, and gracious service at our Mendocino Coast Inn. Rooms at our Mendocino B&B feature custom furnishings and luxurious linens, some with private decks, fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy an unforgettable gourmet breakfast in bed, complimentary Wi-Fi, and special packages at our inn in Little River, CA, only minutes to the picturesque village of Mendocino. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing