We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden Paradise

Beautiful canyon resort. Great hiking and fishing. Easy hiking road up to beaver ponds and water... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sweetbet
,
Martinez, California
Nice Fishing, Boating and Hiking - Lundy Lake

We returned for another fun day at Lundy Lake We enjoyed trout fishing. There is good hiking... read more

Reviewed 27 June 2018
mini
,
Fremont, California
Read all 46 reviews
  
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
30
11
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
11
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hike fall color trout fishing great fishing hiking trails mono county trailhead fundy canyon bait campground boating fisherman road lake gravel galore
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We have been to Lundy Lake numerous times This time we were there in August 2017.
Its a very scenic lake. Its fun for boating, hiking, and fishing The views of the mountains are beautiful.

The drive from highway 395 to the lake is paved, although on the east side the last part is gravel. There is free parking by the lake.

2  Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

This is a beautiful canyon but recreation sites are heavily used, poorly maintained with no investment in decades by neither the USFS, Mono County and the private resort owners. There is a lot of human feces/TP flowers and dog feces problem along the south side of the lake left by fisherman who don't want to make the trip to the pit toilet several hundred yards away. Also, there is a fair amount of this along other trails at certain times of the year. Deters from your experience and there are other magificent east side canyons that you can do better with.

2  Thank Bartshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

This lake sits in a glacial canyon and is beautiful no matter what time of year. The road in can be problematic during the winter so check ahead. The lakes level is determined by the amount of winter snow and the demands of LADWP. So depending on the time of year can be full to the brim or a "pond". Never had a bad day fishing here

2  Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

This is more of a big pond than a lake, but it is a great place to fish. We did really well last year, not so much this year. People were catching fish to the right and left of us, but we only got one. Thanks to kindly folks, we got two more given to us so we had dinner! We went in the fall and it is lovely. Nice place to relax even if you don't get any fish.

1  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Incredible hike into a steep canyon. Color in the rocks, colors in the trees, beaver ponds, waterfalls in the stream running down the middle of the canyon, cascades running down the canyon walls, it was like a never ending series of postcard pictures.

1  Thank fishquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews