We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious seafood”
Review of Wild Fish

Wild Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 100% Local & Organic The culinary team at Wild Fish procure produce locally from farmers, fishermen & women and foragers - the fish is always wild and fresh. Everything is made from scratch and in house.
Reviewed 17 May 2018

And so fresh. The sauces, seasonings and ingredients are perfect. We also enjoyed dulse butter and the artichoke and Roman salad. This is a very charming restaurant with great service and food! The sticky toffee pudding which you don't often see on a menu was yummy.

Thank fussytraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

I ordered the sable fish. Is it supposed to have the firmness of jello? My wife’s fish was ok but over-seasoned. We both had the asparagus with hollandaise sauce. The sauce began separating as soon as it was served. The bread was good but, unlike every restaurant I’ve been to, was a charge item on the menu. The tap water was good. It seems to be a popular place but I won’t be back.

Thank foresterfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelvin J, Owner at Wild Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hi Frank,
We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your food - especially - to answer your question - yes, sablefish is silky, buttery and melts in your mouth - it seems we could have helped you choose a menu item that you would have preferred. We also have some intentionally bold flavors on the menu, like the Asian caramelized fish sauce, which may not have been in your favorite flavor profile. We will make an effort to include some descriptors to help guests choose - and if you do come and dine with us again - the servers are very willing to answer questions and help in any way.

I hope you will give us another chance - we are really committed to listening to feedback and doing better where we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Food was great and so was service! We loved everything we ate, tuna, snapper, steamers, bread and dessert. Wine is medicore that's all.

Thank walmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Four of us dined at Wild Fish this evening and could not be more dismayed. We dined here 3 years ago; were blown away with how good every dish was, start to finish; cancelled reservation elsewhere to return the next night; and were amazed at how wonderfully good everything was. Something changed since then -- not sure when -- but not for the better. Tonight, all fish dishes (and even the non-fish sides) were so highly spiced that the fish itself became secondary. What were once exquisite, subtlety seasoned fish have been replaced with fish steeped in soy, or at best a covered in strong asian spice. Fingerling potatoes were hotly spiced; grilled artichoke was good but smothered in a huge -- extraneous -- topping of spices. The tiny-restaurant ambiance was unchanged and fun; but the waitress clearly wished that she was doing something else. What used to be the best restaurant in Mendocino by far no longer is.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank avb3520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelvin J, Owner at Wild Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

We are so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your fare. We have introduced some bold flavors on the menu alongside the more subtle European dishes we have. We will do our best to describe the dishes better to make it clear which ones are spicier. As for service, we strive to be attentive, and if it appeared to be otherwise, we apologize. Our menu constantly changes and we draw on many cuisines for inspiration, so we hope you will try again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We came here at the recommendation of our hosts at the Andiron Inn. It was a delightful dining experience.
Scenery is overlooking the ocean. Food is exquisite and nicely prepared. I ordered the squid. My partner had swordfish. We had side dishes of carrots and cauliflower.
Everything was seasoned to perfection and absolutely delicious. The wait staff was attentive.
Overall a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it.

Thank karenbassoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Fish also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 

Been to Wild Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing