We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesomely beautiful, comfortable and relaxing!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 02 - Villa Teatro

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Laguna Beach, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn S
Southlake, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesomely beautiful, comfortable and relaxing!”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our suite was very comfortable, clean, updated and accommodated all our needs. It was wonderful to have a kitchen for morning meals and all the appliances I could use. Teatro has a birds nest view of the ocean and its own private patio to watch surfers with our morning coffee. Getting to the beach was a couple flights of stairs away. Bianca and Ryan were also very friendly and happy to answer any questions we had. There is a grocery store half a block away and great restaurants within a half mile walk.
We're ready to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close proximity to the beach and easy access to restaurants.
Liked least: The couch is a sleeper sofa and not the most comfortable to sit on.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dibbs103
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Retreat is paradise.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This villa was very luxurious! The ocean breeze, the location to downtown Laguna, the amenities....all amazing.
Best of all, is the friendly sincerity of the staff.
Awesome!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, terrible customer service.”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

This place is nice, close to the ocean, and has a kitchen, which we like for our family trips. We were very impressed with the place, until we had contact with the manager, Bianca Ball. Bianca seemed disinterested in our stay, demanding of our time (she demanded we come back and scan our credit card right when she needed because she is almost never on site, didn't seem to care whether or not we were busy on our VACATION). The extent of her hospitality was a demonstration on how to use the remotes for the TV (so weird - how could that be confusing?). If you have an SUV or minivan, and are parked there for more than 10 minutes, Bianca will either tow your car, or threaten to do so. She threatened our kids with this while we were out getting food for 10 minutes, and then threatened to call the police on my husband and evict us if he didn't, "change his tone". If it hadn't been for Bianca, we would've had a wonderful time, but she made our stay extremely stressful, especially after letting us know that we couldn't get out of staying there the night after threatening us. She told us we would not be able to get a refund for the night to stay elsewhere after getting threatened by her.

We were trying to get away from our stressful home remodel/sale, and come have a relaxing vacation, but Bianca made sure this didn't happen for us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winewoman...
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful property!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We are seasoned Laguna Beach visitors - having made it a vacation destination for almost 20 years. After our first few years staying at a hotel, we determined that having a kitchen, a living room and outdoor space was much more appealing to us and our lifestyle - plus more cost effective. That said, this was our first time at The Retreat since it is a relatively new property, and it was a great find! I almost hate to post a good review that will probably draw more guests and make it harder to book!!!

First, the location of The Retreat. It is on the south side of Main Beach within walking distance of everything, including a grocery store. Once you park your car, you won't need it while in the village itself (a huge perk, if you know anything about Laguna Beach and the parking issues). It is located one street back from PCH and yet it is quiet. You don't hear the street noise. Another perk. And best of all is the proximity to the ocean and beach! And there is an outdoor shower, beach towels and chairs! Just walk down the stairs of the property and go left or right. If you don't want the beach, the owners have created a large community deck with tables, umbrellas, gas grill and lounge chairs for all 8 units to share.

Villa Teatro is located toward the back of the property farther from the beach, but don't be put off by that description. It offers easy access to the beach, gorgeous views of the Pacific from the living room as well as from the deck and it is quiet.From the courtyard, as you walk up the stairs to the Villa, you are greeted by the good sized, private outdoor area with dining table, 4 chairs, a gas grill and spectacular views of the ocean. When you enter the unit, you are met with a modern, bright, open and airy, beautifully appointed little "home". The kitchen and bath have granite counters and tile back splashes. The kitchen has stainless appliances with under cabinet lights and the bathroom has a large shower with clear glass door and separate toilet room. An added feature is the half bath just off the living room - which makes this unit work beautifully if there are more than 2 guests sharing the house for a party or over night. The walls are covered with Wyland prints throughout. Very nice touches. The photos on the web site do not represent how nice it is.

In addition to the visual appeal, the unit provides 2 wall mounted TVs, WiFi, a ceiling fan, air conditioning, a parking space, a fully equipped kitchen (including a dishwasher), lovely soft blinds for all the windows and white linens and towels. Also available on the property are 2 washers and dryers (for no additional fee). As an additional positive/kind gesture, when you check in, there is a wonderful gift basket filled with food, wine, coffee, bottled water and information/gift certificates about Laguna. Our gift basket was filled with different items from what other people mentioned in their reviews. So, expect the unexpected! Just receiving a gift basket at all was/is another special thing that sets this property apart from most others where we have stayed over the years. I could get used to being spoiled.

If some readers need me to be picky about the property and not just to talk about what I loved - here are a couple (but really, only a couple) of quirky things that come to mind. Because the sofa in the unit becomes another bed, it is not wildly comfortable. Clothing storage is a bit limited because the bedroom is small and has no room for a dresser. The closet is good, but there are no hooks for bathrobes or sundries, the closet shelf is where the 2 cable boxes and iron/ironing board are located and there are only a limited number of hangars in the closet, so bringing a few might be helpful. (I left 2 of my clip styles for future guests). One of the comforters on the bed had been washed so many times that some of dacron batting is kind of "clumped" up. The pillows are a little hard and maybe it is time for some new ones? No bath mat - so I used a towel. There are no pot holders or food storage containers in the kitchen. But if those are my only "negative" comments, then I feel that this unit deserves high marks!!

The Retreat is a lovely property with 8 individual units. We peaked into some of the other units when they were vacant and being cleaned. Each one is decorated as beautifully as the the others and none of the floor plans are the same. While some of the units are closer to the water than Villa Teatro, we loved our deck, the privacy and the views. We stayed for 5 nights arriving Monday afternoon, and we left with sadness on Saturday morning after our final breakfast outside on our deck. When we checked out, the property manager generously allowed us to keep our car on the property until we were ready to leave Laguna Beach, several hours later. It was a great week.

Though too small to live comfortably for months at a time, this property is a fabulous place to vacation for a single day, a weekend, a week or even a couple of weeks. We will be back! I hope this property stays as beautiful as it is now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the deck and views from the the property
Liked least: the early morning noise from builders working on nearby properties
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabby_D_1...
Greenwood SC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Could not ask for more!!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This place was absolutely awesome!! We arrived to a lovely clean villa with the windows open, ocean breeze, and a welcome basket with water, snacks and a whole brick of terrific coffee. Maureen was a wonderful hostess. No extra charge for anything - use of a washer and dryer, beach toys, parking. The location was perfect - my daughters could walk to the beach, grocery store, restaurants and shops. We felt so safe and at home. There were some awesome perks, including a free whale watching trip and certificates for breakfast and dinner - no catch to any of it, just a thanks for staying with them. There is so much to see and do on this beach and The Retreat is a perfect place to stay within walking distance of most everything. I love Laguna - it's not too crowded and packed with tatoo and t-shirt shops - no high rises - you feel more like a local than a tourist here. If I go back to Laguna I will stay here again for sure!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Liked least: Didn't get to stay long enough!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing